Game Review – Assassin’s Creed: Revelations

There are very few game series that make me risk getting further into debt and this is definitely one of them, over the last couple of years I haven’t been much of a gamer, I spend most of my time either watching TV, Gym or blogging these days but the date for Assassin’s Creed’s next title has been stuck in my mind for a long time.

I never completed the first Assassin’s Creed game, although I know what happened at the end of it, it was a good game but soon got tiresome and repetitive, imagine my surprise when Assassin’s Creed II comes out, we’re treated to a whole new world, a beautiful Italia in the 16th century and we’re introduced to Ezio Auditore da Firenze, a charismatic young man who takes up the life of being an assassin after his father and brother is murdered, set in the Renaissance era where the first one was set in the 12th century.

The second game shows us the growing life of Ezio and is continued in the following game, Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood, continuing the story of Desmond Miles a modern-day man who is abducted by a company who puts him in the machine, through this machine he can see into his descendants past lives, the modern story is set in 2012 and is centered around the “end of the world” theory. A solar flare to be more specific. He eventually escapes his captures realizing that he is an assassin too joins with the assassin’s side and continues looking for clues on what they’re looking for.

We get glimpses of Altair, the protagonist from the first Assassin’s Creed and you can’t help but give this man some love, this game ends the story for both of these men as Ezio is trying to search for clues left over by Altair and gets glimpses of his past, Altair managed to live until he was in his late 90s! Pretty impressive to say it was the 12th century!

The gameplay in Revelation’s is pretty much like Assassin’s Creed II and Brotherhood, more like Brotherhood really although what I love about these games is that with every release is a major addition to how you can play the game.

In Assassin’s Creed II for example, a big focus of the first game was that you had a hidden blade, extremely cool, in this game, you get twin hidden blades!

In Brotherhood, the big emphasis of this game was that you can recruit your own assassin’s and use them to help you fight, every game such an improvement.

So what’s new in the fourth game of the series you ask? A hook blade, a blade with a hook on the end in case you’re simple. You are now able to leap off of the tall buildings and rather than plunge to your death, zip line down cables that are dotted around the city which makes travelling quicker, not only that but you are now able to make a large variety of bombs, which at first I didn’t really care for but have grown to love them.

And of course with the hook blade, climbing is so much more awesome now, if something is slightly out of reach you can make yourself leap up and clasp on with your hook. Coupled with the amazing story this makes this game one of the best of the year in my opinion, although the last game I bought was Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood a year ago so what do I know?!

The voice acting in this game is again brilliant, bringing back the sarcastic voice of Danny Wallace and including what I know is John De Lancie from Star Trek fame, Ezio still has that sexy swagger to his voice even in his late 50s too!

It does answer some questions brought up in previous games but it still leaves some open, which is bound to happen for the next release next year, dubbed Assassin’s Creed III. It does however bring a satisfying end to the story of Altair as he shows Ezio the events after the original game, how he rose to power, how he lost it all and how he had it all over again, such a beautiful story, you can’t help but love this guy and seeing Ezio and Altair sort of face to face gave me a lot of satisfaction as a person that’s invested his time in this series.

It also brings an end to the “Subject 16” portion of the storyline that was brought into focus in the last game and it’s left me wanting so much more, I really can’t wait for next years instalment, especially now we’ve been told that it will end Desmond’s storyline and if he has to see back into the past, it will definitely mean we’ll be getting a new character to play around with or maybe it’ll be a game focussed entirely around him as that is what it’s seems to have been building towards.

Past Assassin’s Creed III though, I can’t imagine what they’ll do for that as they will need to come up with new characters and new story, but I’m getting way in front of myself here, I’m sure they will think of something because this franchise is money and as long as you keep me engrossed with awesome story and gameplay, I’ll keep buying them! If you liked the previous Assassin’s Creed games, you will definitely love this current installment, it’s basically the exact same controls as before but with added features and slightly improved graphics and set in the city of Constantinople with a much much older version of Ezio (Yet he jumps around like he was still 20!), it feels like we’ve seen this guys entire life and to see his story end is both awesome and upsetting.

Farewell Ezio and Altair you will certainly be missed in future installments!

Out of 10, this game is definitely getting a 10.

Bring on the movie adaptation by Sony Pictures!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Game Review – Assassin’s Creed: Revelations”

  1. It sounds great! The boything used to play AC, but then we both just got really bored of having to jump off tall buildings all the time. I don’t think he finished the first or second one either! But if this one’s as good as you say it is, it might be worth a look. There’s loads of good games out/coming out at the moment anyway.

    I’m not much of a gamer myself… the only one I play is THAT one you play too 😀

    1. This is ridiculous, somebody mark this review for spoilers because that was completely unnecessary telling us that Altair and Ezio get to communicate with each other… screw you.

      1. Somebody? This is my personal blog dumb shit and nothing I have said says anywhere that they communicate, you’ve made your own assumptions. If you don’t want spoilers (which this doesn’t contain) you should play the game, so screw yourself. 🙂

        P.S. THEY ALL DIE IN THE END (OH NOES!!!???)

    2. It’s worth it if you’ve been following the story though if he gets bored with the gameplay there isn’t much difference in that aspect 🙂

    1. I thought when I saw VeehCirra nominate you that you would in turn nominate me so it was expected 😛 Muchly appreciated! A post accepting the award shall be written in due course!

Leave a Reply

