Where Did This Year Go?

Came in to work I was presented with the team advent calender and I was the first pick to have the chocolates out of the little pocket, a Terrys Chocolate Orange segment and a mini Toblerone. That’s when I realised it was now December, just 24 short days away from Christmas.

If anything that made me depressed, it was like I have lost an entire year, it’s gone by so fast, this time last year, exactly one year ago I was on my way to France via a coach, after leaving Ibis Hotel last year due to not getting enough money or hours I decided to look elsewhere for a job, I ended up a Voice Marketing doing outbound sales.

At the time I pretty much enjoyed it, sure it was depressing not getting any sales and continuously trying to con people into joining but after awhile I got quite good at it and I enjoyed working with the people that I did, a far cry from my 2011 experience with the company. I was happy there because they helped me get out of my overdraft, it was a well paid job, it’d have to be though considering how shit it was…

I enjoyed a certain female work companion trying to secretly touch me up under the table too, what can I say? I’m just irresistible! =/

While I was working there my friend at the time (now my girlfriend) Fiona and I were going to France in December for five months to work, she was going to be a general assistant, I was going to be a kitchen porter, washing a few dishes how hard can that be?

However Fiona was struck down with gallstones and soon after that pancreatitis and was stuck in hospital for over two months, when she was released from the hospital she had obviously lost so much weight and muscle from being in a bed for all that time not eating anything that she couldn’t go, she wasn’t strong enough to go.

I had already quit my job at Voice when I was told this, I had no other job options so I ended up having to go on my own.

The snow was immense, I dumped it all on the front garden!

I ended up doing my back in because of the vicious snow we had last year, buried my car and I had to dig it out and move it out of the way of the garage door so my dad could get his car out, I ended up clearing the entire drive.

Fiona gave me some Tramadols, took a couple, didn’t do anything so I took three more… Woke up the morning I was meant to go, I was absolutely stoned! Jesus they really take it out of you.

Fiona said her tearful goodbyes to me around half 10 in the morning one year ago and the bus drove away and I was sat with people who ended up being some really awesome people to know and I still miss them now even to this day.

The bus journey took exactly 24 hours, I started off in Manchester and ended up at Alpe D’Huez in the French Alps.

My Two Best Friends In France: Scottish Dan being pushed by Jim 😀

I remember getting into a fight with one of my room mates for throwing my stuff around like it was his because he was in a mood, waking me up after a hard shift and back chatting me (I won the fight obvs), getting a disciplinary on Christmas Day while the hotel was taken over by French Jews, ended up having a crappy XMas dinner at the sister hotel down the road… I was only there until January the 9th, the job itself I hated, I hated skiing, I broke my coccyx (arse bone) falling over on the way to the pub and had to come home, a damn shame and I was torn from people I cared about!

This entire year has been about me trying to get out of debt which has just been increasing as the year went by, it was January since I started working at Dixons Stores Group where I met some more great people (but also some fucking idiots), the moment I was fired from there it’s been a constant struggle to the point where I considered throwing myself in front of a bus more than once.

It hasn’t all been bad though, I came back from France I soon started going out with long time friend Fiona and we’re coming up on our first anniversary, I mended bridges with my brother after 2 years of not talking to one another, ended up being his best man at his wedding (Something I was supposed to be in his last relationship) and I’ve had some other great times.

It’s just amazing how fast it’s all gone, I can remember everything like it was yesterday, all the jobs, all the trips, everything and assuming I don’t get fired from my job next week (My three month review meeting!!) I should manage to get out of debt by Christmas Eve and this entire year would have eventually been worth it!

One year on I read on Facebook how all my France friends are all going back again this year and I feel left out and I miss them all so very much. They’re out there or on their way their now and I’m sat here in an office, coughing up my lungs because I have man flu.

I want a cigarette 😦

The place was amazing, bit of a bastard living at the top of the hill when it's been raining and then frosty...
So Much For Scottish Dan Doing The Night Shift... Still amazes me how relevant the sign on his back is!
Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “Where Did This Year Go?”

      1. Yeah, that’s the one! My first day is on the 19th! AAAGGHH… this might be the start of my ‘life’, like my actual ‘life’… I can move out and get a house. I can even buy potted plants! Aaaaahhh! Amazing!

      2. Seems silly taking on RIGHT before Christmas! As you’re there for a week then it’s Christmas haha. It’s funny because we now both have Service Desk jobs! Although I’m bricking my review next week 😦 Mind you at least if I do get the sack there’ll be a job at Asda going 40 mins away from my house lol!

        I hope what you’ll be on is more than the £14k a year I’m on, because that doesn’t buy much these days =/

      3. I know, we shall be simultaenously service-desking! I’ve actually been offered £13k. I told them I needed £15k or more to start paying back my student loans, but my pay gets reviewed after three months. Nonetheless, it’s more money than I’m making at ASDA, AND I get to do day shifts and sit down! It’s like bliss… if bliss was also pretty terrifying at the same time as being awesome.

      4. Ah it ain’t too bad, no one starts on big money anyway unless it’s for a god awful sales company, they told me my pay gets reviewed after three months too but from what I’ve been told from the rest of the people there, it’s sticking where it is, but that’ll do for now until either they give me a promotion for being ace or I find better. But this job suits me, the weeks just fly by haha

      5. Oh, that’s good then! And don’t worry about your review, I’m sure you’ll be fine 🙂 Everyone loves Pete! EVERYONE.

  1. You Europeans go on so many vacations. I met a Scottish girl who was traveling around the world. I asked her how she could afford it and she said it was all of the money she had. I always heard the Scots were cheap. She was staying in a bad part of town so maybe she kept the stereotype alive.

    It’s always good to have some place you strive for. It’ll keep you moving and gives a goal to achieve.

    1. Scots are definitely cheap, I only leave the country once every year… well Wales and Scotland don’t count as other countries… Going back to China next year, how can I afford it? Because I have a large overdraft.

  2. Eventful year that’s for sure. Same here.

    So are you going into debt to go to China? YOu can be vague with your answer but what is the attraction for you?

    Best wishes!

    1. I have a friend that lives there who teaches English to Chinese adults, went to see him back at the beginning of last year, it was pretty sweaty haha

  3. Hope the 3 month review goes well! I bet it’ll be nice to start 2012 out of debt 🙂
    Your team advent calendar is epic! Choccie-ahoy!

    1. I’m hoping it’s going well, I’m getting proper nervous about it the more I think about it! I’ll either be starting 2012 out of debt or I’ll be starting 2012 under a bus!

      Thanks for being my 80th subscriber too 🙂

      1. In regards to this plus today’s latest update… don’t go under a bus! Silly.
        And yay! I want a medal. Now.
        I thought I’d subscribed ages ago. Obviously my subconscious wanted it to be a special number *80 is clearly special*

  4. This year has gone fast, indeed. This is the sneakiest December I’ve ever experienced, because I seriously didn’t feel it approaching. I know the feeling of possibly having wasted a year.

    Anyway, may your 2012 be so much better for you. (=

Leave a Reply

