My Dream Job

A lot of people have asked me what my dream job would be, most people usually pick Astronaut, Fireman, Police Officer, Doctor, President…

Usually these people are in dead in jobs and that’s where their jobs will remain, in their dreams. When I was younger my dream job used to be professional wrestler, yeah yeah I know, it’s fake, everyone and their dog has told me that, you think I don’t know? It’s still entertaining and as a child I idolized people like Shawn Michaels, Bret Hart, The British Bulldog.

I watch it even now and sometimes if it warrants it, stop up late and watch it live. But recently, over the past few years or so that dream has changed, my love for another sport has taken over, a sport no one can deny is fake, that sport is Mixed Martial Arts.

I absolutely love MMA, more now than I have ever done, I remember watching Ken Shamrock in the early days of UFC, The Most Dangerous Man on the Planet! Legitimate tough guys in real fights, over the years the UFC has started to become more regulated and more like an actual sport, it’s quickly over coming the popularity of boxing, give me guys like Georges St. Pierre and Michael Bisping over Floyd Mayweather and David Haye any day.

Don’t get me wrong, I like the occasional boxing match but I’d much rather be watching a UFC card, Ultimate Fighting Championship is revolutionizing this business and it’s giving the lesser companies more of a chance to become well known in the United States and in the United Kingdom, for years I have watched The Ultimate Fighter, a reality show where fighters fight for a chance of winning an Ultimate Fighter contract, usually with two rival judges who also fight at the end of the season.

I loved the most recent season with Jason Miller and England’s own Michael Bisping, that show alone has produced some awesome fights and awesome fighters, the first season won by Forrest Griffin, a man who had his arm broken while being in an arm bar in a previous fight, got to his feet and knocked the guy out with his good arm, you think you could do that? I’d be rolling around crying for sure.

Miller did England proud when he out-worked and out-classed Miller and won the fight via TKO. Then today I watched this past weekends UFC 140 Machida-Jones card, this was one of the best events I have ever seen!

Not only did you have some crazy Korean guy win a fight in 7 seconds of the first round via knockout, you had another legend Tito Ortiz get his ass handed to him, the main event saw Lyoto Machida, a guy who has only lost twice in his career fall to the rising Jon Jones, a guy who has never been beaten (he has one loss due to accidental disqualification) and the co-main event was Frank Mir vs. Noguiera.

If you don’t follow UFC you won’t have any clue who of these people are, naturally, but if you are mildly interested in MMA I urge you to watch this event, I was on the edge of my seat the entire time.

Frank Mir, a guy who used to be very dangerous before having a bike accident a few years ago has fought hard to get to the back of his game and in this fight he accomplished that when not only did he beat his opponent, but BROKE HIS ARM!

Here is a video I took while it played on my laptop…

How sick is that?!

So if you ask me what my dream job would be now, it would be this, Mixed Martial Arts is something I would love to do for a living, I have been in fights yeah, pub brawls and whatnot, but this is a whole other level and I’d love to be this guy or the guy from the film Warrior played by Tom Hardy.

Perhaps one day I’ll manage to get in shape and actually go for this dream!

Anyway thanks for reading! The past day I have written two guest posts on two other blogs, the first one on Joely Roely’s blog, Quirkey Monkey which is about beauty product reviews, I give my candid review of Lynx’s latest product “Lynx Excite”.

I also give my review of the film Warrior on DarkJade’s The Dark Globe and why it’s not only the best film I’ve seen all year but one of my favourite films of all time!

Check them out!

Quirky Monkey Review: The Lynx Effect

The Dark Globe – Warrior… In Review

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “My Dream Job”

  1. For a brief stint I actually considered training at the Ring of Honor school because it was only about 30 minutes away from me. Not sure how big they are globally, but I’m sure you know of them. I figured worst case scenario I get in really good shape. Then I got a little uneasy about spending $3,000 to get my ass kicked by guys who were already in shape and knew what they were doing. Oh well. I don’t think I’m a good enough public speaker to ever be much good. Not that that hasn’t stepped half the roster.

    1. Haha I love Ring of Honor, they really charge you 3,000 dollars to train you?! Jesus, imagine if you didn’t get a job with WWE to pay it off afterwards either lol.

      You don’t need to be a good speaker, look at Chris Benoit, worst case you kill your wife and son.

  2. I have watched a few cage fights but i don’t really like it.

    I like playing QUITE sports, in the past i have played, snooker, darts and indoor bowls for 20 years and i enjoyed them all.

    Now i would like to take up archery i always enjoy it on holiday, but then i’m to old.

    1. I used to be good at pool, I remember me and my brother were having a quiet game and these two lads came up to us asking for a game of doubles, one of them kept saying how he was on a pub team and all that, but we took the challenge on anyway.

      We each put a fiver down and me and my brother won, he asked us for another game, this time we each put a tenner down, we thought it was some kind of hustle but we’d had enough to drink so we went for it, turns out it wasn’t a hustle, he was just a poor loser because we beat him again.

      He asked us for a third game but we told him we were bored of winning and told him to do one and go back to his shit pub team hah!

      Used to play it every week for God knows how long back in the day, haven’t played it since I was in France last year though, my record currently stands at 16 straight losses, dunno what happened to me 😦

Leave a Reply

