Where Do We Go Now?

Today’s title brought to you by the band, Kane.

Basically, I’m at a loss, this week (and last week) I have done nothing, and I mean nothing. I have been looking for jobs and whatnot but the problem is I don’t know what I want to do, after this year I know what I don’t want to do and that’s work in a damn call centre.

Started the year working in Dixon’s doing customer service for Currys and PC World customers, in the extended warranties department, it was absolute hell, call after call after call of idiots wanting to complain about anything. “I threw my keys and have scratched my fridge, do I get a new one?” I’m being serious, someone actually asked that. Lost my temper with one customer, cost me my job, from there I went to A1 Comms and did Lead Generation, which is basically calling customers asking them if they have renewed their contract yet.

Got fired from there because they didn’t have anymore data for us, so instead of transferring me to another department I got let go, then I went back to Voice Marketing to give outbound sales another try, couldn’t hack it and quit, did a six week stint doing data entry which I didn’t mind, however it was only temporary, luckily got something what I thought was going to be great at Tribal Group, ended up being a disaster.

Now I’m sat here pondering just what the fuck am I going to do? I really don’t want to go back to call centres which is all agencies offer me when they see my CV.

I have experience doing data entry, production operative/supervisor, customer service, outbound sales, inbound sales, packer, reception, bar work, chef, kitchen porter, admin duties… I’ve done it all, jack of all trades, master of none.

I look at my closest friends and I am so jealous, my brother Tom has worked for an electrical wholesalers for eight years, my best mate Will has only ever worked for Tesco and must love it because he’s out with his work friends every chance he gets, my other mate Ray has worked at this paperboard packing factory since I first started with him back in 2003. Not the most glamorous jobs but they get along, they’re happy. I’ve never been happy in anything I do, I get bored easily, I did like being supervisor but I was probably a bit too young and slagging the company off on Facebook was probably not a good step in the right direction. I have sort of learned since….

So now I look at jobs on the job sites and I think to myself, “I really don’t want to do that.” My mother suggested how about becoming a lorry driver, I am pretty ace at driving but I’ve only driven three different cars (Nissan Micra, Audi A6, Ford Fiesta) and you need a HGV (Heavy Goods Vehicle) license to do that sort of shit, it may be something worth looking into though, you can make quite a bit for doing very little.

Job sites a very fucking annoying too, places like totaljobs.com, “Come and join this exciting customer service company” in other words, it’s either door to door selling commission only or it’s outbound sales, most likely gas and electric sales. Recently I’ve seen apprenticeships popping up everywhere, an excuse for companies not to pay full wage.

At the moment I think I’ll look for hotel/supermarket work, it’ll be funny if I get a job at a supermarket, because then me and Anna will have definitely switched roles!

I miss not having my desk.

I went from this:

To this:

To nothing.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Where Do We Go Now?”

  1. In all honesty, and you may not want to hear this… But you’re Smart… I know you know this, but it’s still good to hear it from someone else.

    What I would truly suggest, is to get a Data Entry Job (As you don’t seem to mind this kind of work, and you need money to survive, and it certainly isn’t Spiritually, Mentally or Emotionally demanding), and then start to take some College Classes…

    Being you will be working at the same time, it will go slow, but who cares… The job that keeps coming up for me about you, is an Engineer… Making Sh#@ work, yah know

    I may be way off as far at the Engineer thing, but the first years in college are generally the Basics anyway, if you’re going for a Degree… So in reality, you can Choose your Degree later… If a Degree isn’t your thing, you could always go to a Technical School, to learn a specific Trade… That way you wont have to go for as long, I don’t believe?

    Anyway, I wouldn’t over think this one, and just do it… You’re a guy that gets Sh@# done

    I too fried on Sales, Customer Service, and Data Entry, but I did Sales like 7 years, Data Entry 5 years, and Customer Service 3 years… That’s when I then pursued Film Making for 2 years, and now I am Admin/Marketing Consultant for an Architect… I work from home, don’t make a lot of money, but pretty much Write Full time, and do the other Part time.

    Anyway, you’re a tolerant guy, so I think you could probably handle Data Entry for a while, especially if it supported your Efforts in School

    Either way Good Luck on whatever you decide to do next

    DarkJade-

    1. Id love a data entry job full time, mundane yes but stress free, unfortunately it looks like I’ll probably be heading back to yet another call center as there’s a job advertised for £18k a year which would be the best wage I’d have earnt since Voice.

      Thanks for saying I’m smart 😀 I am pretty clever, which is also my downfall because I get bored of jobs too easily and then end up somehow sabotaging myself, engineer is a good suggestion, my aim for next year is to get out of debt (sigh) and look at something along those lines, either that or writing, I’d love to be a full time writer.

      Though I do have an interview in January for Toyota in their car plant, making cars, that could be interesting?

      1. Sounds like a job might be coming soon, that’s good… Yeah, to be a Professional Writer would truly be grand… Mostly been getting in the habit of Writing all of the time by Blogging, which has helped… Time will tell if I can finally define some of my Writing enough to maybe make a living at it one way or another… Time will tell… So I’m with you on that.

        DarkJade-

  2. You could always eat a lot, get really big then make friends with an up and coming controversial band or athlete. They’ll hire you as their bodyguard. Bodyguards have it so easy don’t they? I need to write a post about them…but for now when was the last time you heard of a bodyguard actually getting killed defending anyone?

    Is there any aspiration you have for a career? I’d so go all out for it. You seem to have enough confidence to succeed. And that’s what you need. Confidence so that other people see it then even if they’re more talented they quit because they’re fearful of what you can achieve. Best of luck!

      1. Lmao yes! Bodyguard! People have suggested being a door man for clubs aswell, buy some dark clothes, pair of leather gloves, sorted!

        They say look for a career in what you enjoy, I enjoy writing, probably should have stuck with that journalism/media production course back in college haha

Leave a Reply

