One Hundred

For those of you that don’t or won’t know (And that’s probably all a thee) this marks my 100th post for this blog. Hard to believe I know, the last five months have flown by and my obsession with Facebook has been overtaken by WordPress where I’ve met some awesome people.

I was going to write about the weather or how uneventful my life has been at the moment, but nothing really came to mind, then I thought how about not writing about myself for once?

I wanted to do something special for it anyway and start something new at the same time, I spend a lot of my unemployed time reading blogs and I want to share the three blogs that helped me get hooked with WordPress.

I reckon every month I’ll start spotlighting some of my favourite blogs on WordPress, it’ll give me an excuse to read more blogs and an excuse for you guys to get more recognition/grow your ego.

Even Midnight Loves La Plume Noire!!

The first blog I want to talk about is entitled La Plume Noire which means “The Black Feather” and is one of the first blogs I started subscribing to all those months ago ran by 22 year old Kirsty from London.

This blog is the blog I’ve chosen for The Dark Globe’s “Photographer Of The Year” award. Every single one of her posts are simply stunning and while it does include parts of her life, literary reviews and other subjects, most of the content consists of photographs and when you take photographs as amazing as the ones she produces it can never be a bad thing.

It’s obviously not just me that thinks so either as she was Freshly Pressed a couple of months ago with her “The Blooming, Blossoming Beauties” post, shortly before she reached her one year anniversary and hopefully she’ll continue for many more years to come!

I hope she won’t mind me showing you an example of her photography but this is one of my favourite photograph’s ever taken:

Wish I Was Here!

The level of detail in every single photograph she takes is simply stunning and I could only dream of being as great at taking photo’s as Kirsty.

So thank you Kirsty for keeping me entertained and giving me material to day dream about being somewhere better than dull old Chesterfield!

The next blog I want to talk about is the blog I’ve nominated for Dark Globe’s “Writer Of The Year” award and of course that can only be The Insanity Aquarium!

Me and Anna started our blogs on the same day, 19th July 2011, she was the first person ever to comment on any of my posts, I headed on over to The Aquarium and I instantly was a fan of her writing,

An excerpt from her first blog entitled strangely enough “The First Blog“:

And so it begins; the blog to begin all blogs. For today however there will be no story, or interesting fact, or morbidly fascinating account of how a 60 year old man proposistioned me in a hotel, over fish and chips.

Although she then made us wait over two weeks for her Second Blog but it was posted on my birthday so it was a worthwhile surprise. And since then has posted a new and creative story every Monday which is now known the world over as AQUARIUM MONDAYS~!!! and has quickly risen is popularity.

Every story Anna posts are usually dark in tone, her own insanity adds to each post but every one of them will put a smile on your face, whether you want one or not!

I have said many times Anna’s stories are the one things that makes Monday’s worth looking forward to, everyone dreads a Monday, first day back at work after a fun-filled weekend, however I look forward to them because I know I’m going to be entertained thoroughly!

Anna was also one of the reasons I wanted to stretch my creative mind and start-up my Twist of Hate blog and for that, I am eternally grateful!

And last but not certainly not least, is someone I’ve neglected to promote for a while, I always feel she never gets the traffic she should do, that’s Zoe over at Pantry And Fridge!

Zoe is an American, but I try not to hold that against her, I was her first ever subscriber to her blog which I am proud of and it stood out because of all the delicious food that she makes and posts her recipes and pictures of the finished products on her blog.

I am determined to use my awesome cooking skills and one day actually make one of the things she has suggested at some point, but cooking just isn’t a mans job so I’ve been lazy! Mind you recently it hasn’t been a woman’s job either, hence me starving myself (but not really).

Always quick to give me some sound advice whenever I am feeling low or at a loss, always quick to make me feel better, she was also one of the first people to subscribe to this silly little blog I started five months ago.

She is a fantastic supportive person and she should definitely get her arse to England to I can get her hammered!

Then she can make me these:

Chewy & Chocolate Cookies

And while I’m scoffing them down, she can get on to making me these!

Creamsicle Cookies

Hmm! Yes! Get in my belly! To see these and more (Including food that isn’t just made for desert!) head on over to Pantry And Fridge’s Recipe Index and take a gander at everything!

Thanks for reading my 100th post and thanks for Kirsty, Anna and Zoe, you three are my three biggest inspirations in the World of WordPress and a big reason why I continue.

And thanks to every single one of you that has clicked the subscribe button, without you I would only be talking to myself!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “One Hundred”

  1. Crap Pete…you almost made me cry.

    This is why I started blogging. To touch at least one person with my work is good enough for me. So thank you. Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog.

    Please also give Midnight a good cuddle for me. I am definitely saving that photo for future keeping.

    1. The pleasure is all mine! 🙂

      I was lucky to get that shot of Midnight as moments after she dove at my screen, does she not know how expensive this thing was?! … Well I suppose she wouldn’t haha

  2. A lovely post Pete, i enjoy Kirsty’s and your blogs the writing is different, i think i was at the other blog twice.

    I started this blog after my other was taken away from me, its just for fun and not knowing what to write about, i’m learning, but i enjoy it know.

    Happy 1st and many more.

      1. By the *censored* at wordpress, i had a diy help blog with over 50,000 hits and it was no.1 or 2 on all the search engines, but because i copied some photos and text ( which was altered ) from other sites i lost it, theres a name for it, can’t remember.
        But i may start a smaller one up again some time.

  3. Nice, I have also been thinking of doing a Post about some of the Bloggers I Follow… As I currently follow some pretty cool ones

    Gratz Pete

    DarkJade-

  4. Wow, thank you so much Pete. Ha, the American in me loves that you’re British…and I’ll let that slide as well. You keep me entertained regularly whether your in Wales getting your drink on in costume or fighting evil forces who have invaded your Skype account. I’ve loved every single post. 🙂
    I apologize for being absent lately but I haven’t been feeling well and haven’t been up to WordPress much at all. I haven’t been cooking either, so haven’t even posted on P&F since like Dec. 4th. Hopefully, I will be up to it soon. 🙂
    Keep up the writing, this daft American will be reading. 😀
    Cheers and Happy Holidays, Ard.

    1. Well there’s no better cure than to read the ramblings of my mind 😀 Hope you get well soon, nothing too serious I hope? It is winter so it is the time of colds and flu’s and such!

      Happy holidays your self too! 🙂

  5. Oh Pete. The smile you put on my face nearly broke my jaw. Thank you so much for this! This really does mean a lot because I think you are much more a better writer than I; every blog you post draws me a little more into your world and I always feel like I’m stood right beside you, either pinning a note to some arsehole’s car or getting horribly drunk in Chesterfield.

    I can’t actually even begin to describe how awesome I think your blog is, or how lovely what you’ve said about mine is. THIS is why you’re a better blogger than me! I wish I could write so majestically a compliment but words don’t even begin to cover it. I consider you a friend, and an excellent writer. So thank you 🙂 I hope you know how awesome you are.

      1. This can only mean we are both equally as awesome as each other! =) I always tell myself that my writing could be better, otherwise I’ll just be egotistical and be all “Yeah take a look at my blog, it’ll change your life” haha but don’t sell yourself short, you too have a way with words that it draws me into whatever story you have concocted!

        I’m glad you consider me a friend because you are definitely a friend of mine! Lets see if I can do another 100 posts of insanity! 😀

  6. Wooo congrats on 100! I would have thought it was far more than that. I also dicked around too much for my first 50 posts or so. Keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

