That’s The Spirit

Well today I did the inevitable, rather than wait until Christmas Eve I went out and did some actual Christmas shopping, I knew I had to and because I’ve been lazy for the past fortnight (Not proud of that by the way, should have been hitting the gym not the pillow) my girlfriend dragged me out and off to Chesterfield town centre we went!

I had already got my brothers present, I would tell you what it is but my brother and sister-in-law often look at this blog and I can’t be telling you what it is here in case they find out and it ruins the surprise! But I know he’ll love it, Fiona went and got my sister in laws present, not knowing what I was going to get my girlfriend her mum gave me a list of ideas so that came in handy!

Headed into Chesterfield, popped into the Ibis hotel to see some old friends, I used to work there after all! Saw my mate Rob for the first time in over a year, we pick things up like we had only seen each other yesterday, I love that about him. Finally after being there for years has made it to assistant manager, took long enough, the manager is a fucking cow though and had it in for the both of us, which was the reason I left.

Anyway, headed to the shops, went to Primark so my girlfriend could buy some tights to go with her dress for her Christmas meal with friends on Thursday, I used to hate shopping with women… and I still do, she’s there scanning every single type of tights you can think of, I’m stood behind her yelling, “JUST BUY THESE!!!!”.

I could tell the other men in the shop could feel my pain. She eventually chose a pair, paid and went to leave then saw this big guy yell to one of the (male) shop assistants, “EXCUSE ME MATE! I NEED HELP! IM LOOKING FOR A BRA!!”

Absolutely hilarious, I don’t know if he was buying a present or buying it for himself, why would you ask a man about bra’s anyway? Maybe he was too embarrassed to ask a woman, but then, he did yell it across the shop.

She did the rest of her shopping, I then bought some cards for various people, headed to HMV and bought one of the things on the list, Olly Murs’ new CD “In Case You Didn’t Know”. I then bought Supernatural Season 6 for myself, because I am hooked on that show.

Bought The Bottom Two Today! Cannot Wait To Get Started!

I then went into Waterstones because I was determined to find books by Karl Pilkington, everytime I’ve gone in I couldn’t find them and it was too busy for me to be bothered to wait, went to the counter…

“I’m looking for Karl Pilkington books other than the An Idiot Abroad one.”

Boom, she goes straight to the bottom shelf and pulls out two! Couldn’t believe my eyes! Waterstones never disappoint! Not knowing which one to buy, I bought them both. More presents for me!

Headed to Boots and bought the next thing on the list, perfume: Black XS For Her. 35 fucking quid! But I’m a generous guy so I bought it her!

While I was in town I thought I’d go and get my parents some presents, I usually give my mum money but she usually ends up spending it on me anyway eventually so I thought I’d get her an actual present, she collects those Lilliput lane ornaments and I was taking a look in Co-Op and there was a 2012 collectors edition one, £50!! I bought her that though, apparently you need a collectors card to buy collectors items, but after some convincing I got the lady behind the counter to sell it me.

FOR MOTHER

“Go on love, you have no customers, you’re not going to sell any of these before XMas!”

“Oh alright then!”

Result.

My dad is always hard to buy for, he makes around £90k a year so if there’s anything he wants he just buys it, no point buying him book tokens because he has one of those e-Readers, so that’s tokens AND books out of the picture, I did end up buying him something cool, a Cops and Robbers bottle holder, he likes his wine so now he’ll have somewhere fun to put it, got that bought and that was my shopping over with!

Thinking about buying the girlfriend some Olly Murs concert tickets aswell for his tour next year, pop the tickets inside the CD case, depending on how much they are, I’ll have to have a check afterwards, my overdraft has definitely taken a hit but I don’t care, I’ll get another job eventually, I always do. I have that charm that gets me hired, I just need the charm that stops me from getting fired!

All these spending though and wrapping and writing in Christmas cards has pretty much put me in the Christmas mood! Looking forward to next week now, going to the cinema with friends Monday, Friday I’m at my mates house (flat) warming party, Christmas day I’m at my bro’s, it’s going to be a good week.

Anyway.. Got back to my girlfriends house after all of this, turns out she bought the wrong tights…

Where's My Present?!
Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “That’s The Spirit”

  1. lol, that’s hilarious

    Yeah, I’ve got a bare tree, as I’ve got a lame foot right now… My oldest sister said “lets just decorate it Christmas Eve”, which is when we celebrate Christmas… But I don’t know… All these days with it undecorated, kinda… Well, we’ll see

    DarkJade-

    1. I’ve got one of those fake trees with built in lights, so much easier, especially considering I’ve got three cats.

      What did you do your foot? Get it chopped off, sorted.

  2. This post left me with a warm fuzzy feeling. The feeling of Christmas! Or a serious hangover. Either way, I am certainly fuzzy.

    Have you finished your Christmas shopping then? I got a light-up Santa plant pot from ASDA today as my Christmas gift for myself. It is now sitting next to the hamster’s cage in my boyfriend’s house, for as of today, I now officially live here! And speaking of jobs, I start my new one tomorrow! Pretty terrified. But I have bought some thermal socks so at least my feet will be warm. Small mercies and all that.

    Merry Christmas Pete! 😀

    1. Aye I did all my shopping in one fell swoop! I also bought this for my woman too:

      http://www.gettingpersonal.co.uk/fun-gifts/retro-sweet-hamper.htm

      Congrats on moving in! Just think of all the sex you’ll be having now! Just make sure you’re not limping into your new job ahaha, I’m so wrong 😀

      Make sure you come tell me with how the new job is going as soon as you get home (Or as soon as is humanly possible), I did pretty much fuck all on my first day so hopefully they’ll ease you in nice and slowly! Service Desk is easy no matter what company is for, such a change from working in a supermarket 🙂

      Merry Christmas to you too Anna! 🙂

Leave a Reply

