The Writing Asylum

With unemployment comes more time to write, I’ve been wanting to write more stand alone stories rather than the continuing story I’ve started a couple of months ago at Twist of Hate. That’s why I’ve created a third blog titled The Writing Asylum.

I spent hours a couple of days ago coming up with a new name and a blog design I’m happy with and I finally achieved it! The first story I posted was one I started over at Limebirds on their 100 words story post, I continued it on and made a full story out of it. I then posted my second story today, a humourous post all about time travel and why you shouldn’t attempt it!

I’m very excited about this new blog and I hope you would do me the ultimate favour in following that one too and giving me your thoughts as I continue to post!

I will share a couple of excerpts from the first two stories…

Who Needs Friends?

He promised his wife he wasn’t going to work tonight, tonight was their 10 year wedding anniversary. She hated him working the streets, but he said he’d be cutting back his hours.

I got an armed robbery call and there he was, with me, we’ve been partners for 15 years. We’re like brothers so he definitely wasn’t going to let me go alone.

I probably should have tried harder to make him go to his wife, oh she is definitely going to hate me. We arrived and the moment we stepped out of the car, bang.

My best friend fell.

Not All It’s Cracked Up To Be

Timetravelling has been something I’ve always been interested in. Ever since I stepped into the world of H.G. Wells’ “The Time Machine” a very young age I was determined I’d be the first person to travel through time.

To just step into a structure and end up coming stepping out of it yesterday. It’d be a very strange experience as then I’d have to hide for a day until my past self did the exact same thing. Or maybe I could give myself the winning lottery numbers, become a millionaire.

But then you get that whole paradox business, if I travel back in time and give myself the winning lottery numbers then I’d be a millionaire, I then never go into the past to give myself the winning lottery numbers which means I would not get the winning lottery numbers and I don’t become a millionaire… So… I’m the same person I am now?

It’s all very strange but it was something I wanted to explore. I told my friends about my hopes to travel through time, they all said I was stupid and will die alone. I do love my friends.

Click the links to read the full stories if you’re interested! There’s definitely going to be more to come.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “The Writing Asylum”

  1. Your time travel description sounds like the movie Primer. Check it out if you haven’t. I was confused by it which means it must be pretty good.

    1. I have you in my blogroll for this site but because I have that many I have it so it automatically rotates them, so the next time you visit it could appear and someone else would disappear etc =)

  2. Cool idea, glad your letting your creative juices flow 🙂 I’ll try and keep up but I’m not much of a story reader, as you know 🙂
    Zo

Leave a Reply

