Well That’s That For Another Year

Another year, another Christmas! I did pretty well present wise for Christmas, I know people say they’re just happy to be together but I’m much more materialistic than that. I like things and lots of them.

Aside from the Hugo Boss aftershave from my parents my mum slipped me £100 on the sly, two new hooded tops. I got Noel Gallagher tickets for February off of my girlfriend which is awesome! I’ve always wanted to see Oasis, as they’ve split up I’ve seen Liam’s band now I get to see Noel’s!!

I got a fly looking watch off of my brother and a few more bits and bobs off of other people. The night out on Christmas Eve didn’t happen for me because of late night and lack of sleep I had on the 23rd I ended up falling asleep at 6pm and woke up at 10pm. By the time I got myself ready and ready to go out it’d be 11pm at least, everyone would have been in Chesterfield already pissed and I didn’t fancy playing catch-up, so I went back to sleep hah!

Christmas day arrived, I had dinner with my parents, it only happens about once a year. Around 6pm me and Fiona went to my brothers and we had a considerable amount to drink at theirs. Amy was battered and was coming out with all sorts of drunken shit into Fiona’s ear, it was funny from my perspective.

We were meant to put on some films to watch but everytime we did Amy would start yelling over them about something else entirely. Bless her.

We headed off about 12:30am because we were knackered, I’d been up since about 3am that morning. Spending most of the time rewatching all of Red Dwarf, ready for the new series to begin next year!

Boxing Day was stressful, I was hung over and didn’t want to do anything but watch TV and chill out. But my cousin came over with her husband and two little girls, they’re alright but they seem to have gotten into the habit of annoying me for most of the fucking time they’re here. Phoebe whose about five now is at that stage where she has to asked me a question about every single little fucking thing.

I put Futurama on for them because apart from Family Guy they’re the only cartoons I have. Phoebe’s like, “Why’s he doing that? Why’s he done that? What’s he doing?”

JUST FUCKING WATCH IT AND YOU’LL FIND OUT!

Then walking round my room picking things up, “What’s this?”

“It’s a Christmas Card.”

“Whose it from?”

“My girlfriend.”

“What’s her name?”

“Fiona.”

“Why she called that?”

“How am I supposed to know? Why are you called Phoebe? Just shush and watch the flipping cartoon!”

Then Paige whose about 2 kept jumping on me, jumping on the bed, crying, singing, shouting. “I want my telly on! Put Dora The Explorer on!”

Jesus Christ.

They didn’t go home until half 11, I was absolutely tired! I was hoping they’d burn out after awhile. Paige actually said at one point she was tired I told her to come give me a cuddle, that lasted 2 minutes then she was jumping around again. Yet another reason I won’t be having children.

Here’s just a few little snippets of what I had to deal with…

I was having a quiet day until they arrived, ugh.

Funniest part of the night was right at the end when Paige’s dad asked her if she wanted to try a bit of Brandy, the look on her face when she drank it was the best thing I have ever seen! It’s like she ate a lemon covered in a thousand wasps!

Yesterday I just spent the entire day at Fiona’s, watching Muppets Christmas Carol as we didn’t get a chance to watch it at my brothers, then we put on… something else but I can’t remember what it was. Then it was business time, then we went to Blockbuster and I bought £30 worth of stand up DVDs, it had to be done. Then it was back to hers and we watched Lee Evans’ new show and Bridesmaids. Dinner with her whole family is a lot better than dinner with mine too. Her mum has just bought an iPod Touch and neither of her parents know what they’re doing, Fiona’s brother keeps getting roped into showing them. Her mum tried to ask me but Fiona told her to go away and dragged me upstairs knowing that I’d be there for ages haha.

Today I’m off out for a meal with friends. Fucking Tapas?! Great. Then off out to get hammered with some other friends I haven’t seen in ages. Then New Years Eve having nothing concrete on the cards, I was asked to go down Brighton for a couple of days and spend New Years down there! Never been before so I’m actually looking forward to it!

All in all, much better holiday period than the one spent in France last year where I got a disciplinary and burnt my hand on a flare!

How was your Christmas?!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Well That’s That For Another Year”

  1. Next Year, hide the Tele… or, teach em how to sing

    Or teach em this…

    Really surprise their Folks, eh

    My Christmas was good, we Celebrate it Christmas Eve… There were 10 of us, we had Mexican Food… My Oldest Sis brought Tamales, which were awesome… She also makes a bunch of us “Russian Tea Balls” every year, which are just awesome… Like little Dough Balls, with Nuts and Powder Sugar all over them

    The Tree Looked good, Red Lights, and several Bulbs, and a bit of Gold Garlen

    And later, we played some very Rough Renditions of some Christmas Songs, my Sister on a Casio Keyboard-ish like thing, My Oldest Sister Singing, my Cousin on Guitar, me Singing in Deep Christmasy Type Voices…

    Good Stuff

    DarkJade-

  2. Ha, I love it! Sounds like you had an exciting Christmas anyway. Mine was also good, filled with sheep cardigans and Santa hats. The way it should be.

    And Brighton is absolutely amazing! I had a picture of the pier as my header for ages… it’s such a unique and oddly intruiging place. Plenty of flamboyance and general awesomeness, I’m sure you’ll love it! 😀 If I could live anywhere in Britain, I would live in Brighton… I’m so jealous of your New Year endeavouring! Think of me stuck at work on New Year’s Day.

    And in other news, someone’s just stolen my last can of Fanta. THIS IS WAR.

    1. Is that where it was? I’ll see if I can check it out while I’m down there. It’s gone from four of us going down to eight so I deffo cannot wait!

      A stolen Fanta :O Burn their car!!

  3. Glad you had a nice Christmas! Mine was pretty much the same as yours. Except replace “friends” with “grandma” and “watching Futurama” with “pretending to listen to bad stories.” My uncle had a temper tantrum because someone else cut his pie. You’d think he wasn’t 58 years old. I guess that’s what happens when you never move out of your mom’s house.

    1. Haha that’s how my girlfriends Christmas day was like, watching her Grandma carefully opening the presents to not tear the wrapping paper, crazy bint.

Leave a Reply

