Old Ways

Random filler photo of me and my brother

Been slacking on the blog front, it’s not as if I’ve even been busy. Just needed time to rest my brain I guess. This weekend I did absolutely fuck all and I mean proper fuck all. I didn’t even get dressed, barely even got out of bed. Just laid there watching Star Trek: Enterprise on my laptop until the early hours.

I think the depression that comes with being unemployed is starting to kick in. I hate job searching, absolutely hate it. I thought to myself I’d hold off until I found something that I wanted to do, but, it seems I can’t afford to wait any longer.

Checking my bank account it was at over £860 in debt, then I realised my car insurance is due next week so I had to pay for that. £650 for the year, the three points I have on my license continues to rape me. My own fault I suppose.

But I had to pay £180 admin fee for my insurance so that’s added onto the debt. If I don’t get a job soon I’ll have to declare bankruptcy before I hit 30! I’m sure I’ll be fine, I always am. Looking at my bank balance always give me that kick up the arse to apply for any jobs possible.

Will I get any response? Doubtful, I rarely do. Considered going back to factory work, I’m so tired of customer service. I know I can do jobs like that and sales but I quickly run out of patience, the general public are dumb fucks and the last thing I want is a job where I have to sit down at 8am listening to idiots moan about how their washing machine doesn’t sound right.

I don’t want to do sales any more because I’m fed up of being told to fuck off, after awhile that gets to me then I end up lashing out at someone down the phone. Factory work was so much better, just left to my own devices.

Hard to believe it’s been a whole week since I came back from Brighton, time really does fly when you’re doing nothing! Friday I was meant to have some bro time with my brother, his wife was doing a shift at her dads pub but then his neighbours poked their noses in and wanted us to come round for some food. Said we’d only be there for 30 minutes tops, got round there didn’t end up leaving for 4 and a half hours. Didn’t really want to say no because we didn’t want them to feel rejected and they mean well but it’s nice to have a quiet one in with just your brother instead of being dragged round next door and forced to listen to *shudder* dub step on full blast.

His wife wasn’t impressed when she came back and found out we’d been guilted into going next door, she wanted us to have some bro time. She said it’s whenever they see my car parked outside, they can’t help themselves but come round. I must be that loved or something. We decided my car will be parked out of their view for the future.

Anyway, that’s what’s been up in my life recently, laziness and unemployment! Shall keep you updated.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Old Ways”

  1. I’ve always felt looking for a job is the hardest, lamest job of all

    Good Luck with that

    Is there such a thing as “Collecting Unemployment” in the UK, to hold you over while you look?

    DarkJade-

    1. Yeah, Jobseekers Allowance they call it. I try to avoid going there to begin with because:

      A: I have to write down exactly what I’ve been doing to look for work.
      B: They always manage to screw me out of actually getting any money. (Not paying me because they didn’t believe I had an interview!)
      C: They’re just as fucking useless as the inbreds that sign on.

      I’m not at that point yet, but I’m getting close haha.

      1. Sounds a lot like the way it is in the U.S…. I used it for the first time (and maybe the only time? I think) a while back, and it was a bit of a blow to the ego… But I had just moved to the City with the Worst Economy in the U.S. a the time, brilliant eh? And it was right after 9/11, and finding Temp Jobs was impossible.

        Glad it was there, but like you, hate to use it.

        DarkJade-

  2. I’d love for you to write some “philosophical” type stuff. Opinions on the world. Original ideas. Social commentary. Any observations about daily life in general from a more, like I said, “philosophical” point of view. I think you’d be able to come up with some really creative stuff.

    (not kissing your ass, trying to give you some ideas and entertain myself in the process)

    1. It sure is, when I first started out I used to think, “Sat down all day, on the computer, chatting on the phone. Piss easy.”

      Oh how wrong I was!

      1. They’re bred for call centre work over there. No matter how much I yell they never get riled up. We can all take a page out of the Indians book.

  3. You could always become a Gypsy!! One-you can use an accent absolutely no one understands, so, you can say whatever you like, and who would know? and Two-Those weddings looked classy and fun (wait. hold on a minute. AHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! *snort* *wheezing* AHAHAHAHAHA!! Okay, I think I’m done. No, wait. AHAHA!! Okay, now I’m done) and, you can eat for free!!

    My work here is done.

  4. I thought about you the other day when I saw a job on the Internet for collections in, I believe Brighton. I know it’s not close enough for it to even be considered good for you but … Made me think of you.
    Made your cookies last night so just have to get them on the boat, so to speak. 🙂
    Don’t let things get you too down, Pete. It is what it is – we’re all just along for the ride.
    I too am job searching. A bunch of shit is what I’m finding…and like you I had a high stress c.s. job for 3 years in a very snobby area and I have had it with bitchy, selfish, rude people. Am looking for something away from the public. I like collections, actually, not sure why. I also like warehouse work – just the hum of machinery, no people in my face. Working outdoors is super, too, well here more than there right now, I’m sure. I’ve worked on golf courses before, too – excellent.
    I try not to stress out. Try to remember that this is life – never easy (at least not for regular shits like you and I) and there’s not much we can do about it. Hang in there, something WILL come your way. Listen to what the universe is telling you. It’s always speaking to us – you just have to know how to listen. If you do you will always be heading in the right direction. Takes a bit of practice… There are no coincidences. :))

    1. Ahh after spending a couple of days there I’d never live in Brighton. Dunno why my mate moved down there, right overpriced shit hole haha.

      What sort of collections? The sort of collections where you work for Shark Toothed Tony and in your interview he asks how well you can swing a bat? I’d love that job!

      I’ve had it with customer service, inbound sales is the only sales I’d do because people are phoning you, telling you what they want then you just ring it through, easy. But I have an assessment (the first of three) for Toyota’s car factory in Derby next Thursday, apparently from what I’ve been told by mates that have worked there, it’s extremely repetitive, extremely hard work but it pays extremely well. I damn near tore my knee to pieces for minimum wage so this shouldn’t be a problem. Plus that sort of job would help me lose weight.

      Also thinking of becoming a trucker, need a Heavy Goods License for that which is also as expensive as it is getting your normal driving license but you can earn great money doing that. Plus it’d just be me and the open road, bliss.

      I am almost on the edge of exploding with excitement at the thought that your cookies will soon be on their way 😀 That in it self has cheered me up 🙂

Leave a Reply

