First Interview Of 2012

Luckily I had another response yesterday afternoon from another job I applied for. CPP called me the following day when I didn’t call them back because the cold calling sort of sales really doesn’t interest me, the job didn’t interest me, there were no prospects to the job and it’s notorious for having a high turnover of staff because they really don’t like working there. So I asked the lady to withdraw my application, I thought; I can find better than this.

So a few days ago I applied for an Inbound Sales role, you may be thinking, “But Pete. You’ve said countless times you hate sales.”

And you’re right I have. But this is inbound sales for the camping equipment and outdoor clothing company; Yeomans. I applied for this because inbound sales really does appeal to me, it’s not you phoning people up and battering them mentally into signing up to something they don’t want. It’s people phoning you telling you what they want. You take the info off of them, take their card details, boom. Next caller.

May be some level of customer service involved, I’m not sure. But it’s the first time a job like that has actually appealed to me and it’s not in a call centre, it’s more in an office than anything which is always a plus.

So I went in for the interview at 11:30am, it’s really close to home. It only took me five minutes to drive there. Right next to the Ibis Hotel that I used to cover for a couple of years ago so it’s really easy to find.

The downstairs is mainly the warehouse where things are stocked. They’re quite a big chain too having 80 stores in the UK and looking to open another 60.

Went in for the interview and I was asked what sort of hours I was after, I said the more the better. She mentioned that there may be a lot of additional hours, like 13 hour shifts and working weekends. I said the more the better because I have quite a large overdraft to pay off. She was the head of HR, a really nice lady. Then the head of sales came in for the interview as well. Usually I hate having interviews with multiple people.

Ever since I had an interview with a rent-a-car place in their call centre and I was interviewed by FIVE people. For a bloody customer service role, are you taking the piss? I didn’t get that job. I’m not surprised as I was being hammered from all sides with questions. “Name me a time when you’ve gone above and beyond the role of customer service.”

What the hell kind of question is that? I’m glad I didn’t get the job there!

Anyway, I was asked how I’d deal with an irate customer and if you read “My First Interview” on the Writing Asylum you’ll know I used the word “Calm” a lot in my first interview. I thought, I’ve got to get that in at some point in this one. So I said just talk to them in a calm tone of voice, don’t talk over them. The calmer you are, the calmer they’ll be.

They seemed to be impressed with that answer! They asked me what my interests were and if I’ve ever been camping. Told them I was in the St. John’s Cadets when I was younger and I often go to music festivals so I’m always camping there.

Told them how the 9 man tent leaked through when it was pissing down with rain. They asked me where I’d bought it from and I said Yeomans in the town centre! But it was an old tent and had been ripped God knows how many times. That was basically it for their questions, it wasn’t really intense, asked me why my previous job ended. What I enjoy doing, would I mind doing long hours, what sort of experience I had in sales then asked if I had any questions. Just asked them what sort of progression there was because I’m fed up of having jobs here and there, I want a permanent, stable job. They said they’re looking to expand nationally, with the new stores they have planned and taking over another company in Wales as well. So there would definitely be room for progression within the company which is what I like to hear.

That was basically it for the interview. All in all I was probably only there for about ten minutes, one of the shortest interviews I’ve ever had. They said they were interviewing people for the rest of the day and were looking to start people ASAP so they’d let me know either today or tomorrow. The best part was when the sales manager thanked me for coming in and said I was exactly what they were looking for. Which is always a great thing to hear.

Though the job is considerably less money than it is at Toyota, I’d rather have a job where I can progress in and closer to home than a job I know I’m going to hate and have to drive 40-60 minutes to get to and from each day.

So let’s hope I get this one so I don’t have to travel all the way to Derby to take a three hour literacy and numeracy exam to do car assembly!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “First Interview Of 2012”

  1. Sounds like it went well! I really wish you all the best of luck for it, it sounds like a good job 🙂

    I had that ‘Above and Beyond the Call of Duty’ question in my interview for the job I’m doing now, and my reply was something along the lines of having to tie some old woman’s shoelaces every time she came in the charity shop I used to work at. True and grotesque, that’s what they like to hear!

    Anyway, it all does sound rather promising and I really hope you get offered the job! Office envrionments are always preferable to most other things, and there’s very little chance you’ll be eaten by a bear. Good things!

    1. If I remember correctly my reply to that question was, “When I worked for Ibis, one of the guests was trying to find out where the town hall was and because I just finished my shift I ended up giving them a lift there.”

      Total bollocks of course. Whenever my shift ended I was on the otherside of the bar drowning my sorrows!

      But thank you! I hope I do get it. The people there seemed nice too.

  2. This sounds VERY promising. I have a good feeling about it. I also like that you don’t have to travel far. Sounds like a winner. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you, all the way across the pond!

    1. Thank you! 😀 Usually I screw up interviews for jobs I actually want but I think I handled myself pretty well today. Even if I don’t get it at least I’m back in the interview groove.

      1. Sounds good, I’ve always felt you’d do good in Sales, thought I know you’re not too interested in it… But, not just any Sales Job, like you noted… Sitting there making Cold Calls all day is Hell… My First Sales Job wasn’t like that… I worked for an Excellent Orthopedics Brace Company which only got better the longer I was there… In fact, the reason I moved from Data Entry to Sales was partly due to the fact that they Reduced all of their Sales Peoples Accounts from like 700 Accounts Each, to 300 Each (to increase more attention per account, and promote better Customer Service), which left them with a lot of Accounts that needed to be managed… Now granted, these were the low end Accounts, but still starting with 300 Accounts that at least bought something already, was much easier than just starting from scratch.

        I also was “Selling a Need”, which is completely different than calling someone up and trying to sell them something, like you say, that they don’t really want.

        However in the job you mentioned, these are people calling in to place an order… Which means you already have a sale, chances are they’ll just have you try and increase the order, but that’s still better than Cold Calling.

        Good Luck with it, for me the 6 1/2 years I did in Medical Sales was like having my own little Company, within a Company… And I got to talk to people I knew/my clients for those 6 1/2 years, so it was kind of like talking to friends after a while.

        Best of Luck to you Pete, I hope you get it… Nothing like being with a Good Company… Or at least not being with one that Sucks!! lol

        DarkJade-

  3. My prediction: YOU GET THE JOB AND START ON THURSDAY. YOU’LL WORK WITH A LONG TIME FRIEND….. 😀

  4. My above and beyond was not beating them about the head and shoulders with my stapler when I was asked for the fifth time by the same customer about the location of the item they were standing next to during the questioning.

  5. I was surprised when you said you were interested in that kind of work… really? Seems just as boring as miserable as the cold calling. I think you should work in the complaints department. Now that would be something else.

    1. Anything for the simple life. Cold calling was extremely stressful. This one is more of a varied role and it’ll of course do at least until I get out of my overdraft and manage to make some savings.

      I’m not built for complaints, that’s why I was fired from the customer service job I had last year. Calling someone a “fucking bitch” down the phone doesn’t go down well with the higher ups.

Leave a Reply

