The First Day

The most feared day in everyone’s job came today; the first day. Absolutely exhausted didn’t help either as I was awake since 11:30pm due to my crazy sleeping patterns. However I got to work at about 8:20, waited in the car because there was a bunch of people I didn’t know stood outside the front door smoking. I hate meeting new people, always feeling like an outsider in every job I start is definitely not something I enjoy.

However my friend Michelle got there soon after so I walked to the building with her. Meeting her was pretty f’n great as we hadn’t missed a beat, I literally haven’t seen her for about six years and only then it was briefly. We went to school together and chat some times on Facebook but that’s about it.

As soon as we got to the front door everyone was pretty awesome and polite, introducing themselves and our manager Lee arrived minutes later. To begin with we did very little because we didn’t have our own machines so after Lee and his assistant sales manager Mike did what they needed to do they showed us a bit of the systems and whatnot.

Instantly we were having a laugh and I didn’t feel like an outsider at all. Quiet to begin the day is normal but within an hour we were laughing and joking. It was like I had worked there for years. Soon enough we were taking a few calls, the calls were just people enquiring about products, buying products or asking where their products are. Very simple.

Was a bit quiet today and not surprising as it’s winter so everyone isn’t rushing out to go camping. I’m told during the summer it gets a bit hectic. Me and the manager Lee hit it off straight away though. I told him about previous interviews I had where I was in front of five people getting grilled from all sides and he said he hates people like that, they just do it to make you seem small and to feel better about themselves. He said he knew within the first 5 minutes that he wanted me working for him. He said some people that came in, he just wrote “NO!” on his interview sheet the moment he saw them.

Much of the day was spent looking out of the window, looking at McDonald’s, KFC and Costa Coffee taunting me. I didn’t take any food to work for the simple fact that I knew I wouldn’t be hungry, I never am when I’m tired. But Michelle and the others convinced me to have something and Shell gave me some of her sandwiches.

The work place is SO very different to what I’ve experienced in the past. Everyone at Tribal were morbid fuckers that didn’t want to have a laugh, here, it’s the complete opposite. Laughing, joking, swearing, running around the office… And that was just the manager! “What’s the point of coming to work if you can’t have fun?” he said. Too right.

He said he was glad he hired me as we now had some muscle, no one was going to mess with our department now haha.

The thing that put the biggest smile on my face was when we were given the new starter forms. Basically you put your details on there and at the top is the “Salary Per Annum” section that the manager fills in. When I applied for the job it said it was National Minimum Wage which is basically £12,500 a year. Not great but it was a start. I was sat next to him, handed him the form, he looked at it and said, “How much were you getting before?”

“About £13,500.”

“Hmm okay… How about this for now until we get you trained up and set on past the three months?”

He showed me the sheet, “£15,000 per year.”

I was absolutely delighted. I laughed and asked him if he was serious, he was. I said it was perfect. Then on our cigarette break he was telling me there was plenty of room for progression and I’ll probably end up being an area manager after five years, probably not. But hey. It was nice to hear.

Probably the best manager I’ve ever had, he’s just having fun all the time and putting his team in a great mood. When he was talking to one of the local stores in Chesterfield in a Russian accent pretending he was a guy named Sergei after car insurance I nearly died.

Safe to say today was a brilliant day, everyone is on my wavelength which is a first. The job, while I barely know what I’m doing systems wise, I know I can pick it up easily and I think I’ll be amazing at this job. It’s the first time I’ve actually thought, “I can do this job and do it really well.”

They bought new computers in especially for us new starters aswell, got it half set up at the moment and before long I’ll be back to having two monitors again. Huzzah!

So glad I picked this over Toyota.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “The First Day”

  1. This was a great post to wake up to and read with my coffee! 😀 I’m really happy for you, Pete. 🙂 Sounds like a great day if you have to be at an office. I told you things will work out. 🙂
    Congrats and we’ll done.

    Cheers, Zo.

    1. Haha what time did you get up! Even by US timing it’s still afternoon! 😛 Having workmates that I have there always makes things infinitely better, there’s like one old guy that works there off the phones. He must hate it because it’s like a room filled with foul mouthed kids haha

      1. I am a night owl… Usually to be between 2-4 am, up between 10-12 the next day. 🙂 Not a morning person. Last position I held was at Lowes (like Home Depot) and sometimes had to be there by 4:30am – talk about misery. >:{} So I was getting up when Ii normally like to go to bed! But we do what we must. 🙂

        So glad you’re on track 🙂

  2. Gratz man, definitely reminds me of my Orthopedic Sales days… There were like 10 of us Inside Sales Reps, plus like 4 to 6 Newbies, all with our own Cubicles, but nice ones… Primarily because they had high walls, and were a nice Grey Color… The New Reps, however, did have low walls, so the Trainer could work with em…

    I had myself a Black Captain Kirk Chair, and was good to go, lol

    KFC is Callen… Must… Have… Special… Seasoning, lol

    Good job, and Good Luck

    P.S. Gratz on the Insty Raise… Work yer ass off a couple of the hours a day, and the rest should be Chill… Cept in the Summer time maybe, lol

    DarkJade-

    1. I wish I had a black captain kirks chair, the seats and desks are the shittest part about working there. Not comfortable to be sat in all day at all. And yeah they said it gets hectic during Summer, but I’ll be well trained by then.

  3. Sounds like you landed in a good place. Have most of the workers been there long? Sometimes that gives them a negative attitude. Negative attitudes lead to needing to have a laugh.

    Waiting in your car because a couple of “cool kids” are waiting outside smoking reminds me of something I do and always will. What are they going to do? In my head they say things like “Stupid! Stupid! Ugly! Ugly! Stupid!” but people don’t really do that. Most adults are accepting of new people. They want them to join their stable.

    1. Yeah either that or stare at you evilly. But now I’m one of the cool kids 😀 I think a lot of the workers have been there awhile, although the assistant sales manager has only been there six months. So I guess it doesn’t take long to progress haha.

  4. I’m pleased for you, Pete! That sounds like a perfect work environment for you. So far my predictions seem to be coming true.
    The first day is always stressful. I hate meeting new people and having to guess what’s expected, etc. I always feel so vulnerable. Sounds like it’s a friendly group, though, and you’ll be feeling right at home soon enough.
    Congrats on the increase in pay. That’s the cherry on top!

    1. You need to start telling me what numbers to pick for the lottery then I’ll never have to work again haha! These people are my kind of people and I should integrate well 🙂

  5. I’m so glad your first day went well! I am ttly jealous of your salary, although I suppose you can afford to buy me that llama now.

Leave a Reply

