Management

Sorry for the lack of Peteness this weekend, working til 9 Friday then I had the girlfriend round on Saturday and at work today on Sunday (ON A SUNDAY?! WTF?!). But I need to tell everyone how awesome this job still is.

I’m starting to pick up various systems and processes now, still very new but hey it’s my first week still right?

Got into work today, there’s only like a “ghost” team working, just the three of us were in with me manning the phones and taking orders while my manager was updating the website with one of the directors.

Manager had a word with me today saying that I won’t be dealing so much with customer service as he’s going to be training me up to be… Assistant Sales Manager! On my fourth day with the company I’m in a management role! I thought he was taking the piss at first, that’s the kind of guy he is. But he said he was serious. Even though the sales team isn’t that vast at the moment once business picks up in the summer he’ll obviously be wanting someone to help him with the sales side of things.

After all he has about 5 different job titles, Customer Service Manager, Sales Manager, Networking Manager, a few others hah. He has his Customer Service Assistant Manager who is like his left hand man, I’m now his right hand man.

I’ve never had a real management role before, being Night Manager and Duty Manager at hotels and a Assistant Supervisor position at the electronics factory. So this is really big news, he said it was why he put me on a big starting wage.

So tomorrow I get to start training for all things sales which is awesome because I really can’t be doing with customer service. Although so far it’s mainly been just people asking about tents and what’s happening with their orders.

Though today has been spent updating stock levels and updating the products on the web site while listening to Dr. Dre.

So far; life is good.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “Management”

  1. Pete, thats brilliant news things are starting to go right for you at last.
    Maybe this is the job you were meant for and i wish you all the best in it.
    Now all you have to do is learn man management, i went on a short coarse when i was in charge of up to 25 men.
    You want to and need to be a boss who is liked 🙂

    1. Maybe in time I’ll be in charge of more people especially when Summer rolls around. I’d be an awesome manager, I’ll be all about the fun until someone pisses me off then it’s business time 😀

  2. I think you’d be a pretty good manager. You seem to stick to your guns and wouldn’t pussy out. A great job for you would be the guy who gets to fire people. The best part of that role is one day someone will come back to kill you and you’ll have an excuse to kill them first.

    1. Hah today I had to call the stores to confirm some stock and some mouthy bint said:

      “Well it’ll have to be done tomorrow then.”

      “No, it’ll have to be done today and done before 6.”

      “But we shut at half five.”

      “Do it after you shut then.”

      She called me up at 5:40 with the info I needed. It’s good to be king.

      I can’t wait until I get into a position where I get to fire someone. It’ll be like James Bond getting his first kill 😀

  3. Gratz man, I was approached a year or two before I left Sales to be one of two Sales Managers under the Sales Director, but I was so burnt out on Sales by then, I didn’t think it was right for me to Manage People… So I didn’t go for it… But I was on my way out in Sales, you’re on the way in… I think it’s a great thing for you, and definitely looks good on a Resume’… So keep in mind, every moment you’re a Manager, it adds up on the Resume’.

    And of course, if you’re enjoying the Job as well, well, that’s just a Bonus.

    In all honesty, being a Manager for a decent Company, under a Decent Boss, can actually be a very cool thing.

    I lasted in Sales for about 6 1/2 years, and don’t regret a moment of it, not to mention the Money was good, especially the last three or four years.

    Bottom Line, Sales Drives the Economy… There’s the people that Create stuff, and there’s the People that get it into people’s Hands… And that’s Sales.

    Overall, I figure I basically ended up getting the equivalent of a “Master’s Degree” in Business by the end… And let me tell you, everything you learn in Business and Sales, can be applied to anything you do the rest of your life.

    After all, you’re the one that will be Marketing and Selling your Writing at some point, right? lol

    Gratz man, enjoy your time whilst working for someone else, much less overhead than when you finally work for yourself, lol

    DarkJade-

      1. lol, muh baby boyz all grown up…

        Sounds like a cool gig, I miss my Sales Job sometimes… Not the Selling, but being part of a Group Etc.

        But, you figure, my First Dream was to be a Professional Baseball Player (Pitcher), never pursued it, but the Team Aspect was definitely one of the draws to me. Also loved the game.

        Then I wanted and Pursued Film Making, also a Career where you basically Work with a Team… and now Writing. I know a lot of Writers are kinda Loners, but there again, I probably Created The Dark Globe partly because I like to Work with People.

        I’m a Regular Human Hug 😀 lol, not But I do like People, and especially Creating with People

        Our Personalities are a bit Contrasting, but I think that’s a good thing, especially for The Dark Globe

        DarkJade

        1. Who knew there can be so much trouble in the camping market after today lmao. Sold out tents will be the death of me I’m sure. Still I reckon I can handle it.

          Haha yeah I am definitely your hired muscle. 😀

  4. Really good to hear, Pete!! 😀
    Sounds like you’ve found a good fit.
    🙂
    Zo

      1. Oh Sh*t, I didn’t even consider the fact that you’ll be in a position of power over people. Able to command them at your will…. Oh bollocks. 🙂

  5. Maybe one day you’ll interview potential employees, then you can emphasize that you’re looking for someone whose strength is to be calm! haha!
    You’ll be awesome in a management position! Look at you go!
    Congrats, again!

Leave a Reply

