The 1st Anniversary

Today is the one year anniversary since I started going out with my girlfriend, Fiona. Quite the landmark moment in my eyes as it’s the longest I’ve been going out with someone for about a decade. The past ten years have been mainly spent whoring my way through Chesterfield and Sheffield (and France at one point hah). I met Fiona quite a few years ago as she used to go out with one of my best mates Will.

The two didn’t work out as Will ended up dumping her in front of us lot, he’s not very good when it comes to women obviously. Over the years though me and Fiona grew to be close friends, she got me the job at Ibis Hotel. Our shifts together were always awesome and stress free. Then she left to go and work in France for the summer which sucked as she was my favourite person to work with.

She came back from France a few months later because she’d had enough, I was the one that drove four hours to go and pick her up. She was the one person that used to take me to hospital whenever I’ve been involved in a fight in town (that I never start obviously. I’m a nice guy until you piss me off) or done something stupid like hit one of those punch bags in the pubs that test your strength and end up breaking my hand.

She’s always taken care of me. Then in mid 2010 we decided we were going to go to France together and do a Ski Season in the alps however she was then stricken down with gall stones and then pancreatitis and was hospitalized for 10 weeks. I was the only one of her friends that went to see her every day because I know how depressing hospital can be and as I’m extremely funny I thought it was my duty to cheer her up. I had arranged with the company I worked for at the time Voice to leave work an hour early just so I could catch the last hour of visiting times to keep her company.

She was let out of hospital after that tenth week but then ended going back in and out constantly for the next two months after that. Because she was unable to eat anything without throwing it back up she lost about 6 stone in the end, almost all of her muscle was depleted and as this was pretty close to when we were meant to be going to France, she was far to weak to be going abroad. I had no choice in the matter as I had quit my job for this Ski Season, I had nothing left to do but to go so Fiona drove me to Manchester to catch the coach. I saw her cry as I drove off.

Five short weeks later I was forced to come back to England due to falling on the ice and fracturing my coccyx, unable to work. Fiona and I spent a night in Manchester before she took me back home to Chesterfield. Three weeks after that on the 29th of January 2011 my mate Will was the one that got us two together on a night out in Chesterfield. Funny how things turn out in the end.

And that brings us to this past year where I don’t think I could have actually gotten through this last year had it not been for her. Definitely has been my rock since the moment we started going out. The amount of stress I’ve had job wise and health wise she’s always been there to lift my spirits when they were low and comfort me when I’m not feeling particularly great.

She’s the first girl I’ve been out with that I’ve never argued with, not like a proper argument anyway. She’s not one of those girls that tries to keep me under her thumb like so many of my friends girlfriends do and I think that’s why it works out so well because I’m not the type of guy to be kept under someones thumb.

Shame I had to work most of today, for two reasons, the first being it’s our anniversary and the second being I was out drinking until 5am this morning (since 11:30am the morning before) and had to leave for work at 8am. Sitting in an empty cold office by myself not taking calls because it’s Sunday and no one ever rings on a Sunday.

I swear, I fell asleep for about an hour today at work. The manager had gone off somewhere, I was the only one in the office. Shut my eyes around 2, next thing I know it was gone 3! Passed the time I suppose.

We did manage to go and have an awesome meal at TGI Fridays though! And I bought her chocolates. Women love that shit. *flex*

Hopefully this whole one year will mark the first of many more to come because I really can’t imagine what my life would be like without Fiona in it.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

30 thoughts on “The 1st Anniversary”

  1. Well, that’s very nice… It’s really hard to find someone that you click with, at least for me… I’ve been love a few times, and loved them all…

    Hopefully there’s another one out there for me, as I enjoy being in a relationship, it’s pretty much my favorite thing

    Gratz in the Anniversary

    DarkJade-

    1. There’s bound to be, if not, it won’t be too long until sex robots are created and you can just buy one of those. It’s what I plan to do when the woman gets old and saggy.

  2. This is so sweet and congrats on your guys’ Anniversary! It sounds like you two help each other out when you are not feeling the best and you sound like are just perfect together.

  3. You both seem great for each other and sounds like you have been there for each other without hesitations especially when it counts the most. You’ve been through stuff a lot of long term couples haven’t even been through like some serious health issues. It shows so much, all the support you’ve given each other. Speaks volumns, actually.
    Congrats and here’s to another happy year!!!
    PS: And she’s so cute 🙂 Bonus!

    1. Haha I better not let her see this post, she’ll start getting self confidence and may find someone else lol! All we need to do is save up some money and move in, she reckons she wont clean my clothes, but I beg to differ!

  4. That’s sweet Pete! You two seem like two peas in a pod. It’s nice to have such a great support system. Being in love is such an awesome feeling! Congrats for going one year strong!

  5. Pete, you didn’t tell me you were a millionaire. Or could it be something else? Unless you’re a great guy under that cold, hard, tough exterior, how did you ever get a verrrry…. attractice, nice girlfriend like Fiona. Isn’t that the name of that beautiful princess who fell in love with Shrek?

  6. Congrats you two crazy kids! As much as you feel she’s there for you I’m sure she could say the same for you. Does she ever read your blog?

  7. Pete, i’m happy that you have someone you can love and trust but trust works both ways.

    We are married 44 years and are each others best friends, i think that’s because of trust and honesty.

    Maybe a post down the line will be ” we got engaged to-day ” 🙂

    Good luck to you both.

    1. Haha perhaps, I’m not really all that against marriage but I never thought it’s for me. You never know though, my brother wants me to so he can be my best man like I was his 🙂

  8. I was welling up on reading this post, fella. What an amazing year you both had: it certainly made you strong. Was it your big cock, or big heart that Fiona went for? Win, win, either way! Congrats to you both. May there be many more happy years coming your way. I’ll have a sniff of straight vodka, with ice, in your honour.

    1. Hopefully it’ll be a better year this year now I actually have a job I think I could have a future in. All I need to do is not mess it up. It could be a mixture of my massive cock and heart that stops her from leaving haha 😀 Yes! Vodka’s all round!

  9. Hey Pete, The Dark Globe February Shoot Off! Photograph Competition has Officially Begun, be sure to let any Photographers you know, know about the Competition

    See you in the Trenchs man, lol

    DarkJade-

Leave a Reply

