February

Wow is it really February already? Where’s my bloody snow this year?! It’s been two months since I got fired from that God awful company I used to work for, a whole month since I was down in Brighton living it up and already over two weeks since I started at my new place.

Can’t believe it has already been four days since my last post too, this week has mainly just involved working and sleeping. Trying to fix my laptop after it got infected with some nasty malware/virus’ but luckily father came and saved the day today when he managed to sort it out for the most part. Screw you Norton Anti-Virus you useless bag of shit.

I can’t really say the stress has been lifted much at work. Less phone calls than I have been used to there today but most calls are just calls to complain about where their orders are, there definitely needs to be something changed at that place otherwise there’ll be no company for me to have a future in.

For instance they screwed up one persons order, leaving their order floating in the system for a tent they’d ordered their daughter who was going camping in Tanzania for awhile and would need a tent while she was over there. We had to tell them that their order had to be cancelled due to us not being able to get the stock (surprise surprise) and the people who placed the order went ballistic. Instead of rising to the situation and having a go back like I have done so many times before I said “let’s come to a compromise” and told them to pick another tent off of our website and I would try to get them some money knocked off of it.

We eventually came to a decision on what tent and price they wanted and I said I would personally deliver it myself. I finished work at 9pm that day, drove the 40 minutes to their house and dropped off the tent. Then drove the 40 minutes back home and got back roughly about half 10. The customer then called my manager the next day and told him how much they appreciated what I did for them and would like them to know that I restored their faith in the company.

Again another customer had to be told that his order for a footprint and a carpet for his tent had to be cancelled because the people at our place got their facts wrong, I sorted it all out with the customer and in the end only the carpet had to be cancelled so we still made money.

Then I made a few sales today that made the company over £3000 due to my awesome upselling abilities. The manager told the director, the director in turn told the owner of the company who called me personally to give me a verbal pat on the back.

So even though the job is stressful it does give me one thing I’ve never experienced before: Job satisfaction.

It’s gotten to the point where I’m trusted to lock up the building when I leave at night, what I didn’t appreciate is the fact that one of the delivery drivers arrived back late, threw all of his shit in the warehouse then locked me inside the building, then set the alarm and pissed off locking the gate to the car park behind him.

I was able to unlock the cage in front of the main doors and disable the alarm. I was however unable to unlock the padlock to the carpark which means my car is still currently residing at work and I have to go back there on my day off just to pick up my car. Stupid bald headed brain box is going to get a swift kicking the next time I see the silly bastard.

But in any case, I have Friday and Saturday off and I’m actually looking forward to the time off which is much deserved. Back at work Sunday which means an easy day will leave me all nice and refreshed Monday.

Hope everyone has an awesome Friday, I know I will as I’m going to the dog track to place a few cheeky bets!

Before I go, a couple of things to mention;

Firstly, check out my new post at the Writing Asylum which is titled, The Insanity Aquarium – named after one of my all time favourite blogs!

And secondly, if you’re a photographer or you know someone that might be interested, the other blog I write for The Dark Globe is currently holding a Photography competition, so enter it, you might win a nice little badge to have on your site 🙂

That’s all. Much love!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

15 thoughts on “February”

  1. It’s nice that you have job satisfaction. Sounds like you’re a pretty good salesman! Screw you norton anti virus you useless bag of shit. Hahaha

  2. I think that’s great that you drove to that customer’s house. Very kind. I’m sure it wasn’t something you wanted to do : / Someone once did that for me and I was VERY impressed.
    Keep up the good work!

    1. I don’t mind doing that stuff as long as it keeps customers happy, he’ll return now and buy more stuff in the future because he’ll remember the service he did get rather than the service he didn’t 🙂

  3. That was ridiculously nice of you to do that for the customer! I’m glad they took the time to call your manager, you deserved to get highly praised for that 🙂 If it helps at all, my job’s proving pretty stressful too. One day everything’s trotting along nicely and then the next a badger comes and shits in your mouth. Such is life.

    Oh, and Norton is most certainly freaking awful. I’d recommend AVG. It’s free and does the job much better.

    I hope you have a good weekend too, and I shall see you at the Aquarium on Monday! *Waves*

    1. After last night it feels like a badger shit in my mouth haha, trying to keep myself from throwing up on the motorway!

      Hope the stress calms for you, we’ll have a nice swim Monday =D

  4. I never realized tents were in such demand. I had a sales job briefly but I didn’t believe in the product enough. I think that’s pretty important to being a good sales person. I wanted to screw my boss over. He was an ass.

Leave a Reply

