Honesty… Honestly?

Honestly, I'm TOO Funny

Sometimes I forget what a day off feels like; especially when I’m doing long shifts. But at least things are getting better now that the old manager has gone. Loved him as much as I did, he even admitted that he didn’t care about the company.

And while he had good reason to, it was hurting the rest of us that did care. Due to some bad mistakes in the past, such as putting items on Amazon that we didn’t actually have in stock yet, we’ve been suspended from selling anything due to late dispatch rates and such.

While this decision came from the top he should have voiced his opinion more. But alas you learn from your past mistakes and thrive in the future.

I’ve been given the task of opening an eBay account for our company to sell some of our items, did a trial run last week by selling just the one tent, it was bought the 28th, shipped the 29th and he received it today. That’s TWO days delivery time on free postage. It’s very rare anyone else accomplishes that considering it’s just a side project at the moment.

The customer that bought the tent was happy which made me happy. I said to my boss, the only way I’ll agree to handle an eBay account is if I’m in control of it. No putting stock on there that’s “due to come in”. Because as soon as we get a message that there’s a delay from the supplier, then you’ll end up with unhappy customers and that’ll get you a bad rating.

Now we’re getting stock in, things are starting to get better. I managed to complete all of my tasks and now have more time to focus on other things, such as eBay and possibly Play.com very soon. And buying things for myself (at a discounted rate of course).

One mistake that did happen last week was that two people ordered the same tent (completely opposite sides of England). FedEx delivered both orders to one customer, I shall call him “Dave”… As that’s his name. Dave phoned us and informed us of the mix up that he received someone elses order and we said we’d arrange to come and collect it and send it to the right person. Nice of him to be honest because he could have kept it and we’d have been non the wiser, we’d just claim the cost back from FedEx.

However then he decided he wanted to be compensated for his honesty as he could have quite easily have kept the tent. Are you serious? My manager agreed with him that he’d send out a £10 web voucher to use on his next purchase and one of my colleagues agreed with him to pick up the tent on Monday. Then he decided he wanted to be compensated further because he missed the delivery on the Monday, FedEx told him they’d pick it up Tuesday, never did then collected it Wednesday. He e-mailed us asking for something else, I decided to take over this situation as I hate people that think they can treat the company I work for like a door mat.

Here is an actual exchange of e-mails between myself and the customer.

From: Dave

Sent: 29 February 2012 17:08

To: customer services

Enquiry Type: Returns Enquiry

Message: The tent which was sent to me in error was collected today by FedEx.

After I phoned FedEx early this morning they could tell me when they were calling so I didnt have to wait in all day for them. I waited in yesterday as I thought the tent was being collected yesterday.  I was frustrated when I was told by FedEx that it wasnt being collected until today.

I would like compensation for the inconvenience this has caused me.  The tent wasnt even my tent.  I understand that a £10 voucher is being sent but I dont feel this is enough.  After all I did do the honest thing in returning this tent to you which is worth £350! Im very happy with the tent and accessories which I ordered from you recently, although I have since found out that if I had ordered it a month ago I could have saved £75!

I was going to order a storage cupboard from you for my tent.  I was looking at the easycamp three shelf unit at £25.  Could you send me one of these for my inconvience.

Please email me with your thoughts about this matter.

Thank you

I wrote out an e-mail about my “thoughts about this matter” however I thought it best to wait until today as my e-mail was quite blunt in nature and my manager is a master at being empathetic. He asked me “why can’t we meet him half way?” I said we’re already sending out a £10 voucher, in my view that is half way. Mentioning that he could have saved £75 if he’d ordered the tent a month ago is pointless, you should have bought it a month ago then!

We had a great deal on selected tents last week, knocking a couple hundred pound off them and we sold a lot of them. Then the deal ends and you get the customers trying to convince you to do them a discount because they didn’t order one when they were cheap. To those people I say, “You should have ordered one last week if you wanted a discount, it stated when the deal ended and you decided to wait anyway.”

Anyway my reply:

Hi Dave,

Having spoken to FedEx I was informed that they attempted to pick the item up on the day (Monday) as agreed; however no one was in and they left a card to arrange another date to pick it up. While I appreciate your honesty for which we have given you a £10 voucher I cannot authorize any further compensation.

Can you confirm you were in all day Monday as agreed as I will need to feed this back to FedEx and confirm this was the case, however we’re not obliged to compensate for FedEx’s mistake.

Kind regards,

Peter.

Peter Howorth
Assistant Sales Manager

Then tonight I get this reply:

Hi Peter

It appears there has been some confusion.  It was NOT agreed that the tent would be collected on Monday 27th  February.  Your colleague said she tried to phone me last Friday (24th) to inform me that the tent would be collected on the 27th but she got no reply as I was at work. She did not leave a message on our answer machine or try again later.  I was therefore out on Monday morning when FedEx first tried to call and they left a card to say they had called at 10.30am.  I phoned FedEx to arrange another collection and they said it would be Tuesday 28th at the same time (10.30).  I therefore waited in on Tuesday but the tent was not collected.  I phoned FedEx at 12pm and they said their van driver was not given the job to collect the tent so it was clearly a mix up by FedEx.  I was told the tent would be collected on Wednesday 29th between 11 and 12 which it was finally.

Therefore you can see my frustration and having lost my precious time off work I feel I need more compensation.  It appears that being honest in returning this tent has caused me many problems which is a shame.  I hope this explanation clarifies matters and although I appreciate you are not ‘obliged to compensate for FedEx,s mistake’  but they are working on behalf of your company.  Especially as FedEx left my original tent on the door step clearly in view of the public!  This is not a safe practice surely.

Please let me know your thoughts on this matter.

Regards

Dave

So considering I have tomorrow off, I confirmed with my colleague whether or not she had in fact spoken to the customer on Friday, she said she had. Even the manager was witness, this seriously pissed me off as not only was he now lying to get something for free, he was calling my workmate a liar. So I replied with this:

Hi Dave,

I was informed that my colleague had spoken to you on the Friday and that it was agreed. It’s not our practise to arrange a pick-up from a customer’s address without informing them first and confirming that it’s okay. And while I am certainly sorry to hear about the trouble you’ve had with this matter, your complaint needs to be directed at FedEx because while we do use their service to deliver our goods, we are not responsible for any mistakes they make.

And while I won’t be authorizing any further compensation, what I will do is forward your complaint on to FedEx customer services and hopefully they will contact you directly regarding this matter.

Kind regards,

Peter.

Peter Howorth
Assistant Sales Manager

So I shall have to wait until Saturday now to see his “thoughts” on the matter. In any case, he’s not getting anything else and if he continues I’ll make sure that he doesn’t get that voucher we originally agreed on. He’s being honest to be dishonest. Why should honesty cost ANYTHING? He should have told us about his order because that’s the right thing to do, not because he might get something out of it.

Not only that, it seems that there was a further mistake as the second customer that didn’t get his tent, actually did get his tent on time. He called us today saying he’d received a second tent from us when he’d already got his order last week. So if “Dave” didn’t tell us about it and kept it, no one would have been the wiser. However when the second customer was asked if it would be okay to return it, he was more than happy to oblige, he didn’t even hint at any form of compensation. He called us and informed us of this mistake because IT WAS THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

He didn’t blame us for FedEx’s mistake like the other guy did. It’s like if Royal Mail loses a package, do you then try to sue the Queen for theft?

No.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

22 thoughts on “Honesty… Honestly?”

  1. Dave and Douchebag are synonyms in my book. It’s like curing cancer for the women who will flock to have sex with you. I’d be surprised at all that a company would compensate me for anything other than a broken item.

    It’s for the best your old manager who didn’t really like the job is gone. It’s always disheartening when supervisors where I work talk about how they’re taking night classes. Even the people making triple what I do hate this job? All they do is sit around eating Lean Cuisines. That says a lot about my place in life.

    Keep on caring and the company will head in the right direction.

    1. Exactly, and to ask for compensation from a company that wasn’t even at fault in the first place is retarded. If I take my car to the garage and they screw it up, do I call Ford’s Head Office and demand compensation?!

      I think it was my old manager that actually agreed on on the voucher in the first place, repeat business and all that. Yeah repeat business from people that’ll try and screw you over at every opportunity. No thanks.

      The people asking for a discount because they missed the cheap prices we were offering having at go at us, I just say, “But why should we now discount it just for you when I can sell it someone else for full price?”

      I know how to run a business, don’t pander to the “potential” customers trying to haggle for something at every turn.

      I agree it is disheartening when your higher ups don’t care, because you’re employed to do a job and you can’t do that job with no support.

  2. I think you handled that well. It’s a little tricky because you don’t want to turn off a future customer from placing another order. Looks like that easy camp three shelf unit might never get purchased by Dave. Haha!!!!

  3. Wow, what a slime.

    “What are your thoughts on this matter?”

    My thoughts are that this guy has too much time on his hands.

    I hope he goes away soon, he’s not worth your time.

    Very uncool

    dead beet

    lol

    The main thing is he doesn’t have the tent anymore, sooo… He’s S.O.L.

    Pretty sad

    DarkJade-

    1. I looked him up on Facebook (Because I also have too much time on my hands), he looks like the type of 50 year old person that sits in his room at his mothers house playing World of Warcraft.

      Asking me what my thoughts were on the matter wasn’t a smart question.

      1. Asking it More Than Once, never should have happened, lol

        Should have had about on, two at best, total Interactions with that fellow, lol

        Should have told him your thoughts were “Extortion” and “Federal Prison”, just to stir things up, lol

        DarkJade-

        1. Hah I’ve discussed it with my manager, we decided that as he said he hadn’t agreed on a £10 voucher, we’ve recinded that offer. So he gets nothing.

          1. lol

            Well that’s good, now he can get back to his “Day Time Television” watching… Exactly a Year from now, you should ship him some Ripped Up Broken Down Tent Return with a note in the box “REMEMBER!!”

            lol

            DarkJade-

            1. LOL! Or just keep shipping him broken returned tents, once a day, for a whole year. And not just tents, busted air beds, broken shelves, snapped tent pegs. Just fill his place with shit

  4. My favorite is to begin emails to frustrated customers:

    “Thank you for x.” And then you can politely tell them to f*** off.

    1. I’m actually looking forward to work tomorrow just to see what he put back haha. I just hope no one has had the audacity to go behind my back and give him something just to shut him up!

  5. Firstly: WHAT A DICK. Secondly: I love how you’ve mastered the art of professional ‘Fuck-Off-ness’ in your emails. I’m still super-glad your job is working out for you even though you have twattycakes customers 🙂

  6. Good for you Pete! Stand your ground. A 10 pound voucher is way more than he should have gotten if you ask me. You shouldn’t do good things if you only want to be rewarded. He should have just kept the tent then. Geeze. So much drama.

    1. That’s what I said, it’s like stopping someone mugging a woman, then stealing her purse afterwards for compensation. I shall keep you updated if he e-mails tomorrow haha

Leave a Reply

