Ownership

I wasn’t even planning on writing today. After the day I had at work I considered just shutting up shop and going straight to bed. Leaving everything behind until tomorrow, but after reading the blogs I subscribe to I had the itch so I may aswell tell you all about the shitty day I’ve had today.

It all started at the beginning of yet another 12 and a half hour shift. I started at 8:30am and at 8:31am I had a customer yelling at me that she hadn’t received her order because some other dumbass in the office didn’t do their job correctly so I had to lie and tell her the supplier had delayed their shipment, it went like this:

Customer: I want to speak to your superior.

Me: I beg your pardon?

Customer: Put me on to your superior now.

Me: I’m the Sales Manager, I have no superior. (I lied about that too obviously)

Customer: Right okay, well I would like to know when I’d have been notified when I’d have been receiving my order.

Me: Well obviously you wouldn’t have been because whoever took your original order in the first place wasn’t to know that there was a delay from the suppliers and we only found out about this late last week. Which as I said, I can only sincerely apologize for.

Customer: Well can you get one of the directors to call me.

Me: Directors don’t talk to customers? That’s why they employ people like me? What would you like the director to tell you? “Yes we were going to let you know tomorrow on the day your item was to arrive that you weren’t going to receive it?”


I told the customer I’d cancel her order and refund her. I offered her a £10 voucher for her troubles, she told me she’s not sure if she wants to shop with us again, to which I replied, “Okie dokie, I shan’t bother then. Your payment will be refunded within 48 hours.” and hung up on her.

I could have probably spoken to her with a little less attitude in my voice but from the moment we engaged in conversation she shouted at me throughout, it’s not my fault that someone else didn’t do their job, the last thing I need to be doing is hearing about it when I’ve only been out of bed 20 minutes. Anyway, that put me in a bad mood for the rest of the day.

The rest of the day was spent chasing orders, something which I shouldn’t even be doing. Not only that but me and a few others from my office had to go into the warehouse and sort everything out on Saturday, making sure items were allocated to orders and items that weren’t were sent to our local store so that they could be sold. It’s an absolute joke, why do we have warehouse staff if they can’t do their shit properly?!

Then to cap the day off I find out that our owner has sold the company just 8 months after purchasing it. He came up and told us, said he saved us from the brink of bankruptcy last year.

Owner: Well, I’ve sold the company.

Me: Which company?

Owner: This company.

Me: Fuck off.

Owner: No, I have.

Me: Give me a pay rise before you go?

Owner: Hahaha.

That’s literally how that went, he told us how because he lived basically down south, he didn’t have the time to make this company strive to go forward so he sold it to one of his friends that he’s worked with before who founded a sports chain which was 400 shops worldwide to take us forward.

Scottish apparently, I’ll be looking forward to that.

I’m sure it will help us being that they’re local and can personally make sure we strive to rebuild what we once were.

Then I had a go at my manager and told him that I was fed up of taking all the shit I do, I said if I wanted to do customer complaints I could have gotten a job 22k a year doing it. I hate customer service, I always have hated customer service which is why I applied for an inbound sales role. Today was the first day I thought about quitting.

I don’t want to quit, I was just thinking out loud. But the long shifts and the lack of staff means I literally have to deal with EVERYTHING and it’s starting to wear me down considerably.

“Next week we’ll have more staff in.”

Yeah, it was next week last week. And here I am, working 55 hours a week still.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

21 thoughts on “Ownership”

  1. Ugh!!!!! I’m so sorry that you’re stressed to the max. I wouldn’t blame you if you quit. You’re really going through the wars, aren’t you?
    Maybe give yourself a cutoff date and if it hasn’t changed by then you leave. OR tell your new supervisor how your feeling, exactly, and see if he can’t change things, or lighten your load? I don’t know, but it sounds like it’s starting to wear you down. Sorry Pete!

    1. I told him it’s starting to wear me down, too much pressure is being put on me and I’ve only been here nearly two months. He said he’s glad I’m here and that I’ve picked it up as quickly as I have but he assures me things will get better when we have a couple more full time staff members.

      Once that happens things will be a lot easier as I won’t have to answer the phone as much and can concentrate on doing mangerial things!

  2. Argghhh Customer Service Sucks, Them Sneaky Bastards… Lure you in with a Sales Position, even Promote yah, then WHAM!! lol yer Customer Service.

    That sucks man

    DarkJade-

    1. They sure are shifty like that. Damn them! I will stick it out though I’m sure, my woman will kill me if I just up and leave a job for no reason. Plus it’s SO convenient to get to. Just take an ear bashing, eventually you go numb from it apparently.

      1. Put it all in a big bubble (draws a big circle with her arms) and blow it away (mimics blowing the bubble away) 😀

  3. I can’t believe they won’t compensate you at least for the time being. >:•[]

    Hang in there Pete, it could be very worthwhile if you can stick thru it. I wish I had half the quickness and cleverness in responsive banter as you do. You might hate it, but you’re bloody great at it.

    Zo

    1. Funnily enough, there’s been an ownership change to people with retail experience who built up a brand of 600 stores from scratch. Had a meeting with them today, I aired my complaints out then. Could be good.

  4. That really sucks. I don’t know if I could deal with people yelling at me. I once worked at a calling center and had people hang up on me a lot. That really messed with my head. DOESNT ANYONE LOVE ME?
    But I think you handled it well. Just tell them what they want to hear and then hang up.
    I also can’t believe how many hours you work. I would be exhausted.

    1. I used to do outbound sales, it actually made me clinically depressed, I did well but mentally I was destroyed. If your man ever decides he wants to have more than one wife, I’ll happily have a sex change and come live with you guys haha

      1. Haha okay! Actually, we were thinking about getting a pet. Would you like to be our “dog”? We would feed you and maybe take you for walks. And you could watch a lot of TV with me. And you could also blog about being a dog.

        1. That sounds like a plan to me! Curling up at the bottom of the bed, growling at builders whistling at you in the street, chasing cats away. How awesome does that life sound?

  5. I loved the line about the directors calling back. Always good to throw them off a bit!!

    You can do this Pete!! We, your loyal readers, will switch back and forth between you and LiC in support with our archaic pitchforks and shovels, as we yell in some wicked Black Country accent.

    1. I should get the business moved to Canada, then you won’t have to spread your resources between two continents and do the yelling all in one place!

  6. When customers would get irate with me, I used to enjoy speaking to them with excesive sweetness just to watch them flounder in their helpless rage. Hang in there Pete, its got to get better eventualy.

    1. I try that, then eventually I start getting annoyed that they don’t go away so I rise to it haha. I’m hanging, tis tough but I’m still there!

Leave a Reply

