How Do You Like Me Now?

As we draw to an end of my 60 hour week, with the last day tomorrow morning (In 8 hours actually) I’m actually in good spirits today surprisingly. Today was meant to be a day off but they drafted me in anyway on a 8:30 – 5pm shift, that entire day I just remember being in a good mood.

Quite a difference from yesterday where I was actually near to tears at yet another failure. That entire day I was just depressed, I didn’t want to talk to anyone and no one spoke to me (apart from customers and stores of course). Today was different though due to the fact that stuff got done. It was weird finishing at 5, it had been so long. The day didn’t really end their though as I had to deliver a customers order to Sheffield personally to make sure she got it before the weekend when she needed it for. She was extremely happy and grateful and it actually made it all worth it.

Straight after then I decided to treat my brother and his wife to dinner and took them to Frankie and Bennie’s. A sort of Italian restaurant.

It was there where I saw a lot of familiar faces at another table just as I was leaving. All the people I used to work for years ago.

Some years back I used to work for an electronics factory making all sorts of components and whatnot. I was there for about three and a half years. It was the ultimate dead end job, it was about a two minute drive from my house. There I was an unofficial assistant supervisor when I was moved on to another team and also the Union Representative. Obviously management hated me because they hate any sort of union, I only did it at the request of my former supervisor who left.

They were looking for reasons to get rid of me all the time but I never gave them one until they found a group I made on Facebook entitled “For All The Sad Bastards That Work Or Have Worked At *Insert companies name*” which was made in jest. I was basically making fun of some of the other staff that worked there. Current and past members joined the group, it was no way made to be taken seriously however as they wanted me gone they used this to get rid of me.

“Gross misconduct” they called it. Try easily finding a job with that black mark on your record.

Right before Christmas too. I put my blood, sweat and tears into that place, literally and they got rid of me for a silly group because they wanted the union to be gone for good.

Classic factory bitching went on there, insulting others behind their backs and whatnot. I had heard on the grapevine that they thought I’d never make anything of myself.

Today I saw all the management there, sat at the table. Looking exactly the same as they did when they had fired me. On a works meal obviously. I saw the guy that fired me in the toilet and politely said hello. Then headed over to the table to greet them all, I was extremely bitter when they got rid of me, now though… they probably did me a favour.

Had they not fired me I’d probably still be there on minimum wage earning nothing, they asked me what I was up to these days, I told them I was Sales Manager of the company that I worked at and they were genuinely pleased, a few of them even shocked. They congratulated me and almost seemed happy that I had proven them wrong.

Quite a good day all round today which in this day and age is quite a rarity. As I walked away from their table I thought to my self, “Yeah how do you like me now?”

Oh yes… That’s the other piece of good news, it was decided that I was to be Customer Service/Care Manager, then they decided to change their minds and have me just be Assistant Sales Manager as before. After I spoke to one of the new owners last night, he asked me why I thought I was a good salesman.

I replied, “Well, since I’ve been here I’ve made you about £25,000 in sales and that figure’s rising due to my eBay sales, I have a £4000 and two £1000 sales pending which are almost certainly dead locks and should be finalized in the next couple of days. I know how to make money, that’s why I know I’m a good salesman.”

Then today I was told that my manager (who is still my manager) is to keep the title of Customer Care Manager and I am now Sales Manager. It doesn’t really mean that much more to be honest as I’m still doing what I’ve always been doing, it just means any big sales come through to me so I can “maximise their potential”.

In Fucking Charge.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

10 thoughts on “How Do You Like Me Now?”

  1. Well That is Bad Ass, and It does Actually Mean Something to Have The Title, and it also means something to “Not” have the Customer Care Title, lol

    Symbolically, You Rule, lol… And when the Chips Hit The Table, He’s More Responsible for Customers than you are, “Officially” that is, which is a good thing, should you ever need to Call That Guy out for you doing his job, lol

    Anndddddddd Sales Manager Looks Quite Good on a Resume’…. Annnnd Sales is where you want to be, whether yer doin Customer Crap or not… Truth is part of the reason The Company Grew By a Third after Shifting to Better Company Wide Customer Service, was the fact that Our Sales People “Were” in fact Responsible for their Customers more than ever.

    Trust me, in the big picture, you don’t really want a bunch of “Bidder” Customer Service People dealing with your “Meat and Potatoes” which is what The Customers are… You want “You” dealing with them… Let anyone who isn’t sellen to em Deal with Paperwork and Water Cooler Talk, YOU ARE THE MASTER OF ALL YOU SURVEY!!! lol

    Good Job and Gratz… It’s Better that you have the Sales Title… That way if the Diaper gets Toooo Stinky, you can hand it over to them HA!

    Nuff Said

    DarkJade-

  2. I hope you learned your lesson about Facebook groups and making fun of people with authority over you. Do it anonymously. I made that mistake in school. Oops! I think I wanted too much credit.

  3. Good job Pete! Sorry that you had a rough time the other day. That sucks. But that’s awesome that you got to prove your old co-workers wrong! That always feels so sweet!

    1. It was so good, there’s this crabby old witch that works there, she had it in for everyone, the look on her face was priceless 😀

      I think Monday might be a bad day due to the huge stack of paperwork I have to do… ah screw it, I’m manager, I’ll delegate it to my minions.

Leave a Reply

