Neglect

Thursday already? Holy hell, where the fuck is my life going? Down the toilet it seems.

Saturday was the last time I had posted something, it was also the last time I read something. I have been neglecting you all, my readers and the people I read.

This week has been spent, Working, Sleeping, Working, Sleeping. That is literally all I have done. The more I’m there, the more I’m given more responsibility, the more I’m snowed under.

Michelle handed her notice in today, one more staff member down at the end of the month. I’m given more hours, currently working 65 hour weeks because no one else will and now they’re making me phone customers that have bought tents and offer them additional items. Not really cold calling but definitely outbound selling.

It’s not too bad I suppose, but what is bad is the fact that they don’t seem to mind that I don’t have a social life. The more I’m there the more mistakes I’m making. Told someone they’ll have to have a refund because we don’t have their item in stock, they asked me to send an e-mail confirmation, three hours later, didn’t refund him because something else distracted my attention, can’t remember what his name was or what the item was.

Now I have to wait for him to call back and complain that he hasn’t been refunded.

All the while not only have I been neglecting all of you, I have been neglecting my girlfriend who I haven’t seen for three weeks because I work six days a week and the one day I do get off she’s at work. 24th of February was the last time I saw her.

I come home from work and I’m that exhuasted I go to bed straight away and before I know it, it’s time to go back to work. I told my manager this evening I’m giving him a week to get more staff in because I agreed to do this shit for a couple of weeks and after that he’ll have to find someone else to do long shifts. I’ve done my bit.

Still I do manage to have fun while I’m there, it just seems like my life revolves around my job, something I’ve never wanted to happen no matter what it was.

I do get a long weekend off next weekend however as I’m travelling up to Scotland for my cousins wedding, so at least I’ll get to spend time with my girlfriend then, the week after that we’ll hopefully have some more staff.

The one major thing that did happen this past week was on Sunday I found out that my friends Alex and Stacey had split up (for the 1000th and possibly last time) and because Alex pays so much rent for the place he’s in at the moment we’ve decided to move in together and have a man pad in Sheffield. Looking for places to live at the moment but when it finally happens life will be a whole lot more fun!

But until that actually does happen, that burn out we mentioned previously is definitely on the horizon.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

17 thoughts on “Neglect”

  1. Sorry Pete, that sucks. Everyone misses you – they didn’t tell me that but I just know they do. : )

    PS. still a little motion sick from the garbage can video.

  2. …and I forgot to tell you on your last post that I LOVE your voice. I didn’t expect that deep quality – very attractive. You could do radio in the states, for sure!

  3. Man, I can’t tell you how much I’ve Seen, and Heard about the kind of Sitch yer currently in… It’s good that you told them that you were done with the 65 Hour Weeks… Buy Your Girls some Diamond Earrings for the Wedding, She’ll Love them, and I think you can get em pretty Cheap, maybe on E-bay

    DarkJade-

    1. She’ll get a slap across the ass and I like it, right before I dislocate her hip. I don’t care if it’s my Grans former bedroom, she’s ‘avin it!

  4. There are 65 hours in a week??? I think that’s what I’m more shocked about than a company mistreating an employee. With all of the unemployment and mass hysteria about a world wide depression they have no excuse to not have other people in there.

    1. Too true, I tell them “I havent seen my woman for three weeks” and they’ve given me more hours, I wouldn’t mind if everyone else did their jobs correctly.

  5. Ahh that sucks Petey. But at least you get to go to a wedding in Scotland! That sounds fun! I love weddings. That’s sad that you don’t get to see your gf a lot. 😦

    1. It’s pretty boring actually where I’m going, it’s on the coast and has about three pubs that are jam packed with old people. The Scottish accent is also like a drill pressing into my ear drums and I don’t particularly care to hang around with family. But still, it’s a few days off 😀 haha

      I think I shall have to post the videos of the last time I went there… Yes I will! You’ll get to see me of four years ago, strip and run into the sea.

  6. Hey!

    The picture is awesome, as a matter of fact I used to look like Charlie Brown when I was a wee baby 😐

    Scotland sounds good, I hope that you will be able to get some well deserved rest there!

    People are leaving jobs? I can’t seem to be able to find one! Gaaah

    1. I’ve always been able to find out, they may not have been the best jobs but I’ve about kept my head above water. Agencies suck and are pointless!

      Nothing wrong with Charlie Brown, he’s handsome haha 😀

  7. This makes me ponder your blog title. All that stress you are going through. I ask myself, ” If an insane person, goes insane… do they then become sane?” Say it will never be so!

    I agree with gripping life. Your voice is nice. Sing for us, when you do swirly chairs part 2. ok?

    1. I don’t think I could ever be sane, I’ll have to be locked away in a straight jacket before that happens so we’ve still got time yet!

      The only singing I’m good at is Frank Sinatra haha and even then I sound like Barry White. But I’ll give it a go 😛

Leave a Reply

