Upgrades

Why is there a picture of a car in the corner you ask? Well when I got the money injected into my bank account it was to help either buy a new car or a place to live. As I can pretty much afford to move out with what I’m earning now I thought, why not buy a new car?

The Fiesta has done me well in the six years I’ve had it. It was my first car, made in 1998; very low mileage due to the previous owner being an old woman that only used it to go to the shops.

We’ve been through a lot together, travelled to Scotland, Wales, London and everywhere in between.

I’ve gotten stuck down back roads, one time coming back from Bakewell the road the SatNav took me down was a terrible ordeal. Kept getting beached on the road and my mate had to get out and push. 20 minutes to go one mile and I felt every single scrape against the floor.

The engine almost blew up last year shortly after getting sacked from a previous job.

I’ve even come across idiots on the road that thought they could take me on and the car went above and beyond every single time.

Even Seeing Wheel Trims Brings Back Memories!

No matter what the situation my Fiesta always got me home in the end.

But there comes a time when you have to simply call it a day, with the oil continually leaking, the brake pads worn, the tires starting to bald and the tracking not really being set correctly and the engine wanting to give out at any moment; the poor little bastards tired. Over the last six years I’ve given it some hammer and it’s definitely earned it’s right to retire.

So tomorrow I shall be looking for a new (used) car and I’ve spotted one. It’s the one in the corner, a 2003 1.8L MG TF. I knew the moment I saw it this was the car for me, it’s a new year, a new leaf, it’s time for a new car.

Today at work I mostly spent it looking for a new car and I was looking at Jaguar’s, an S-Type for under 2k? Oh my. I was very tempted and the insurance wasn’t that bad but I wanted something more sporty rather than “professional”.

Since the dawn of time I’ve wanted a convertible, they’re just simply awesome. Jamming with the top down in the summer, shades on, wind whipping through my shaved hair.

Carpark Reverse Fail

It’s done quite a few miles at 114,000 miles but I don’t mind. It just means it’s a great runner, I’m going to go and have a look at it in Nottingham tomorrow, the insurance is affordable and hopefully I’ll be walking away a very happy man.

Plus with it being a two seater it means I won’t have to ram everyone in my car whenever we have a group outing somewhere, they can make their own arrangements and I’ll have just one other person in the car with me.

All I need to do is prepare for it, it’s like giving an interview. I know nothing about cars obviously hence why I’ve been searching “Questions to ask before buying a car”. I think I’ve got the basics down.

Shall keep everyone updated tomorrow!

 

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Upgrades”

  1. That looks awesome. I love convertibles, too. I hope it’s the one and you get a great deal on it. Good idea to know the right questions – I hate car stuff.

  2. Good Luck and Gratz… When I was doing well in Sales is when I got My New Black Jeep, had it for like 4 years, Expensive, but Well Worth It… I’d like to Own A Jeep Again at some point, they didn’t used to be great vehicles, but when Mercede’s Bought The Company, suddenly The Problems they had were fixed… Imagine that, lol… And that’s when I got it… Of course it took me Rolling My Ford Ranger Extra Cab before I got it… Lol Oh well, I Loved it. The Ranger was Great too, probably saved my Life, Built so Strongly I walked away with a Scratch.

    Owned 2 Rangers before the Jeep

    Good Luck Man

    DarkJade-

      1. Ha, yeah, even here I kept the Hard Top on most of the time… Cuz you needed two people to put it back on… There was at least one time where I did take it off, and than was stuck with it being off for days, and had to get up early for work, and it was Fricken Freezing driving to Work, ha

        DJ-

  3. Nice Pete! Car shopping is always fun. Car buying is always a headache. But you’re smart! Can’t wait to hear about the experience!

Leave a Reply

