MINE!

So yeah, I bought the car. I headed up to Nottingham earlier this afternoon to have a look at it and I instantly knew that I wanted it. The guy running the place, John; was busy washing one of the cars when we walked up.

John: Couldn’t fucking believe it boys.

Me: What’s that?

John: Fucking SNOW in March?!

Me: What? Really?

John: Yeah did you not see it?

Me: It’s been sunny all day down my end.

John: What time did you wake up? I woke up this morning and the first thing I saw was bloody snow!

Me: Ah well, I’m from Chesterfield, no snow there.

He was an aged gentlemen, probably in his late 50s? I saw through most of his sales bullshit straight away, he wasn’t some classic cheesy bastard with slick hair or anything, kept telling me he was ex forces as if to project a sense of trust, then at one point said he was ex-police. I said to him, I’m a salesman myself. I don’t need convincing to buy this car, I want it. I want to buy it today but I want to know what’s gone wrong with it and what’s likely to go one with it once I’d bought it.

He showed me the service history of the car, a new cam belt was put on a couple of years ago which is always good, a new head gasket; which is always good news. I had to get mine replaced last year myself so it’s worth knowing something like that.

One of the electric windows didn’t work but he said that’d be fixed by the time I come and collect it. Few cracks in the paint, not so much as you’d notice though unless you really look at it which is what I was doing, a bit of a dint on the bonnet but that was about it. For the price I’m paying and the age of the car it looked like a reasonable deal.

Then he let me test drive it, I’ve only ever driven my Fiesta and a Micra and sometimes a few years ago my dads Audi A6. I got in the car, turned on the ignition and the engine roared. My God. It sounded beautiful.

My engine roars, but it just sounds broken rather than a lion. Headed out on to the road, stalled it three times because I wasn’t used to a responsive clutch. I said to him though, “So this is what it’s like to drive a car?”

It’s going to take some getting used to, considering my Fiesta, you have to really put the foot down in first to get going. In that, I put the foot down in first gear and I was fucking gone. The guy next to me nearly had a heart attack. Especially on the way back and he pointed out a red light, I panicked and went through it!

It’s also a little snug and as we all know, I’m not a small man but I reckon I’ll be alright. Fashion over comfort is what I always say.

So it’s getting all fixed, taxed and ready for pick up on Thursday, which gives me enough time to get my insurance sorted out. Need to find someone to drive me to Nottingham Thursday so I can bring it back and then I can rock up to Scotland in it next week.

Excited isn’t even the word!

Overall it wasn’t a bad experience, I’m happy with it and so long as everything works when I get it I should be fine. John was a nice guy, although I supposed he’d have to be. He knocked me a bit off the price and said any work that needs doing to it will be included in the cost. (Too right it fucking will be!)

Only thing I need to worry about now is how to get rid of that piece of junk outside.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

24 thoughts on “MINE!”

  1. I don’t know much about cars but I know that’s a nice looking one.

    I wouldn’t insult that old piece of junk though. Think of all the good times you had with her.

  2. Well, congratulations on the ‘new’ car! And snow in March? Are you kidding me? Here in Saskatchewan we usually have a little bit of snow until at least the end of April.

  3. Lovely car Pete and health to drive it, i hope you BOTH are happy with it or did the GF not have any say 😆

    A new cam belt is a great job, i got one in my car about 4 months ago so the car will be kept for another 6/7 years, of coarse when it broke it wracked the engine it cost £550.00 to fix it.

    1. Hah she doesn’t even know what I’ve bought.

      She said, “As long as you buy something sensible and not just because you can or it looks good”. Whoopsie! Mwaaha.

    1. Taught you lived in Derby not Nottingham? 😛 Ill be round your neck of the woods again on Thursday so if you hear a loud roar, that’ll be me 😀

  4. Very nice!!! Always feels so good to get a new car. Congratulations. I hope she treats you well 🙂

    Have fun in Scotland, Mate!

    1. Haha cheers mate 😛 Scotlands actually pretty boring and I dont really like spending time with actual family. But at least the drive there will be fun now 😀

  5. Looks really nice! Good job telling that guy that he didn’t need to play the whole salesman game. Good work! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

