Un-Creative

So, this crazy lady over at Riatarded currently has a challenge going where people explain how they overcome writer’s block/un-creativity. She shamelessly promoted it on my blog and then asked me to participate.

The nerve! Lucky for her she keeps me entertained. 😀

The challenge is called The Uninspired Chronicles which runs until the beginning of next month if you yourselves are wanting to enter.

The only problem is though, I never suffer from writer’s block. I always have these creative ideas swirling around that big docile thing I call a brain, it’s just I don’t have a lot of time to write as much as I’d like to due to having a very demanding job.

My last job was absolutely great for blogging because I did maybe about 1 hours worth of actual work within the entire day, the rest of the time was spent on the internet. Unfortunately after my manager was forced to take redundancy some dirty little crackwhore became in charge and got rid of me before my three month probation was up.

In hindsight I didn’t mind as it was a hellish drive to work every morning and I didn’t really like anyone that worked there. Fast forward to now where I became an Assistant Sales Manager two weeks into starting my new job and then eventually a full manager by the time my three months were up at this place. Now I do about 14 hours worth of work in a normal working day. Constantly busy, constantly frustrated, stressed, angry, fed up, burnt out, depressed.

People passing customers to me because they’ve asked to speak to a manager, you shouldn’t be passing people to me until you know for certain that you can’t rectify the problem. Only for me to get threats of trading standards or being taken to court. To which I reply (and did reply Friday.) “You don’t even want to know how many idiots say that to me on a daily basis. But guess how many of those people actually get anywhere. I’ll tell you, NONE.”

This week had especially been a killer only to receive news on Friday that I won’t be getting my new guy until another week (THEY KEEP PUSHING HIS DATE BACK!!). So after all of this blogging is probably the last thing on my mind sometimes which is a shame because I do have ideas for blogs and stories over at Writing Asylum, it’s just a matter of pushing past all of the stress that comes with being in management.

Usually things that do help is reading other people’s blogs. Those that I follow closely I sometimes manage to read at work, I have them set up so I get e-mail notifications as soon as they post. Reading Anna‘s blog always inspires me to write something, it’s the one thing I look forward to on Monday’s.

Once you are at your computer (or in my case, laid in bed with a laptop burning a hole through my leg) and you are looking at a yet to be written page, the most important thing for me is to get the right music playing to put you in the mood. Once you are in the right mood for what you want to accomplish you’ll find that the words just flow out. Pretty much they are doing right now, however I’m currently not listening to any music. I’m laid in total silence. I was watching Supernatural but Sam and Dean Winchesters constant wise cracks are just too much of a distraction.

Reading also gets me in the mood for writing, currently reading a random Terry Pratchett Discworld novel because the guy is my inspiration for wanting to be a writer in the first place.

People tell me that I’m a good writer, but I read everyone else’s blogs and all I can think is I wish I was as good as they are. Which I think is the right attitude as if I thought I was an awesome writer myself, none of you would actually read!

Anyway, that’s basically my advice. Clear your mind, get yourself in the right mood, read as much as you can.

Then perhaps you will be as great as me. (Or so they say.)

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

22 thoughts on “Un-Creative”

  1. Good advice. When I read other people’s work I feel so inadequate and ridiculous. You should’t ever feel less than anyone because you’re actually a REALLY GREAT writer. I mean it.

  2. Now I have to go read Anna’s blog!

    Aww and you keep me entertained as well and I mean it! You just have a way with words 😀

    hahah sometimes I feel like I am not discussing things that are important enough, especially when I read political blogs. Everyone seems to be an activist but even though I am informed I just don’t care enough to comment on political happenings :X SIGH!

    1. Aw thank you 🙂 you’re too kind!

      At least you’re informed, I know of nothing that’s going on in the world at the moment. It’s all the same old crap, people dying, people lying, people trying to blow each other up. It’s just repetitive nonsense. Who cares what political party is in power anywhere in the world? We’re all going to get screwed regardless.

      If it’s important to you and people are reading then it’s important enough.

      1. I took a screenshot of that comment because I often need to remind myself of that! Thanks! 🙂

        You are right! It does seem to be repetitive! To be honest that is one of the reasons why I didn’t write for a month. I didn’t feel like I am making a ‘difference’ but I decided I needed to give such people and their ideas a swift kick out of my life and now I am back 😀

        1. Normally you’d have to pay for that advice, you’re lucky I’m about 😛

          Good going, ignorance is bliss. I didn’t even know who Obama was until 2009, that’s how much I pay attention haha

  3. Writer’s block is an interesting and pretty personal thing. A friend of mine had a good theory on it, had a quick write up of it here: http://wp.me/p2brxh-b

    I totally sympathise With the work thing. Come home from work and have bugger all motivation at the moment.

    1. Too true, to create a story in your head actually requires a huge amount of effort, you’re essentially creating a world out of nothing.

      I’ve always thought writing is another form of playing God as it were. A whole world in your own mind.

  4. Pete you are a good writer so don’t put yourself down.

    I’m learning slowly how to write but i have a long way to go, as you read by my entery in the contest 🙂

    AgrippingLife has a great blog which i would visit, but should comment more.

    I must visit Anna’s blog because i have seen her in so many blogs.

    1. Thanks Harry, not putting my self down just think I can be better. I liked your entry in the contest, multiple worlds fascinates me, which is why I am well into Fringe and looking forward to Pratchett’s book The Long Earth to come out in June.

      You must visit Anna’s blog, it’s the reason why I started Writing Asylum to begin with.

  5. Pete you’re an awesome writer! I find myself having writer’s block EVERYDAY. I feel like my posts are going wayy downhill. I need to sit and think of a few topics. Sometimes things come to me throughout the day, so if I don’t write them down I always forget them. I need a running list at all times!

    1. Thank you 🙂 so are you! It doesn’t show that you run out of ideas though, you always manage to entertain me and the rest of your readers, it’s always a good idea to write stuff down though because there’s nothing worse than getting home and thinking “What was that awesome idea I had earlier… Ah screw it I’ll write about this instead.”

      My most recent story on Writing Asylum I thought of while I was in the shower and I had to write it as soon as possible to avoid forgetting bits, thus making me extemely tired the morning after, well worth it though 🙂

  6. There’s always going to be someone better at anything than you (people in general) are. I get discouraged going over a friend’s house and seeing how neat their bedrooms are. Mine’s either messy or barren. Look no further than what’s popular in the mainstream. A lot of it sucks yet people enjoy it. There’s a niche for everyone so never think you’re not good enough. If you can’t stop thinking that it helps to try and improve. Usually when you think you’re already the best, you aren’t.

    1. Hah bedrooms are meant to be messy, mine looks like it’s been nuked half the time. Far too busy to keep it tidy haha. I like thinking I’m not the best, you can only improve that way.

  7. Ah, the music! Always the music!

    You are a good writer by the way – take it from someone who knows absolutely nothing about the art form =)

  8. ‘I read everyone else’s blogs and all I can think is I wish I was as good as they are’

    I am exactly the same! Coming on WP gives me writer’s envy. I tend to think of my stories as a load of old crap, and then I read someone else’s and am further wanting to shove my own head into the oven and let it bake me to death.

    Thanks for the mention though, Pete! I also love reading your blog. I just feel awful I haven’t had much time for the whole blogosphere recently- I get Pete withdrawal if I haven’t been on your site for a few days though. I keep thinking ‘I need to do more WP whatnot’, but then I am either at work, asleep, or on the toilet… and my life continues in this way. I’m sure you understand 😀

    Oh, and I have always found the best cure for writer’s block is alcohol. SO MUCH ALCOHOL.

    1. Haha read while on the toilet, that’s what I do 😛 my blog gets Anna withdrawals when it’s not visited lol but I shall try your way to get rid of writers block next time by getting hammered!

Leave a Reply

