Insert Loud Angry Roar

I’ve been neglecting again! My last three posts have been reblogs, so it’s probably about time I carry on ranting about how much I hate my life.

This week started out with so much promise and ultimately has turned out to be a disaster like every other week, after the boss having the nerve to extend my probation by a month because “I’m good at everything I do apart from talking to customers because I sound fed up all the time” at the end of last week. Where I said to him, the only reason I sound fed up is because I am fed up, understaffed and overworked all the time would make anyone sound fed up over the phone.

He seems to forget the fact that I constantly receive e-mails thanking me for getting customers their orders on time, when promised especially after someone in another department has fucked up their job and can’t be bothered to do it correctly. Then not let anyone know about their fuck up.

Without me there would be no customer service at that place because no one else seems to care about the customers and considering I applied for Inbound Sales, was made Assistant Sales Manager and then after being fucked around for weeks ended up being CS Manager when I was told I was to be Sales Manager I think what I’ve been handed to me I’ve done well with.

But hey ho, Monday was the start of a new week and we’d gotten our replacement for Michelle at last, Jack his name is who previously worked at our local store in the town centre. Spent ages Friday making sure he was all set up, my manager spent the day training him, Tuesday was probably the least stressful day I had because with him and Swedish both answering phones it took the edge off the stress meaning I could get more stuff done that I’ve been meaning to do for awhile.

But then Wednesday arrives and we find out that Jack has decided after three days that he doesn’t like working at the head office and went crawling to his old area manager and asked him if he could go back to the store. Man was I livid, the managers playing it cool saying he doesn’t blame him but the guy wasn’t even doing anything stressful. He’s done fuck all for three days basically and he’s decided he doesn’t like the job?

Didn’t even have to respect to tell me or my manager first, he went running to someone who isn’t in charge of him anymore and it’s been arranged that he can go back to what he was doing before. ARE YOU FUCKING SERIOUS?! I don’t like the job but I don’t have the option of going to a different area of the company, now the store he works at will be overstaffed because they’ve had to replace him.

“I’m sorry, I feel as though I’ve let you down.” He said.

To which I replied, “Yeah well, you fucking have let us down. You’ve only been here two and a bit days and you’ve said it’s not for you? Are you taking the piss? So now that’s three days of wasted training, a day wasted setting up your systems and four weeks of waiting around for someone who didn’t even have the respect to tell his managers his problems first. If I had the power you wouldn’t be working for this company at all and you better hope you’re not when I have that power.”

I walked out of the office after that and had a few minutes in the warehouse, taking out my anger on a faulty tent. Three days though, I even gave door to door selling four days before I realised I didn’t like not getting paid to walk around rough neighbourhoods all day.

So now he gets to go back to his store and we’re left without a replacement yet again, and because he did join us, Evelina and our remaining receptionist were given Friday and Monday off on holiday which means I’ll be doing EVERYTHING once again. And I’M the one on probation?

Then today I come home after doing two hours overtime (unpaid might I add) to find that one of the cats had decided to do a massive shit and piss all over my bed.

FML!!!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

17 thoughts on “Insert Loud Angry Roar”

  1. My God you are in deep shit 🙂

    The boss seems as though he’s just letting things tick over with the few staff he has, overtime i would stop it.

    Do the job he got you for and let the rest go, after all he seems to be, not getting people to do the work.

    1. If I was in charge, I wouldn’t let someone go back to their old job after three days when he’s not even given the job a chance. Three days! I couldn’t fackin believe it. He should be made to stay there, then other departments if someone fucks up, there’s no discipline.

      Sending orders out to the wrong address with the correct address’ details inside, that in itself should have been a sackable offense.

      And IM THE ONE ON PROBATION?!

  2. Harry’s first comment cracked me up! I’d be pulling my hair out, too, if it’s any consolation. You’ve shown incredible fortitude holding up at a place where they obviously have zero respect for their employees and less for their customers. They should be kissing your feet. I’m amazed that you’ve held on this long. Seems they keep making promises and stringing you along. Maybe it’s time for an ultimatum? Or at least a good crotch thrust! haha!

    1. I don’t mind being CS Manager I suppose, it still looks good when applying for other jobs, which I have started doing. I’m moving into my own place soon and can’t afford to work knowing they may get rid of me at the end of the month so I’m gonna see what else is out there.

      All they’re interested in is money, which is I suppose what business’ are meant to do but they should be interested in the aspects that help generate money. If they sorted their shit out they’d save so much and make so much more.

      If I get the one I’ve applied for, I’ll be giving them a massive crotch thrust as I drive out of the car park and trust me, that’s very difficult to do.

    2. Also, for a laugh, I’ve applied for a job I know I could get but really don’t want and listed one of my previous jobs as “Male Gigolo” with the job description “Satisfying customers (ladies)” hoping to see if they notice it 😀

  3. Some new woman at my job quit after 2 days recently. I really hope it wasn’t out of stress but rather boredom. These are people who bounce around their entire lives in every aspect. Did Jack come off with a somewhat “Hey I’m too good for this” attitude? You may not be able to answer that. Hard to get to know a guy that quick. Just like it’s hard to get to know if you’d actually like/not mind the job.

    1. It didnt come across as that, said he was loving it in store, yet he was begging to come to head office, maybe it was the bordem. Probably didn’t realise that all we do is try and stop people from suing us all day long. I hope he dies.

  4. Wow you had a ROUGH day! 😦

    Your boss is being a shit head! Customer service is a tough job and if you are getting their orders on time then you deserve the job and a raise, if I may say so myself.

    I hate it when people give up that easily (the replacement)

    1. My boss is a good guy really, just would have thought I’d have been shown a bit more appreciation for the shit I’ve had to deal with since starting.

      And so do I, he would have been a good addition aswell, I suppose it’s better to know now rather than in a couple of months time when we will be proper busy.

Leave a Reply

