What’s The Point?

So, I had a shit day at work yesterday, only to have an equally shit day today. I’ve been sat at work taking shit off of dissatified customers all day looking forward to 5.30 when I can go home and rest.

Only to get home and get a text message from my girlfriend Fiona saying she wants to end things… What the fuck?!

“Don’t know how your gonna feel about this but I’m gonna be honest, I don’t think we should be in a relationship anymore, doesn’t seem we’re in a relationship anymore anyway.” Is what I got.

To which I replied, “Why doesn’t it seem like we’re in a relationship? I know we don’t see a lot of each other but that’s coz we’re both bogged down with work, I certainly am at the moment, but if you don’t wanna be with me I’m not going to guilt you into changing your mind.”
Then I didn’t get an answer to my question, just, “Hope he can still be okay?”

Yeah right, the first thing I did was remove your face from my Facebook. That’s how it works these days right?

Granted we don’t see a lot of each other, between me being at work all day and her working at a hotel and going to college, when do we have time to see each other? Maybe I haven’t text her as much as I could, but I don’t text anyone unless they text me. If I have nothing to say, then I don’t say it.

She said to my mate Bill earlier today that she was going to have a word with me about things, I said to him, she didn’t even have a word she just ended it. She told him we were having problems before she told me! She knows how much work is getting to me at the moment and I thought would have had the decency to at least let me get through this week so I can breathe a bit. Or even have the decency to talk to me face to face rather than end it by text message which is like, the ultimate insult and after everything we had been through thought she’d have had more respect than that.

I’ve never loved anyone as much as I loved her and just like every other woman in my life, reached into my chest, pulled out my heart, lit a cigarette, smoked it and stamped it out right on my aorta.

Relationships are overrated and I think I’ll remain single for the rest of my life and go back to being “asshole Peter”.

Much easier that way.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

28 thoughts on “What’s The Point?”

  1. Pete, i’m very sorry to hear about you both breaking up, two people working two shifts must be very hard to deal with.
    Remaining single is ok, being an asshole a big no no.
    Be yourself thats all you need to do.

  2. You can win. It’s simply not to be with her, so, take what you can in a learning way, breathe deep, move on and use those lessons in your next relationship. ::hugs::

  3. That stinks Pete. But it sounds like everything has been piling up on you. Maybe this was a blessing in disguise. You’ll get more of break to do what you want to do and to take things easy. If things are meant to be with Fiona, then it will eventually work itself out.
    Don’t be asshole Pete. Be the kind Pete that we know you are! Being sour is just letting the world win when it gets you down. Kill ’em with kindness! You’ll be fine! Fiona didn’t know how good she had it!

    1. It’s hard to be kind sometimes though, just when you think you’re past a bad period, fate decides “What? Fuck off, have this problem!”. Sick of it, I know pricks that have a better life than I do, how does that work? Agh!

  4. Me reading the post if i had never heard of you, my first thoughts are, get shot of your friends and mates all they want you for is to go out drinking get into trouble or help them when they get into trouble.
    I would try to get new friends try to go to new places do different hings, i know it will be very hard for you and a complete change of life style, a new Pete.
    We had to do it, we have friends but only two close ones we went out with, stayed in each others houses, and went for breaks and holidays with.
    He died and now we are lost and we are finding it hard to ajust to a new way of life.

    Good luck.

    1. I do have some close friends, I probably have just two that I’ll keep in touch with into my old age. Sorry to hear about your friend, I’ve lost close friends too, friends that if they were still here, I’d probably be in a better place so I know how hard it can be, maybe not to your extent but I have a pretty good idea.

  5. Hmm…. Might be a good time to go look up Danielle? I know you’re in a crap place right now and Fiona breaking up with you like that was stupid and hurtful. But I have to believe The Pete Howorth Universe is righting itself, preparing you for something bigger and better in both your job and love life. You deserve to be incredibly happy, Pete. You’ve got a whole bunch of us out here rooting for you. : ) Just remember that…

    1. Hah I’ve tried looking up Danielle before, seems to be a lost cause! The Pete Howorth Universe must be like a faulty satnav, I do have three job offers though, from people that have gotten my details from elsewhere so maybe things could look up? Thank you though, you don’t know how much I appreciate having you guys to vent to.

  6. Oh Pete, I’m so sorry 😦 I have to be honest and say that life does suck, a whole lot more than it doesn’t suck. But there are those little glimmers of awesomeness that take us by suprise, when we least expect it. I realise how very cliche that sounds, but I can hardly count the times where I’ve wanted to launch myself off the edge, but a matter of weeks later had wondered what all the ado was about. My point is that stuff gets better, it just about riding out the bad times.

    I want you to know that I am here for you, and that if she wanted to leave you, then she didn’t know how good she had it. I hope that you know that I genuinely mean this, and everyone that has commented feels exactly the same. We love you as the Pete you are now, and will love you whatever happens.

    Don’t give up hope- you’ve a potential new job on the horizon and we’re all right behind you cheering excessively. If you have found love once, love will find you again. I’m sending you mental hugs now, I hope you can feel them x

    1. I certainly could, thank you so much Anna 🙂 life does suck, I believe the point of life is to try and get past all the shit it deals you but sometimes it gets on top of you. But then ya meet people like you that remind you that not everything is bad in the world. And I am grateful for that and I am grateful for you.

  7. I clicked the like button then unliked it because I realized how horrible this actually is. So much for my “onto better things” bullshit from my last comment.

    It’s tough at our age to really keep a relationship. We can either hold ourselves back and practically settle down or be constantly on the prowl. Hang in there man. You’re an overwhelmingly confident guy. I admire that.

    1. Why thank you, good sir, if there was ever “a one” you thought you were going to end up with, she was definitely it, or so I thought. Maybe I’m destined to be a whore for the rest of my life.

  8. Oh well Pete, I know this sucks but things do get a whole lot worse before they actually get better. I won’t say don’t worry about it but hey! ho hum ho hum let’s all sing a song! (I don’t know why I just typed that) :S

    If you are both busy, shouldn’t she understand that you can’t text that much? Hmmm, I don’t know, maybe this is for the better? I’ve given up on humanity. College taught me that. Sorry to hear that you have to deal with such crap.

      1. awwww nah! it’s gonna get better.

        Such things make you appreciate life more. SIGH I AM IN SUCH A SHIT MOOD! way to make it about myself >_>

          1. Which is so retarded, because hey it’s summer! shouldn’t things be great, or good at the very least?

  9. I knew that you had Broke Up with your Girlfriend, but I hadn’t seen this Post… Being Broke up over a Text Sucks… There’s no two away about it, and there’s no excuse for it… I mean, even a Phone Call is better than that

    I understand that In Person can be rough, especially if you two haven’t been as close lately or something… But a Text just Destroys you… I’m really sorry Pete

    I have to tell you, do your best not to blend your Opinion of All Woman Together… It sounds like you guys had a Great Friendship for a Long time, but in the end, she really hurt you by ending it in that fashion… So basically, the whole thing ended on a real bad note, and you’re the one that has to deal with all the pain associated with that… And I’m sorry for that… If it makes you feel any better, My Girlfriend of 4 1/2 years, who I had broke up with last June… Basically Booted me out because we were Fighting too much… Wanta know why we were Fighting too much?

    Because she was staying up to 2 or 3am every night talking to a different guy online

    And she wouldn’t stop… And after like 2 or 3 months of it, our Fighting was just too much… And rather than stop talking to this guy, at least so late into the night, after I had gone to sleep… She chose to Boot me out

    So… Yeah… I understand the Long Relationship Ended on a Bad Note, Trust me

    I was Heartbroken… I didn’t have an issue with her having Guy Friends, but the fact that she wouldn’t stop the late night chatting, and, oh here’s the worse part… Every Time I’d come in the Room, she’d either Close Her Laptop, or throw up a Different Screen

    Yeah, it sucks

    She’s never been honest about any of it… Ever

    But I’ve determined, some people just can’t be honest… They Lied Growing up, maybe to protect themselves from their parents backhand, or belt, but the problem is, they never stop lying going into their adult life… Humans are Creatures of Habits… And Habits have to be Broken, or Made… They don’t usually change by their selves.

    Nuff Said

    Fiona never gave you a guys a chance to even work on anything… And in my opinion, if both people aren’t working at something, it’s not going to work.

    Good Luck… Take some time to Heal… And as Cliche’ as it sounds, “Time” is literally the only thing that helps with the Pain… Actually, “Poetry” helped me a lot.

    But Time is the main thing… I’m 10 months out of a 4 1/2 Year Relationship, and I’m only now starting to feel less pain about it.

    Nuff Said Again

    Hang in there Man, like Anna said, we’ve got your back

    DarkJade-

    1. Ive had my heart ripped out of my chest that many times by women now, I’ve gotten used to it. I’m not saying all women are bitches, but many of them are.

      It’s like how women generalize men as being bastards haha.

      I don’t blame you for ending it, talking into the night and keeping their conversations secret from you is a bit dodgy too be honest; if she has something to hide then she’s doing something wrong.

      What I’d have done in your situation is set up some secret security cameras and try and film her. Boom! Caught in the act!

      I dunno the real reason Fiona broke up with me, maybe she’d found someone else *shrugs* just means I can be a whore again.

      1. Lol… Ah, England All Men are Bastards, and in America, All Men are A$$holes, Lol

        Ah yeah, I just meant, don’t give up on Woman as a Species… But, now’s not the time for Optimism, Lol

        Good Luck with it all

        DarkJade-

Leave a Reply

