Looking To The Future

With everything that’s been going on recently, I have a bit of a surprise today when a job agency who I’ve never dealt with before, based in Chesterfield found my details and gave me a call about a couple of positions that may be of interest.

I said to the lady that I would only be interested in permanent, full time positions and only if they were of equal or more pay to what I’m getting now. The CV they had was about two years old as they still had me working at Ibis Hotel, which I left in 2010; the first job she offered me was a touch typing position for about £500 a year more than what I’m getting now. A job I know I definitely can do, she asked me if I could type around 70 words a minute, the last typing test I did I’m around 85 words a minute so I said that’s not a problem.

Plus if that’s all I’m doing, typing, how sweet is that going to be? Not having to deal with angry customers on a daily basis. I sent her an updated CV with my recent jobs on there and she e-mailed me back asking me to give her a call as she also has another job I may be interested in. Not sure what that is yet but I sure hope it’s not customer service.

I think I was absolutely mental to get involved with customer service, face to face in a hotel or a shop is fine. You sell someone something and tell them to fuck off. (Not literally) But in call centres or offices you get the same people calling over and over and you know it’s not their fault, I don’t blame these people for being angry because if I ordered something only to be told a month later that I can’t have it and will either have to have a refund or something else, I’d be pissed to.

Having to micro-manage every single order is just not viable, but no one at the top seems to care.

Today made me realize that whether or not they keep me on, I may not be working there the following Monday anyway. My manager said to the director that our receptionist wanted a week off next month and wanted to know what we would be doing about a replacement, he said, “No one, you’ll just have to work harder.”

What kind of attitude is that? He fucking knows how stretched we are and that we can’t afford to lose yet another person if only for a week and his response is, “Work harder.” Fuck off you prick. I then piped up and said, “Well I’m not answering the fucking reception phone, you need me more than I need you mate.” and walked out with my manager. Anyone else in any other department can have time off but we’re not expected to have time off during the summer, that’s utter bollocks.

I said I have Leeds Festival to go to and my manager shook his head, I said I’m going whether it’s by holiday or having the week off on “sick”. I’ve already paid £200 for the weekend ticket and if you think I’m giving that up to spend it at work taking shit off of customers while my friends are there listening to awesome bands he can think again.

The job wouldn’t be so bad if we had more staff or if things were more organized but they don’t seem to care about improving either and it will get to a point where I’ll just say to them, “Stick your job up your arse”, give a load of customers free stuff, report them for multiple incidents of breaking Data Protection and walk out. It’s been decided that we don’t even shred confidential information (customers details) anymore, just “throw them in the bin.” and the owners wonder why they’ve have five failed business’ in a row.

My fist could go through a wall right now.

Now I know I’m needed more than I need them, I’m going to take the last couple of days easy and just fuck around, that’s what everyone else seems to do.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “Looking To The Future”

    1. Get a ticket bought then!! I’m looking forward to Foo Fighters too, the comedy acts havent even been announced yet either, I spent a lot of time in there haha

  1. I hope this other job(s) comes through. Typing would be sweet. No stress with that one! I’ll keep my fingers crossed. And you’ve got it right about them needing you more! haha! Too bad they were such imbeciles!

  2. Well good luck finding a new job. You can’t possibly find one worse than the one you had before! I think your former department is now royally screwed now that you’re gone if they’re as understaffed as it sounds. Oh well, you really owe them nothing.

  3. Sounds like your manager is like, the antichrist. Seriously, must feel good to be getting out of there soon. If you got to only type and not have to deal with customers, that would be awesome! Plus, making more money would be suh weet!

    1. I have like, three bosses. My manager is actually very cool, he’s the only one that’s stuck up for me from the beginning and he said right when he was put in charge that he’d always fight for me, then the Ops Director whose a total jobsworth, never has a day off, not even weekends, never has a holiday but is a total yes man and then there’s the owner who is a complete prick and I actually fear for the company with him in charge. I hope he gets hit by a bus.

  4. I think fucking around sounds like a boss idea. Ever experienced the joys of slinging a photocopier down the stairs? 😀

    It’s so awesome you’re looking to the future, and I’m sure everything will turn out just fine, you just need to chase it. Chase it, stab some mattresses, and sling a photocopier down the stairs.

    In other news, I am also in Leeds, but it’s next weekend at the Slam Dunk Festival. My aim is to get extra drunk and throw up in a bin. Aiming high.

    1. Haha that’s all I go to Leeds Festival for, the prospect of throwing up in a bin! You know you’re the pinnacle of class when you do that. Not as much as throwing up in the street on a night out then continue walking on though!

  5. Keep your eye on the Leeds Festival, and, think long and hard about what sort of job you really want. I understand typing is a snap–is it all you want to do? Just type out reports? I get the feeling that, despite the problems you’ve had with management, you enjoy your work with customers, and, from what you’ve said, are the type of customer service person I’d want on the other end of the phone–one who listens and actually DOES something.

    1. It’s probably not what I want to do for the rest of my life but neither is customer service, I just feel like I need a break, I’ve gotten very burnt out from working there especially over the past month. I try to excel at anything I do, so if I think a customer deserves something or needs something I will go out of my way to make that happen even if it gets me in trouble with my boss. I then get too outspoken about my position rather than taking a bollocking. “We’re losing money on this order now!”
      “Yeah well, because you can’t be bothered to make the other departments do their job properly, its your own fault to begin with.” for an example.

      It annoys me because all of my friends know what they want to do for a living and have made it happen one way or another, I’m still searching what I want to do.

Leave a Reply

