Burnt

On a happier note, this weekend was probably the best weekend I have had in a longtime. After leaving work on Friday I was ready to just sit at home all weekend and rape my PS3 (not literally, it was too expensive for that). I got a text later that afternoon from a friend asking me if I wanted to go out round Sheffield as they had heard what a bad couple of weeks I’ve had, so I thought why not.

Got in the car, raced to Sheffield, only to discover they had been out that afternoon getting drunk; sobered up and now they were exhausted!

Pair Of Bastards!

Eventually they got their arses in gear but Phil (pictured left) then spent and hour and a half doing his hair, seriously it was like an unfunny joke, he was taking ages.

Meant to be meeting a friend at 9pm, we didn’t even up going out until 11pm, so he had been sat there waiting in a pub for us on his own for two hours. Poor guy.

Then because we had gone out so late, none of us could be bothered to play catch up. Phil wanted to go out a nightclub after the first pub, who goes to a nightclub sober and willingly pays £5 to get in? We ended up going to O2 Academy, where I spotted some hot girl in a nurses outfit, she caught me looking so I looked away, then everytime I tried to have a sneaky glance she was already looking at me.

“What is she looking at?!” I thought, then I thought she’s probably thinking the same thing. We were playing a game of eyeball tennis for a good 30 minutes. The night didn’t last very long after that as we were back for 2am, really disinterested and I had a day of drinking already planned for Saturday so I didn’t want to get hammered anyway.

Oh My

But still, the amount of women we saw was immense. Even in the kebab shop at the end of the night, you couldn’t move for girls. It’s just a shame that listening to a bunch of drunk girls is like listening to someone scraping their nails down a black board.

The morning after me and Phil had a couple of hours playing Boggle, something I hadn’t played for a good ten years, such an underated game. Then headed over to Chesterfield, the sun had truly arrived in England so I did what anyone does with a convertible car and had the roof down; the second time I’d done so since I bought it!

Driving back from Sheffield with Cinema by Skrillex blasting out full volume with the sun beaming down on you and the wind glazing the top of ones shaven head was one of the best things ever. It’s exactly why I wanted a convertible, I felt like a God driving back.

Then I’d spent Saturday sat in my brothers back garden with the sun frazzling my skin to a crisp, beer in one hand, cigarette in the other. Chilling the fuck out. Every other weekend I’ve had when I was working was spent worrying about work on Monday. All I ever did was bring work home with me, even at some moments on Saturday I was worrying about a customers inflatable kayak and I kept having to remind myself that it was no longer my problem.

It was no longer my problem that people weren’t receiving their tents on time, I literally had no worries on my mind for the first time in years. For the first time in months I was in a good place mentally. Even more so when my friend Alex informed me that he’s good friends with the recruitment guy at the broadband provider he works for and that he’s told him to give me a call and offer me a job in sales which I’ll be more than happy to take.

Where he works is a company I’ve wanted to get in to for years, a company that treats their staff right, gives them bonus on making sales. A customer phones up, tells you he wants to sign up, you take his details, bam £10 bonus. Ten calls in an hour, that’s £100 bonus. Someone who works in sales said he gets his basic wage a month, then possibly another £1000 on top of that just in bonus. It’s a very lucrative job.

Not just that you get a free gym, free parking, free internet and phone line. They know how to treat employee’s well and considering I know a hell of a lot of people that work there, I’d fit right in. If I do get a job there, maybe Lisa was right all along and it was the universe correcting itself.

As the sun went down across Chesterfield, my brother and I retired to the living room where we watched Bad Lieutenant which is a very weird film, watched the Eurovision song contest which we came second to last in *slaps head* and just generally drank a lot of alcohol. He went to bed, I watched Family Guy and American Dad until 5am.

Roast pork for dinner on Sunday, fell asleep at half 2 this afternoon, woke up at half 7 at night and now I’m wide awake. But I don’t care, because I don’t have work in the morning. 🙂

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Burnt”

  1. YES! I’m going to send positive thoughts your way and hope that you get that cushy job. You’re ripe and ready, Pete. You deserve something great.

  2. Something good is about to happen, i’ve got that feeling! I feel happy for you! Good luck Pete and you had quite the weekend! 😀

  3. It must feel pretty great to be outta that stupid place. At least you got out while the weather’s good. Now you can relax, get tan, and drink (as you do). Treasure the good times!

  4. Sorry I haven’t commented in a few days, Pete. I’VE BEEN SO DRUNK. I might still be drunk now. Glad you had a weekend as good as mine, and it must be even better to not have to go to work (damn you and such). What’s next in the Pete saga? You can come live under my bed if you want and I’ll feed you cookies.

    1. :O Have you turned into an alcoholic Anna? Will you start beating me with the shiney end of your belt when I refuse to get you another beer? *shivers*

      I think living under your bed sounds like a tip top idea, only if you’re not an alcoholic though, my face is too nice to be whipped.

      1. I’m unfortunately no longer drunk, but my throat box is killing me. Throat box? Hmm. Yes. Throat box. The Slam Dunk festival in Leeds has taken it all out of my including my voice, money, and energy to do things other than lie around the house watching Jeremy Kyle and the new series of Family Guy 😀 So fear not of my alcoholism! And you are more than welcome to live under my bed any time 🙂

        How are you keeping anyway? I briefly had a read of your blog on the coach home… (did you have to remove something? Feel free to remove this bit if you need to). Just wanted to let you know I’m thinking of you whatever happens, and I hope you’re enjoying the sunshine in the interim. You did well to get out of that place- they’ll realise how much they needed you when everything falls apart in a few months and then you can sit back and laugh malevolently whilst drinking a nice pint of vengeance. Delicious!

        Much love!

        1. I cannot wait for Leeds Festival to do the same to me at the end of August 😀

          I did remove a couple of posts, thought it best not to broadcast what I’m doing 🙂 it’s done me good to get out of that God awful place, I’m in a better frame of mind than I have been the past couple of weeks and enjoying the time off before I eventually get another job I’ll no doubt hate but excel in haha!

          With any hope my friend will come through and I’ll get the job I’ve always wanted in Sheffield then I will be raking it in and I can buy you a bed for us both to hide under and then we can pay someone to feed us cookies made of the tears of little children. mwahahaha… MWAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  5. “It’s just a shame that listening to a bunch of drunk girls is like listening to someone scraping their nails down a black board.”

    Sometimes I wonder if it’s worth the price of having them actually be all over you. Worst thing is they think they’re so brilliant.

    1. Aye, not so much so at the end of the night when they’re clasping their handbag squatting down a side street trying not to urinate on their own feet! (It happens more often than not where I live…)

Leave a Reply

