National Novel Writing Month

For quite some years there has been a contest called National Novel Writing Month or more commonly known as “NaNoWriMo”. It generally takes place in November to give those people stuck in by the rain something to do. Over the past few days I’ve been reading Laura @ QuillWielder‘s posts on Dark Globe about it.

Although last year the company behind NaNoWriMo started running a summer contest with the same rules, just a different time of year. Looking at the company behind it; Office of Letters and Light I fully agree with their cause. So many people out there including myself have wanted to write a novel. There’s nothing I’d like more than being a full time professional writer and not have to suffer the mundane life pointless jobs bring. Not only do they run these contests in June and November, they hold a script writing competition along the same lines in April and have the Young Writers Program that also runs in November, encouraging our next generation to become creative writers.

The main idea of this contest is to write a 50,000 word novel between the first and last day of the month of June/November, which if you think about it is under 1500 words a day.

Most bloggers will have heard of this competition some way or another; it started with just 21 writers in 1999 and has grown to over 200,000 people taking part as of last year.

Now Laura is an actual author knows what it takes to write a full novel, I have no doubt in my mind that she’ll come up with something pretty amazing and do The Dark Globe proud.

The more I look into this competition the more drive it gives me to actually write something more substantial than what I’ve been writing on Writing Asylum and I have too entered the competition.

I’ve never written a novel before, I’ve always doubted I have what it takes to write a novel but by jove I’m going to give it a shot. Late last year I started a blog called Twist Of Hate which was a serialized novel about a group of characters, I think about this story all the time, how I want it to end, how it can continue etc and I will start off by rewriting what I have written; then I shall finish it off and accomplish the feat of being a NaNoWriMo winner.

In a time where books can be downloaded as easy as music; this is when we should be taking full advantage of being a professional writer.

Being out of work and this competition has given me both the time and drive to accomplish this. I just hope my will power does not fail me and I impress you all with what I have written.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

38 thoughts on “National Novel Writing Month”

  1. Good luck Pete!

    I tried this in November last year, in fact I started my wordpress blog because of NaNoWriMo! It was a lot of fun but I didn’t get to finish it but hey at least I started a public blog! hahah

    I hope I can do this again this year and actually write a book! 🙂

    1. How come you didn’t finish last year? Did you get bored of it? And how much of your 50,000 word target did you accomplish?

      Look at me, 21 questions hah!

      1. hahhah I LOVE QUESTIONS and since you are questioning me about my favorite topic aka ME, it makes me doubly happy! hahah narcissistic much? :p

        I finished 40,000 words but the novel didn’t seem to be going anywhere so I got frustrated! I have been doing a page a day since then and it’s looking pretty good!

        What about you? what are you planning to write about? 🙂

        1. I did start another blog last year that was a serialized story, but I lost interest in writing it (due to lack of views) so I’m going to rewrite what I’ve already written and then continue the story and hopefully make a full novel out of it. It’s about the death of a mans love of his life, it’s not clear how it happened only that it happened and the police are after him for it.

          The story then takes place at different points in time and shows the lead up to the event at the beginning and hopefully leaves it open for sequels and such 😀

  2. I did NaNoWriMo for the first time in 2009. I will be self-publishing that book on October 31.

    I also wrote a novel last year, and I actually plan on breaking it into two novels and publishing the first one next year.

    1. Wow, you are what I aspire to be! Once I have actually written my first novel, I’ll start worrying about how to go about getting it published afterwards, although I’m not sure anyone would buy it haha. Is it easy to get something self published these days?

      1. Self-publishing is easy and hard. It’s easy because you can self-publish anything; Amazon, et al do not discriminate; they’ll publish anything. But it’s hard in that you have to do everything yourself (or hire it out): the editing, the cover, the marketing.

        I actually finished my novel in a year, but I spent a year trying to get an agent. After 50+ rejections, I decided to self-publish. Now I’m slogging my way through more revisions and edits (I can’t hire that out, so I have to do it over and over and over again, trying to catch everything by myself). Luckily, I took classes on Photoshop design, so the cover’s not been too bad. It just took 7 hours (!).

        1. Awesome, when I finish what I’m writing I’m going to try and get that published one way or another, however I’m not killed at photoshop so I’ll either have to pay for that, or do it on paint haha

  3. Wow You’re Going for it? I’m Proud of you man, It’s a Hell of a Challenge.

    Good Luck

    And No Mercy!!

    Let us know if you need any Encouragement along the way… Just Do a Post on Dark Globe, and I’ll Try and Rally The Troops, Lol

    DarkJade-

    1. Cheers dude, no doubt when I’m feeling low I shall call upon you all and you can tell me how awesome I am. Maybe even hire me some whores? That always works 😀

  4. You’ve Been Hit By The Dark Globe, Thanks for Being Such a Great Part of The Dark Globe Pete… Followers Appreciation Month, Woot!!

    Lol

    DJ-

  5. DJ , do you mean Pete’s paid more than me, i’m still waiting for last months money btw.

    Pete i’m linked to 5 / 6 author’s and they all do NaNoWriMo and they all say you must keep at it or you will miss out.

    Laura put out two posts with advice on how to plan and set out your book before you even start, did you get them, i think they are posted in DG.

    I hope you take it on and succeed and get published, one author has 8 or 9 books on ebay and different self publishing sites.

    Go for it, not to many whores, you can’t write with a bad back 🙂

    1. Don’t worry Harry I don’t get paid that much otherwise I’d afford my own whores! I read them but I only decided to do NaNoWriMo a day before it started but I like the challenge so why the hell not. 😀

  6. Go for it! Don’t get sucked into “a novel is supposed to be like this” and get frustrated when your idea seems too different. I’ve done that before. It’s dumb. Books are one thing that have no formatting rules at all. Worst case scenario, you waste a little bit of time that would have been spent crying in the bathroom anyway.

    1. Haha yeah too true, I have been missing my bathroom crying time but this comes first. What I’m gonna write is going to be different, it’s about one event at the beginning then shows the history of what lead up to that event over the course of many years in the chapters following.

  7. Hey there! The Dark Globe follower appreciation post sent me here – just wanted to say good luck on the NaNo! And I agree with Mooselicker – don’t worry about the rules so much. Just write what you want. I remember your submission to the Dark Globe writing contest, and you’re a good writer. Lol, your character really stuck with me. I absolutely think you’ve got what it takes! 🙂

  8. Good on you, Pete! You are a braver writer than I. I thoroughly admire everyone that enters this competition, and I really can’t wait to see the end result! I’m sure it will be fantastic- the Dark Globe has some excellent writers, and you’re all going to do it proud. Genuinely chuffed you’re giving this a go, I’m super excited for you 😀

    1. Thank you for the vote of confidence! 😀 I really do hope that you one day write a novel, it’ll be the most twisted weird thing ever written! I’d buy two copies!!

Leave a Reply

