Further Into The Uncharted

Since I bought my PS3 I’ve been wanting to fire up Uncharted 3 from the get go however because people told me how I should play the second one first if anything I held off and borrowed the second one, blasted through that in 11 hours and felt amazingly swept away and exhausted.

So exhausted I had to take a break from gaming for a little while, a couple of days ago however I felt it was time to get the third one done. Played it for a few hours and decided I wouldn’t do it all in one go so switched it off after Chapter 8, last night I decided to play a bit more of it so I turned it on at 11:30pm last night, the next thing I know it was half six this morning!

I’d completed the game! I must admit it was a tad shorted than the second one at 22 chapters rather than the 27 the previous one had but I still loved it. I’ll admit it wasn’t as intense as the second installment, some areas of the story weren’t fully capitalized on but still a great story none the less.

The locations were just as beautiful as the second; maybe even more so due to the slightly improved graphics.

The puzzles of the game be pretty frustrating at times but luckily for me it does pop up with an optional hint every now and then so I always go through it in the end.

The story basically focus’ on Drake’s ring he wears around his neck that once belonged to his self-proclaimed ancestor, Sir Francis Drake. The ring actually fits inside another device that works as a cipher for a coded language which takes them to finding some sort of lost city in the desert.

Mid way through the story they realize why Francis Drake gave up his journey and hid all evidence of it but little did he know Nathan Drake didn’t give up quite so easily! Using the ring and the device they manage to unlock clue after clue and eventually make their way to a lost city in the desert.

The ending was a bit anti-climatic and a little unfulfilling; the bad guys weren’t as hardcore as the last lot but he still ends up with the girl (the same girl he ended up with in the second installment) and all was well in the world once again.

There is some great scenes in this game, the plane and the boat scenes both come to mind. The desert scene was a little unrealistic though considering he lived without water for three whole days; in the blistering heat? I wouldn’t be able to last three days without water full stop!

I was a little afraid in the desert scene that I’d end up playing Journey, the endless desert was epic but luckily it didn’t last that long that and the fact that he basically kills an entire army throughout the game.

The main characters all return, we’re even treated to a flash back of when Nathan met Sully back when he was a teenager and it really shows you the depth of their father/son-esque relationship.

Still with an awesome soundtrack, same humour as always, action, adventure, locations, scenery. The game just didn’t feel as epic as the last game, it felt a bit rushed, more than likely because they announced the release date before they even finished the game which is a big no-no but I don’t feel regretful I invested my time in this game because it’s still brilliant, this game gets a 9/10 from me and now I’ll need to buy the first Uncharted game (and pretend it’s a prequel!) and then I’ll be getting the Uncharted game that was released for the PS Vita once I manage to purchase one of those!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Further Into The Uncharted”

  1. Video games are my favorite. I could play all day long. Right now we only have my old N64 and a Wii. I need to get a PS3 pronto! I’m obviously missing out on some good times!

  2. Completely agree with the anti-climactic ending. The visuals are outstanding, the puzzles are just hard enough but it feels a touch lacklustre compared to the second one.

    Still had the ridiculously tough enemies though. Having to pump an entire clip into them to take them down got annoying quickly.

    Top review mate.

  3. This does look rather awesome! I’m much too obsessed with RuneScape again at the moment. I got into it again for the first time in months, and then literally the day after, all the servers crashed! C’mon guys, I need to feed my pet rock!

    1. Haha I tried getting back into RuneScape but I think I’m past it now. I just can’t be bothered doing any of the quests and that’s basically all there is to do. I joined a guild and got a funky looking cape which was fun, but got rid of it soon after lol.

      I’m thinking about getting the Game of Thrones game next, it’s bound to be amazeballs.

      1. I never got to see Game of Thrones, although literally everyone I know who watches it says it’s amazing! You’ll have to let me know what it’s like 😀

        1. I read the review of the Game of Thrones game and IGN didn’t have many nice things to say about it so I’ll probably hold off until it drops in price, which I imagine won’t be that long!

      2. Oh, the game! OH! I thought you were on about the TV series, silly me. In which case then you should definitely get it and review it, just so you can rip it to pieces and I can read it with glee 😀

        1. Haha trust me, you need to watch Game of Thrones, I’ve seen the show it’s easily the best thing on television at the moment! Sean Bean in the first series is captain big bollocks and then series two without him gets infinitely better!

          Buy it and watch it!

Leave a Reply

