My First Novel – Completed

Brilliant, I’ve started the post off with a lie. It’s not completed as I have 1300 words left to write to reach the 50,000 word mark. Being unemployed for the past two weeks has been great because I’ve had nothing else to do but focus on my novel.

I spent much of Monday just purely writing, I was beginning to get stuck on how to progress the story, I knew from the beginning of where it needed to go and how it needed to end but it was just getting it to that point in a way that I found interesting and still able to keep potential readers on the edge of their seats.

I managed to get just a shade over 8000 words done on Monday and took Tuesday off and I mean off. I mean; I got out of bed twice for a piss and that was about it.

Don’t even ask me where the time went, for some reason I watched the first 8 episodes of Will and Grace; as much of a tough guy I am there’s still nothing like chilling and watching some American sitcom with canned laughter. Before yesterday I’ve been hooked on two things; Seinfeld (which is the best US sitcom ever created; Elaine is a hot piece of ass) and John Cusack movies.

I watched High Fidelity, Serendipity, 2012, Being John Malkovich and 1408 all one after another. Maybe I’ll do a John Cusack review month on Dark Globe?

I dunno what it is, John Cusack is a handsome man and if I were gay I’d almost certainly have my room covered with posters of him.

…Anyway, I managed to get the novel where I needed it to go; it arrived at its climax that’s been building since the first page and now I just need to figure out what the final chapter is going to do, I want it to tie up some loose ends and hopefully have it lead into the next part of the book. (If I ever get around to writing it that is.)

Writing this by comparison small novel gives me greater respect for what other authors do that tell stories from multiple view points. George R. R. Martin is a great example of this; the Song of Fire and Ice series has a large amount of personal stories that are told over the course of each of his books, to keep track of what everyone is doing and remember exactly where everyone is at in their own adventure and how it intertwines with other characters’ stories is an amazing talent to behold.

Any novelist whether you deem their book a good read or a waste of time deserve our respect because to sit down and write something of at the very least 50,000 words is not what I’d call easy.

Once I’ve written my last chapter I’ll then read through it and make it flow better, correct any grammar/spelling mistakes etc, the usual thing people do then I’ll at least try and get it self published.

I’ve had this story locked in my head now for years and to finally get it all down has given me a sense of fulfillment.

In another news, having spent the last two weeks off work; it’s given me time to recharge my batteries, a couple of weeks ago I was dealing with Fiona breaking up with me, losing my job and my new place to live all in a week but I’m in a lot better place mentally now than I was then.

I’ve started applying for work again, if you have read My First Interview you’ll know what an epic fail I was; ten years after that took place I had an interview for the same company again today working on their service desk. It’s actually a large multi-national professional company, not some half rate piece of shit company like my last place was.

Still, it’s customer service but it’ll have to do. I probably won’t even get it, they asked me basic customer service competency questions; then basic technical questions (like ‘what does CTRL+V do?’) then some written scenario’s to test my grammar and spelling (I’m writing a novel so I’d expect both to be up to par). I don’t think I did too bad but it wasn’t an interview I was proud of, so it could go either way.

If I get the job, awesome, if not, oh well. It’s one of those where I don’t care if I get it or not, if I do then great I’ll work hard at it but I won’t be devastated if I don’t. I was thinking I’d try to get back into hotel work if I don’t get this job. I was awesome at hotel work, face to face customers don’t tend to give me as much shit.

So right now, all is well, apart from me being back in debt thanks to the clutch on my car dying so I’ve had to spend my savings getting that repaired!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

24 thoughts on “My First Novel – Completed”

  1. Lol, I remember when I went to Purchase I Second Ever Car, I had the Choice of a Higher Payment, for something New… Or a Lower Payment, for something Older, but Cool… Like a Dumb A$$ I went for the Lower Payment, and Something Cool…

    Within the first Year, I had put $2,400 into it (Including a New Clutch), and then went to a Dealer and Traded it in, and Bought something New, Lol

    Gratz on the Almost Complete Novel, must be an Amazing Feeling

    I can’t tell you what it was like to Finish a Complete 124 Page Screenplay, Edited, and Rewritten… It was Awesome… Also felt good to Finish My Novella in November or December, I forget…

    But 50,000 Words is just awesome…

    Glad you’re Recharged, Good Luck with Finding Work, and I definitely think you should do a John Cusack Post, I’m a Huge Fan of his… I’ve Watched “Serendipity” 200 times, Lol

    It’s one of my “In Between Relationship” Movies, Ha

    DarkJade-

    1. High Fidelity was pretty awesome too for a between relationship film, top five break ups haha.

      I have a feeling that more problems with arise with this car, I’m going to have it for a year hopefully then get something awesome like a Jaguar and pay more than 1,500 quid for it.

      1. Lol, I didn’t quite do a Jaquar… My First New Car was a Ford Ranger Truck, but I Loved it… Did Two More New Cars after that, with “Zero” Repairs, Lol

        Then it was back to S$@#! Heaps, Lol

        DarkJade-

        1. I don’t know how I’d fare with driving large vehicles, I learned to drive in a Nissan Micra, bought a Ford Fiesta and now have an MG TF which is just as small.

          I did drive my dads Audi A6 a few times and found it hard to get a sense of spacial awareness with that thing. I drove the works van at my last job, that was the biggest thing I’d ever driven haha.

          On an updated note, I received a phone call from the company that just interviewed me, I was the best candidate they’ve interviewed today, saying my grammar and punctuation was excellent; my answers to the questions given to me were top notch and I have vast experience in a customer service related role so they’ve offered me the job 🙂

          Whose calm now?!

      2. Holy shit, nice to see you’re starting to get Jobs because of who you are, coupled with your Experience.

        Good Luck with it if you take it, sounds a lot better than your last, Lol

        DarkJade-

        1. They’re a big company, Computer Sciences Corporation; my dad used to work for them (although in a much higher role). Good prospects a foot if it gets made permanent

  2. I must be an incredibly slow writer. It took me probably 2 months to finish the first draft of what I’m working on. Albeit I had other things I was dabbling in, but still this is pretty impressive.

    Make sure you don’t rush things. I started mine back in September and I’m going through it again now seeing a lot of things I want to add in/sentences which need to be written better or more correctly.

    And I too think John Cusack is a handsome man. Could it be because he’s so unthreatening? He’s such a bottom.

    1. Definitely, plus you know if you are stuck in a sticky situation with Cusack, he has that calming way about him that’d get you through it.

      Once the novels done I think I’ll print it all out and read it a couple of times, no doubt there’ll be things I want to remove/add. Once I’m in the zone and the story is flowing I can write for hours non stop, just pop in some headphones to block all outside noise and I’m set.

  3. Pete its great your nearly finished your book and so quickly, you must have been working your ass of.
    It would be great if you did get the job.

    1. I have been, just constant planning and typing. I was exhausted after Monday. And I did get the job, they told me a couple of hours ago 🙂 said they were really impressed with me.

        1. Beginning of July I think, where I’ll do a months worth of training haha. Only downside is I’ll only have one computer moniter, I liked having two!

  4. Don’t forget that you watched, “Say Anything” per my suggestion, so that’s another John Cusack film to add to the mix.
    Sorry to hear about your clutch – car issues always get me crazy.
    Maybe you should send your book out to a real publisher? What the heck, you’re a great writer, see what they have to say?

    1. Wow you’re right! I still have that on my computer, I could watch it again!!

      The plan is to send it to a real publisher, but if I get laughed outta the building then I’ll self publish 😀

  5. I can’t believe you can sit down and write that much! I could never do it. I could probably write a short story book. Like, in little bits, but never one long actual book. So crazy! Good for you! Seinfeld and Will and Grace are so great. John Cusack used to be good, but now he’s in the worst movies. I do like Serendipity and Say Anything though. 😀

  6. I say good for you Pete! Oh my God, the black background is killing my eyes Pete! 😦 Apparently my eyes are photosensitive and shit! :/ wordpress should allow the users to be able to alternate themes on their own!

    Ok enough about me 😛

    SOUNDS AWESOME! I hope you get the job and I can’t wait to read your novel! Publish soon! 😀

Leave a Reply

