GUEST POST: The Goings On In My Brain

Wonder (emotion)As we rapidly approach my one year anniversary for Evolution of Insanity/Hatred/Whatever I’m Calling It These Days; there’s another first for me today as Joy of MissMeddle asked if she could do a guest post for my blog.

Me being the lazy bastard I am jumped at the chance for some content to be posted that I’ve not had to write myself, my ultimate dream :D.

Could this be the first of a long line of people thinking I’m that awesome they need to show off their work on my blog? Let’s hope so.

Anyway, get to reading and then afterwards go ahead to her blog and check out her other posts; even though her posts are few they’re still very much worth reading and hopefully she’ll have a lot more to say in the future!

The Goings On In My Brain

In my head, I am a fairytale waiting to happen. I will experience adventure, laughter, lots of travel; most of all, a happy ever after of genuine happiness shared with the love of my life…

No matter that I’m so shy; sometimes, leaving the house has me sweating and peeing every two minutes.

No matter that most of my life has been spent in one place; it’s all about positive thinking, really. I write “Jos” on each book I buy, in wild hopes that someday, I’ll write something else.

And it’s of no consequence that all around me, in relationships of various strengths, all I see is lies, dishonesty and infidelity (I’ve also been guilty of this).

Heaven forbid my actual life get in the way of my wanderings – I’ve been given two mild bouts of great moodiness since my teenage years, and generally expect too much from life to retain much innocent surprise about most things.

No, none of this so-called “logic” exists in my parallel universe. There, I lose all shyness, becoming a self-confident, poised young woman. I lose all the awkwardness of my semi-tomboy childhood, lose all clumsiness and become graceful, elegant.

Of course, no human can attain perfection, so I’d probably still have some flaws. Like, my eyelashes could be too long, or my skin could glow a tad too much… Ok, maybe I could retain my weird, bushy eyebrows.

Basically, though, I’d be able to make friends with strange girls (as opposed to most of them instantly hating me), I’d be friendly with guys while firmly keeping them at romantic arms length, and I’d be able to make small talk, which I hate. I’d also be able to figure out my purpose in life. Essentially; I would “find myself”.

Strange, but true. In real life (let’s call it RL), I’m very cynical, sarcastic and don’t care much for clichés. In Fantasy (or Fake) life- FL – I’m open, and the world’s worst romantic. Flowers, poetry, candle/moonlight dinners, dancing, completing each other’s sentences (uggh! RL shudder), growing old together, the works.

I know the script for FL so well – I leave the bosom of my family (and Jos), called by fate, destiny, whatever; ride off into the sunset, spend a few months setting up on my own for the first time, find myself in the process, then my soulmate, and on to happy ever after…

For now though; I’m still in Jos.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “GUEST POST: The Goings On In My Brain”

  1. First off, thank you, thank you, thank you, Pete! This goes to show; a delicate mix of pestering and grovelling will work every time!
    Second of all, thanks a lot, Stephen. My head swelleth over 🙂

Leave a Reply

