They Think It’s All Over…

…It fucking is now isn’t it? In case you’re wondering what I’m on about; the Euro 2012 football tournament has been playing for the last couple of weeks (In case you don’t follow football and you live outside of Europe) and unlike Euro 2008, England actually managed to get through to the group stages which we won two games and drew a third; then we made it to the quarter finals where we were up against Italy.

Those that know me will know that I am not a big sports fan, especially when it comes to Football; I’ve only been to two Chesterfield FC games and a Sheffield United game in my life. The Sheff United game the company that I worked for had its own box so I mainly sat in there eating food and watching wrestling.

But when it comes to international tournaments I tend to take notice and dutifully support England in their efforts. Ten years ago I remember going to watch Football at a pub at 7am and getting extremely drunk before I had to start college; fun times though we never won. We never win.

England always seem to come highly seeded for victory due to the fact that our football league is the best in the world. However that’s largely in part to most of our players being foreign. Sure we have great English players of our own but for whatever reason can never catch a break. We’ve only ever won the World Cup once in 1966 and that’s it. We’ve never had the Euro championship so we were hoping for the win this time around and with our new manager it seemed a possibility.

However we drew against Italy and what followed was some great and at the same time some awful football. There were moments when both sides should have scored. The first half ended, the second half ended. It was 0-0.

Then two lots of 15 minutes of overtime came and went, it was still 0-0, we were hoping to get it done in the overtime as we never have much luck in penalties. And just like always, England fucks everything up yet again by missing two penalty shots giving Italy the victory.

It was a very edge of your seat game all the way through and Italy won because they deserved to, I can’t fault them. The atmosphere here was immense, I watched the match in Leeds with a couple of friends and had a really good time up until we lost.

I had no doubt in my mind that we wouldn’t win the competition even if we did win as Germany have been unstoppable in the competition; winning every single match they’ve played and I think the final will be Germany vs. Spain; Germany will defeat the Italians, Spain will have no problem with Portugal, and hopefully Spain takes the victory in the final who are currently the Euro 2008 champions and the World Cup 2010 champions. To add a third title will be pretty special and a sight to be seen. Probably something that won’t happen again in our life time so I’m backing the Spaniards.

Our problem is we’re just not good enough, we never have been. This year I thought we may have a chance but ultimately my heart was ripped from my chest along with a few million other Brits.

See for yourself how an atmosphere can instantly be killed.

Still; I got to drive back from Leeds at midnight with the roof down at 130mph all the way back with Audioslave blasting out. So that made up for it.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

15 thoughts on “They Think It’s All Over…”

  1. Sorry, that really sucks. It’s always disappointing to get far and then have it ripped away. On the plus side, you look really ferocious with your English painted face. ; )

  2. I’m not a big footie fan either, but I do pay attention to the big ones like the World Cup and this one. I didn’t watch the match last night because I knew I’d be crying into my orange juice (I’m on meds at the minute, so no alcohol for me). Ah, well, even if we had got through, we would’ve been slaughtered by the Germans, as we were in the 2010 World Cup. The 7am match you watched, wasn’t that the World Cup in Korea, where the time difference meant most of the matches were on at around that time of the morning?

    1. I remember the crushing 4-1 defeat to the Germans in 2010, I left at 3-1 and went for a BBQ hah! We’re just not as good as other Euro teams and when the World Cups involved and you have teams like Brazil we don’t stand a chance. Yeah the matches were dead early, a mate of mine convinced us all to meet him at the pub; then he didn’t turn up until half time because he overlaid!

  3. I watched the game with my friends yesterday. I can’t believe it came all down to that one shot. So annoying. It was such a crap game anyway though. No one scored anything! I don’t even like sports and I was super bummed out for England. Sorry Petey 😦

    1. It was tense, who ever scored first would have definitely won, when Italy scored in extra time we thought that was it then the referee disallowed it; I’ve never heard such cheering.

      Nevermind, there’ll be another one of these posts when we screw up in the World Cup.

  4. We can all look forward to the world cup were England will play like complete ass holes again.

    I cannot believe how footballers can miss penalties.

  5. Hey don’t feel too bad. My favorite baseball (baseball, what the hell is that?) team has only won two championships in the almost 140 years they have existed. Luckily one was 4 years ago. I understand sports frustration.

    Soccer hooliganism is so great. There’s nothing like it over in the US. You’re all so much closer and things get tense. It’s a real tribal thing. I would so love if we had something like that over here.

    1. Haha it’s awesome, no other country chants like England does, there could be 500 England fans in a stadium holding 20,000 people and you’d still hear us over anyone else

  6. It was certainly a terrible let down and honestly I should pay attention to this stuff more often. Never been to an actual football game, sounds and looks awesome though. You sound confident that Spain will win, and they more than likely will too.

    1. I only pay attention to international tournaments like I said, I don’t support an actual team though most of my friends either support Chesterfield FC (where I live) or Liverpool FC. It’s not a bad game but I can only handle so much every two years or so haha.

      Spain and Germany are both undefeated this tournament, they’ve not lost a single game and Spain have won the past two tournaments, if they win Euro 12 they’ll be the first team ever to retain the Euro championship so it’s pretty big stuff 😀

Leave a Reply

