And An Olympic Afternoon Was Had

I mentioned on Twitter yesterday that I was going to see the Olympic torch run through Chesterfield, I’m unemployed (thanks to the company that hired me losing their contract meaning I’m not required anymore, THANKS FOR WASTING MY TIME!) so I needed something to do other than wake up at 4pm every day.

Weather wasn’t looking very promising at mid-day with it absolutely lashing it down with rain, I was meeting a couple of friends who live on the otherside of Chesterfield and getting there was a right ballache, roads everywhere blocked off. I had to use my superior navigation skills (SatNav) to get there.

Luckily by the time we’d headed out it’d stopped raining and actually turned into a really sunny day. Nothing like the sun beaming down on you when you’ve prepared for rain!

It looked as though everyone else in Chesterfield took the day off too, just endless lines of people everywhere, GET TO WORK!

What’s All The Commotion?

A load of busses containing the sponsors of the Olympics came drive past, shouting “WOOO! YEAH!!! COME ON EVERYONE!” I bet that’s a depressing job after two months.

Then five minutes after that the torch bearer holding the torch came running (walking, lazy bitch) past. Then disappeared down the street and that was that. Bit pointless overall, but it was something to do; then we went to the pub for a few pints then went to see another mates new house. Sometimes, being unemployed is fun!

Judge Dredd Overseeing Things

Then we saw a bag of cats being swung at a wall.


At least they weren’t robbing old bitches, you get me? 😉

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “And An Olympic Afternoon Was Had”

  1. I think the Olympic torch thing might be the biggest anticlimax in the world. ‘YEAHHHH WOOOOO OLYMPICS COMING RIGHT THROUGH MY TOWN OHH YEAH HOLY MOLY THIS IS GREAT oh it’s a middle aged man walking very slowly with a large match.’

    1. We had a middle aged woman, but she did have big boobs despite the fact she had cornrows. It was one of those “Should I rugby tackle her and take the torch” moments.

  2. At least be happy someone went there to cross it off their bucket list and was so upset by the results they went home and killed themselves.

  3. Pete, I love your blog so much that even though the black is totally killing my eyes, I just can’t stop reading! It’s not you, my eyes are effing photo sensitive (hint, hint… can I get a change please? :p) like a little bit? =/

    On the bright side, you had an interesting experience! wheeee!

    They lost their contract? WHAT? ❤

Leave a Reply

