New Beginnings

Holy crap, it’s been a whole week since I actually did anything on WordPress! As you might have already guessed, I started my new job on Monday. It was difficult in more ways than one. Mainly getting back into a normal sleeping pattern.

I’ve been hidden away in solitary for pretty much the last four months, trying to find work, not really being able to afford doing anything, apart from you know, the Olympics, Leeds Fest, Scotland etc etc but I digress.

Now I have work I have a reason to get up in the morning. Monday and Tuesday were pretty bad as I fell asleep at 7pm, tired from the amount of information that’s been forced into my brain. Woke up at 11pm and struggled to get to sleep for the rest of the night making me extremely tired the following morning.

By Wednesday I sorted my shit out and went to bed a little later. So different than going to bed at 10am and waking up late evening let me tell you!

The first week at work had been alright, it’s mainly training and listening into calls, I’ll be working on a Service Desk, the calls that I’ve heard have all been fine. There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll be able to do this job and do it well, without blowing my own horn I am a very quick learner and the sooner I get thrown in the deep end the better. The call volumes are high which means I’ll be very busy rather than my last service desk job where I spent most of my time on WordPress.

The people on the other end of the calls have all been nice people for the most part also, it’ll make a change not to take complaint after complaint about some trivial matter and there is actual progression opportunities within the company also. Although I still don’t have security clearance to take calls yet because two of the God knows how many references they took from me haven’t come back, that’s been a constant thorn in my side and I’m not very impressed. But I’ll get it sorted.

So that’s pretty much it, I’m back to earning money and can begin healing my bank accounts yet again.

Now I’m back to (or near to) a normal life again I’ll be here more often.

In other news, The Dark Globe rashly shut its doors this week, a very poor decision and one I’m certainly not happy about. But I was only a lowly Assistant Editor and if DarkJade wants to split up a community that he spent a year building that’s his decision. But as I’ve said to you many times Jimmo, I have much love and respect for you and I know it’s not a decision that would have come easy to you. I just feel it was the wrong decision.

So on the back of that, knowing full well I’m not going anywhere any time soon, I’m thinking about starting up my own project. I don’t know what it’s going to be called yet, something catchy like “The Peter Howorth Blog Of Excellence And Triumph”… we’ll call that a working title for now.

I liked the idea of blogs like Dark Globe and Limebirds (Happy Blogiversary to them!), they create a sense of community that WordPress just doesn’t provide anymore. Since they had gotten rid of the forums there’s no way for people to advertise their work to a larger audience, these types of blogs help people do that, get their name out there, it also gives people a chance to read something they wouldn’t normally read. Become interested in new things.

It’s for this reason I’m interested in starting up my own thing and anyone that was involved with Dark Globe or interested in being involved with Dark Globe are encouraged to be a part of it.

If you are interested feel free to let me know here or via e-mail if you already know it or at Twitter (which a year ago I never thought I’d say) @PeterHoworth

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “New Beginnings”

  1. Welcome back! I like that you say you now have a reason to get up in the morning. My job is the reason why I don’t want to get up in the morning.

    Dude, I’m embarking on a gigantic project and I’m going to need all the help I can get but I already knew you’d help because you’re cool like that so be prepared!

    A shame Dark Globe went belly up. With this new project I want to prove not only to myself but to everyone that if we all get on board an idea we can make it happen.

    1. Sayyyyy whaaat? A project by the Timmynator? Consider me interested! Will it make us millionaires?! Billionaires?…… TRILLIONAIRES?!

      Oh my, I need to urinate.

  2. I’ve gotten to where I spend Sunday reading all my Blog Hood–it’s a great way to spend a Sunday. Feet up, laptop on my, well, lap, and something cold to drink while I catch up. Glad to hear about the job going well and sorry about the demise of the collaborative blog.

    1. Thank you for both! I’ve spent most of my weekend this week catching up on blogs, however I’ve taken the sleeping in a bit too far this weekend and woke up at 3pm today, no sleep for me tonight 😦

Leave a Reply

