Music Monday – Imagine Dragons

Ripping off ideas since 1985 I’ve decided that I’ll follow Lisa‘s lead and dedicate every Monday to a band I’m currently listening to at the moment; I meant to do this post last Monday but for whatever reason, I couldn’t be bothered.

It wasn’t until listening to this band on the way to a comedy gig last Thursday where the idea flared up again. (A comedy gig where a comedian tried to make fun of me and I ended up getting a bigger laugh than he did all night. Don’t try and match wits with ‘Ard Pete.)

This band came into prominence about a year ago and I only heard about them about a month ago. Proving that not everything from Las Vegas is a piece of shit (The Killers an exception), this four piece indie rock band has their own unique sound that I’m a massive fan of.

If you watch some of the live videos of them, you’ll notice the front man bashing the crap out of a massive drum, couple that with some deep bass and you’ve got something exceptional.

The first song I heard from these guys was called Radioactive, which I first heard when I watched a fan made video for Tom Hardy (In my 10 Lots Of Randomness post)

I’d be lying if I said that I don’t still listen to this on a daily basis, it’s the first song I listen to when I drive to work, it manages to put me in a happy disposition while I’m stuck in traffic.

Impressed with this song I sought out to listen to others from their album “Night Visions” and I came across On Top Of The World, a song that actually makes me feel on top of the world when I listen to it:

Listen to that and tell me you don’t enjoy the harmonies! I listened to this when they told me I had a job, which meant money would soon be rolling in. *rubs finger and thumb*

Safe to say this is a band to watch in the future, hopefully when they become bigger they’ll start to tour the UK and I’ll get to see them live. (Side note: Seeing Muse next month!)

I’ll leave you with this last song, called “It’s Time” and hopefully this will convince you all to go and buy (illegally download) the album!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

19 thoughts on “Music Monday – Imagine Dragons”

  1. Hey. I’m on my iPad and the music clips are not coming up. ?? I’ll get to my big computer in around and hour and I’ll check them out. I’ll be looking forward to music Mondays! You’ll do a good job with that.

      1. I especially love the 2nd and 3rd songs. but they’re all great. I could see myself driving around listening to them, and playing them over and over again.
        thanks for this!

  2. They did a free gig kinda near me a few weeks ago. I didn’t go. I hate being around other people.

    And just so you know, that comedian probably went home and hung himself. There’s nothing worse than when an audience member, the enemy, wins. But hey, he probably deserved it.

    “Don’t fling the shit unless you know how to duck when it gets flung back at you.” – what I will say to my grandchildren

    1. I can only hope he did, he was unfunny and tried to make the crowd look stupid to make himself look funny, looks like he chose the wrong chap to fuck with this time.

  3. I’d passed over this band a few times without a serious listening-to— they really do grow on you, don’t they? Hey, speaking of Las Vegas, have you ever read Hunter S. Thompson’s “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas”?

    If you haven’t yet, I think you’d dig it. Thompson is hardcore. And funny.

      1. Oooh. I think “Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas” might appeal to you on a couple of counts. Hunter S. Thompson could roll in the dirt. But, he also had no fear of looking strange himself. I think the way he writes will put a spark in you.

        It’s a short book. About as long in word count as one of your beloved Terry Pratchett novels. Thompson has great comic timing. And he can also break your heart. You may really like it, I think.

Leave a Reply

