Music Monday – Ludovico Einaudi

Monday’s reared its ugly head once again, my oh my how time flies eh? Seems like just yesterday I were sat here writing about Imagine Dragons, I can definitely tell I’m back in a job now!

Though at the moment I’m not doing very much due to my stupid “security clearance” *shakes fist*, nee mind though. Monday, the worst day of the week is finally on its way to ending. (unless you’re over there then you’re only part way through the working day, hah losers!)

Still, unlike most of my previous jobs, I don’t actually mind it where I am at the moment, the people are ace and there are pubs nearby, so I’m set; service desk is different to normal customer service because you don’t get any old retard phoning you up about something they’re wrong about. Every phone call I’ve taken so far has had a somewhat polite person on the other end of it asking for help. I feel like Superman at least three times a day.

But it’s still good to get away from the madness at the end of the working day. You were probably expecting me to list another band I’m enjoying at the moment, because I’m very rock music orientated but my musical tastes are vast. Although I don’t like house, hip-hop, dance, trance, RnB or any other that kind of shit the teenagers are listening to these days. Perhaps it’s a sign that I’m getting old?

Who cares right? I’d rather be old with good taste rather than young and an idiot.

That’s why today I want to showcase Ludovico Einaudi, an Italian composer and musician that’s been creating music since before I was born, 1980 he began and since has become world renowned for his talent.

His music is featured heavily in the 2006 film “This Is England” which is when I became a huge fan, his music seemed to fit that film so well and it made me take notice of how great he truly was.

People like Ludovico are the real musicians of this world, you don’t hear about him paying for prostitutes or hitting girlfriends or doing coke off a toilet seat. No, all you hear from Ludovico is his amazing music.

It’s hard showcasing a small number of his music because everything he has created is beautifully crafted. So the following probably isn’t his best, it’s just what I listen to regularly. The first one is entitled I Giorni which translated literally means, “The Days”.

I love this video because you can tell from the look in Einaudi’s face that he’s feeling every single note he’s playing, he doesn’t just play music, he is the music.

Some people say that they don’t need music to get them through the day, I do and Ludovico helped me get through my time in France especially, while I was away from home; washing dishes at 10pm whilst everyone else was out having fun and getting drunk. I’d just flick on my iPod and float on.

Divenire (Become) shows what he can do with more instruments at his disposal; I’ve seen a lot of music live but never anything like this before. It’s genuinely something I would love to go and see.

Rock music gigs seems to always be about crushing the people at the front, starting up mosh pits, pissing into a cup and launching it into the crowd, I’d love to just go and sit and listen to something like this at an arena.

The next song I want to show you is called Nuvole Bianche (White Clouds), usually it’s played without a female vocalist; but she has that Italian beauty about her and her voice is pretty sweet so I thought I’d feature this video rather than one without her.

So there you have it, I’m not just rock musically inclined, I’m about what is real; what this man does is real talent, to create these sounds from nothing but pure imagination is what music is about.

It’s not about wearing pants around their legs with a twisted cap, or whatever crap X Factor produces on a yearly basis, or whatever the fuck Rizzle Kicks is; it’s about what Ludovico is doing, him, a piano and an audience is all he needs.

I’ll leave you with one more then I urge you to visit YouTube, just enter his name and click on any random song, you won’t be displeased at anything you hear. The final piece is called Nightbook.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “Music Monday – Ludovico Einaudi”

  1. Interesting music. Much I like, some a bit bland.

    The song surprised me as it was sang in what is probably one of the many Italian regional dialects. In that regards It was a tad distracting as I was trying to make out the words. Were I not of Italian origin I would have treated it as I do many foreign language lyrics . . . as part of the music.

    Thanks.

    1. Ah well, with me not being of Italian origin it was easy for me to just class it as part of the song. His blandest song is probably better than anything that’s in the mainstream charts these days so I’d take ole Ludo any day haha.

    1. Thank you 🙂 without music I’m sure I’d just be a furious ball of rage all the time AND MOST OF MY POSTS WOULD BE TYPED OUT IN CAPITAL LETTERS NO PUNCTUATION AND A LOT OF EXCLAMATION MARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

