Music Monday – Woodkid

Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand…. We’re back to the start of yet another painstaking week of frivolity and mundane…ness. You may have spent the weekend drinking, visiting friends, laughing and joking, jumping from space or all of the above. Whatever the case you’re probably in the mood for some awesome music.

Well never fear, Pierre is here to provide you with such.

Recently Courtenay of Bluebirdbvld featured Woodkid’s recently released single Run Boy Run on her site, I had yet to hear the new single and I must say I was just as impressed as his first single, Iron.

In case you don’t know Woodkid is the musical alias of French director and songwriter Yoann Lemoine, who according to Wikipedia his notable works include directing Katy Perry’s “Teenage Dream”, Taylor Swifts “Back to December” and Lana Del Rey’s “Born To Die”.

As a musician he’s still very new, only releasing his first EP last year and coming out with a new EP this year, his first full album “The Golden Age” is expected to be released in 2013, providing the world doesn’t end first that is.

I’d first heard of him late last year when his first single “Iron” was featured in the Assassin’s Creed Revelations trailer, the song and the story mixed so well and was a big reason why I was so excited about it.

As you can see, it did its job of making Ezio looking very bad ass. I don’t know what it is but Ubisoft just seems to get video game trailers.

Another song off of his first EP that I’m a big fan of is called “Baltimore’s Fireflies”, in a world where we’re filled with X Factor, America’s Got Talent, America/Britain’s Got Talent and all those other pointless talent shows, it’s good to know that there are people still capable of writing their own music on this level.

Judging by the small amount of music he’s written so far, which has been entirely great; his album is one I’ll be looking forward to being released next year. I hate waiting for things, why can’t it be released now?!

There are musician’s that just add songs as filler to an album but I honestly cannot imagine a song that’d be classed as filler. His voice is unique and I think that’s how someone becomes something special, when you don’t sound like anyone else that’s when you don’t get lost in the shuffle. Remember Joe McElderry? Yeah neither does his mother.

In case you’re wondering how he sounds live this is a video of him and Stabat Mater, as you can see he sounds just as awesome. When he starts touring England I’m definitely getting tickets to see him.

As I mentioned earlier Run Boy Run has just been released, the music video Iron tries to tell a story, Run Boy Run is a direct sequel of that song/music video which I find very cool and the video in it self is a piece of art. Someone has kindly joined the two videos together so you get to watch a little movie as it were.

I hope you have enjoyed Woodkid as much as I have and no doubt you’ll be wanting to purchase the album upon its release next year!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Music Monday – Woodkid”

  1. I’m loving your Music Mondays! Mondays are becoming more tolerable as a result. I will definitely have to listen to this dude as soon as I get my speakers on my laptop working. Too much internet equals overheating and fan whirring madness. Madness, I tell thee!

    1. What you need is some headphones, laptop speakers suck balls! But thank you, I’m glad you’re enjoying them 😀

  2. Well this is weird. I literally discovered him only yesterday. Run Boy Run is used on an advert, and I googled it and that darn song is now officially the GREATEST SONG I HAVE EVER HEARD IN MY LIFE. I am listening to it RIGHT NOW. I have played it on a loop on my ipod LITERALLY ALL DAY. I just cannot get enough. So, good call, my friend. Good call.

Leave a Reply

