Music Monday – Chris Cornell

Welcome to another edition of Music Monday, with me, Pierre Von ‘Ard. I’m sure you’ve all been waiting anxiously for another round of awesome music provided by yours truly.

Music has always been important to me, since a young child. Granted, when I was a child I didn’t really know what good music was but that was because I was young and naive. I mean, you wouldn’t catch me buying a Spice Girls, Britney Spears or Boyzone album in this day and age!

After a day at work there’s nothing that unwinds you more than some of your favourite music and if you’re like me and you’ve literally just been to the dentist due to a broken tooth and told that it’s going to cost over £400 to have a veneer fitted, after paying £96 for a “temporary measure” then it’s definitely music time.

I’ve talked about Chris Cornell much in the past, he is definitely my favourite artist of all time; I’ve been to see all of these bands at Leeds and random gigs such as Noel Gallagher, Limp Bizket, Blink 182, The Fray, Athlete, Muse etc etc and there are only two bands left that I haven’t seen live before, they are Goo Goo Dolls (Oh yes) and Cornell/Whatever Band He’s In At The Moment.

He started out with Soundgarden and were successful until they broke up in the mid 90s, then he did a solo album then moved on to Audioslave which is where I’d first heard of him. Since then Audioslave have broken up and Cornell has reunited with his old Soundgarden brethren. I remember buying the first Soundgarden when I realized how awesome Audioslave were and instantly became hooked. I then bought the rest of the albums and hearing that they’d reformed was great news for me. I need to keep my eye out when they’re next going to be playing in England because I’m definitely going.

As much as I love listening to the awesome sounds by both Audioslave and Soundgarden my favourite thing about them is Cornell’s voice and my favourite music is when he’s performing unplugged. Chester Bennington said he has the most beautiful voice in rock and roll and the above video solidifies that fact.

Everyone has a favourite song by their favourite artist, a song which they hold in such high regard, for me mine would have to be “I Am The Highway” which he wrote while he was apart of Audioslave, when he sings it live and without the rest of the band backing him it sounds infinitely better.

This song along with two others are songs that I usually include on every music playlist I make for the car, the first being the first single which is what introduced me to Audioslave and Chris Cornell to begin with and in my opinion it’s pretty much the best music video ever. The amount it must have cost for all the fireworks would have been considerable.

Just the fact that the beginning of the song builds, builds, builds and then literally explodes into awesomeness.

Lastly the next song that always manages to make it on the playlist is entitled “Show Me How to Live” which somehow holds a strange power over me that seems to encourage me to speed (sometimes over the speed limit *shush*). But isn’t that what car stereos are for anyway? Before I come to a close this week there’s so many more awesome songs by Audioslave that I haven’t listed here, I could just post a long list of videos but you’d never watch them all.

If anything you should listen to “You Know My Name” which was written for one of the recent James Bond films, making Cornell the first non-English person to do so, I remember when it first came out. It’s not often Cornell gets played on the radio but when that was released it was on every five minutes and it most likely brought him a lot of new deserving fans. And of course “Sweet Euphoria” if you want to listen to something depressing but equally epic.

Until next time.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Music Monday – Chris Cornell”

    1. Ah I’d definitely throw some sort of underwear at him if I saw him live, that’s give me an idea. I’ll throw sidemark encrusted boxer shorts at him if I ever do 😀 he’ll love that.

Leave a Reply

