Music Monday – Muse

I was thinking about who I could talk about today, after all it’s Monday and that means another fab edition of Music Monday. I had been thinking of a few people I could feature this week but to me it’s a no brainer as this week I’ll be talking about my favourite British band; Muse.

The reason it’s a no brainer is because for the first time in over a year I get to see them play live; the first time I saw them last year was at Leeds Festival where they headlined the Friday night. To me this was the highlight of the whole weekend, everything that followed the next two days paled in comparison. Such an awesome atmosphere and they were amazing live.

A friend of mine managed to score four tickets for Muse this coming Thursday (Such a busy week!) in Manchester so as soon as I finish work at half 3 it’s down the local for a swift pint then in the car to go and see them rock.

Whenever I talk about Muse at work no one seems to be impressed, probably because they’re into that shit music that’s filling the charts these days but screw them what do they know anyway?

With Chris Cornell for me it’s all about the voice but when I think of Muse it’s all about the sound of the guitar, the amazing riffs; this is real music at its finest.

My favourite song is probably Supermassive Black Hole which for some reason was featured in the *shudder* Twilight film. Still even this one song managed to make one scene in that lousy movie watchable.

When they played this at Leeds last year, I almost messed myself with excitement.

One thing I was proud of this year is that the people in charge of the Olympics had asked them write the theme song for London 2012, I expected them to pick some “artist” that the kids are down with; something along the lines of… I don’t know, Tinie Tempah or some shit.

Obviously not every adult thinks like a retard so they actually went with someone good. I’m definitely looking forward to hearing this live in a few days.

OFFICIAL VIDEO HERE

There are four other songs I’d probably consider absolute favourites, when I was going out with that whore I used to called my girlfriend she used to be obsessed with Michael Buble’s rendition of Feeling Good so I thought the best way to introduce her to rock music would be Muse’s version of the song.

Needless to say it worked and she became a fan of the band, unfortunately it turned out she was a bitch so I don’t care what she thinks.

There are so many videos that I could include in this post, other favourites include Hysteria, Time Is Running Out, Plug In Baby and Uprising.

I’m going to post the music video for Hysteria (because it’s immense) and the video for Time Is Running Out from Reading Festival last year. (It’s the exact same as Leeds but they never film Leeds Festival for some reason =/)

Hopefully I’ve given you an insight into British rock and I hope you’ve enjoyed! I’ll no doubt let you know how I find them live if I don’t explode all over the place while I’m there.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

14 thoughts on “Music Monday – Muse”

  1. I like Time is Running Out and Feeling Good. Two of the videos didn’t work? Looks like they’re popular based on the fact that they’re filling stadiums. I like ’em.

  2. I honestly can’t name one Muse song off the top of my head. Isn’t that sad? I remember one of my flat mates in Canterbury loved Muse and I hated him so much so I decided that I hated Muse. But maybe I should give them a shot now because you’re one of my faves.

  3. That’s what Muse looks like? I hate seeing what bands look like when I have no clue. They never live up to my standards. At least they’re not wearing eyeliner.

    I never even knew Muse existed until maybe 2 years ago when their big Revolution tour or whatever came out. I like most of their stuff, mostly when they’re not making weird noises. I think Starlight is the name of the one I really enjoy. It talks about holding someone in your arms. Am I gay?

    1. I’m afraid so, but it’s alright, people like Obama has done well for himself.

      They definitely look more cooler in real life, just came back from Manchester, it was epic. He was sliding everywhere, I tripped over in a supermarket car park and almost broke my ankle, people thought I was rock because I had a fake Harley Davidson tattoo on my arm. It was the perfect evening.

  4. I LOVE Muse! I absolutely adore Hysteria and Sing for Absolution, and I’ve heard they are absolutely epic live. Not only that but Manchester contained our awesomeness over a period of two days, as I left, you arrived and we kept the awesomeness alive. I fully expect tales of drunkenness and such upon your return 😀

    1. Hysteria is one of my favourite choons loike, the video is awesome though they didn’t play it at the gig! I didnt get there till about 7pm, took us ages to get there, stuck in traffic. At one point I got out the car, had a cigarette then got back in!

Leave a Reply

