Music Monday – Damien Rice

By the time you read this I’ll be dead in Wales. I’m actually writing this on Friday because of my busy schedule. I swear there are like months where I do absolutely nothing and see no one then all in one week I go to Muse (Thursday), meal with people from work (Friday), stag do in Newcastle (Saturday) and Wales (Sunday-Tuesday). Which can only mean it’s going to be an expensive weekend!

For you guys, it’s the beginning of the week but for me it’s the end; I’m in winding down mode at the moment which is probably why I chose to feature Damien Rice because who better to listen to after a bitch of a week?

Obviously with this busy weekend that also means I’ll be behind on NaNoWriMo by about five days as I haven’t had chance to write anyway. Don’t worry, I’ll make sure I get on it when I get back!

For those of you that have never heard of Damien Rice before, he’s an Irish folk singer that released one of my favourite albums of all time, then released an album not quite as good, then did nothing else since.

The first album was released in 2002, then the second in 2006. But he was that good when he was making music that people still mention him to this day. The winner of last years UK X Factor covered one of his songs and became X Mas No. 1 single.

Probably why his first album went Platinum 10 times in his home country.

I honestly wasn’t a fan of his second album, it seemed such a disappointed compared to his first but that was probably why his first album was so great. You only need to do it right once and he managed to do it right on his first attempt.

Delicate was the first song I’d heard from Damien, I remember just listening to it on repeat when I used to do factory work. He’s one guy who I wished I’d have seen play live though I doubt I ever will as I don’t think he even tours anymore?

I wasn’t the only one who thought this song was awesome as it was featured in an episode of Lost in 2004 when Hurley is listening to his discman, right before the batteries run out!

The song I mentioned earlier that was covered for the XMas No. 1 single is named Cannonball which seems to be a song a lot of people tend of cover. You know you’ve made it when everyone wants to sing their own version of your song.

This is probably the best song he’s written though to be fair.

The final video I’ll show you is two songs in one (I know. Bargain) with The Professor which I can never seem to find on any of his albums (Good job there’s illegal downloading) and finally finishing it off with The Blowers Daughter.

I hope you’ve enjoyed hearing Damien Rice if you haven’t done before or even if you haven’t done for awhile. Hell even if you are Damien Rice and you’re reading this, I’m sure you like listening to yourself. But if you are Damien Rice, make some more bloody music!

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Music Monday – Damien Rice”

Leave a Reply

