Music Monday – Goo Goo Dolls

What’s going on everyone? It’s Monday and that means it’s time for another edition of Music Monday with yours truly.

Too be honest I’d almost forgotten all about it as I had a late finish at work today and have an early start tomorrow (6AM!?) and I need to get another 2600 words written for my current NaNoWriMo challenge by the time I even think about going to bed.

As I make few other posts in the week because of this I didn’t want to leave out the one day I actually had a planned blog post but luckily for me I already knew a week ago who I was going to talk about so you still get entertained with some awesome music while I’m frantically trying to type out some words.

I’ve probably mentioned before (though I can’t remember as I’m brain damaged) how much I love Goo Goo Dolls. There are two bands that I really want to see but never had the chance, the first is of course Chris Cornell/Soundgarden and the second is The Goo Goo Dolls.

Though the bands been around since the year of my birth I only came to realise their awesomeness in 1998 when the film City of Angels (starring one of my fav actors Nic Cage) was released.

The song that they had featured on the soundtrack titled “Iris” which has been covered many times but it’s feeling never really duplicated, is one of those songs that you never get tired of listening to. I can put on this song to this day, 14 years later and it still feels like the first time I’m hearing it. Although now I know all the words and tend to yell it from the car. (Until I see another car pull up next to me, then I put on Xzibit)

The thing with linking to YouTube is I hear it doesn’t always work however if it doesn’t, click on the link and see it on YouTube itself. The music video is still my favourite music video ever and was the first thing I bought off iTunes.

This song is so great and timeless that last year it hit number 3 in the UK charts, 13 years after its original release.

Before Iris was even conceived of and became their greatest song ever made; they had already proved that they weren’t a one hit wonder when they released the above song, “Name”.

It’s pretty safe to say that along with Chris Cornell, John Rzeznik was a huge part of me becoming a fan of rock music back when I was a lowly teenager. My love this band has only grown over time and with them bringing out their 10th studio album (a feat many bands of this generation won’t claim) I’m hoping they’ll embark on a UK tour at some point. I’m going to make it my mission to get this band seen!

To listen to the songs above and this one would probably make my life worth it.

I could listen to these all day and as you can imagine, with nine released studio albums this is just a very small portion of what they have to offer. Simply put they are the definition of talent. Get them listened to, you’re not going to be disappointed when it comes to the Goo Goo Dolls.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Music Monday – Goo Goo Dolls”

    1. I know right? Definitely one of the best of all time, it’s rare for bands to make timeless music but I suspect a song such as Iris will be one of those people play for decades to come.

Leave a Reply

