Thirty Thousand

At last! Thirty thousand, two fifths of the competition remain and I’m feeling pretty good so far, like I’ve still got so much left to say. I did plan to get to thirty thousand on Friday but sleeplessness finally caught up to me and on Saturday I was out drinking, killing some braincells so I’ve had to wait until today.

I must say that I’ve enjoyed writing this a lot more than I did the first novel I wrote; Twist of Hate back in June for Camp NaNoWriMo.

It’s not as dark as Twist of Hate was, sure there’s just as much violence but the characters and the dialogue is a lot more light hearted. Twist of Hate was a lot more doom and gloom and good things rarely happen; so it got a little depressing to write. Plus it was the first time I’d written anything of that length so I was still new to all of this.

This time I’d like to say I’ve planned ahead and thought of a plan of where I wanted to take this story and where I wanted it to end. But the truth is I haven’t, I knew it’d start off in a padded cell and it’d end up in Ancient Rome but past then I had no clue. I’d just think about what comes next chapter by chapter and so far it’s working out. I’ve now got all of these other characters that I didn’t even envision when I started it.

Trust me when I say planning ahead isn’t always the best option, I’ve been flying through this novel and I didn’t prepare a thing. Where as with Twist of Hate I was stuck for ideas around 30,000 words last time and I had all of the characters thought up and planned out way ahead of time.

Writing on the fly is easy though when you’re a genius like me. (Lolz)

I watched on the monitors as Inmate 157 had just managed to incapacitate one of the guards; I knew Deon would get himself into trouble if he kept abusing the prisoners and now he finally has. I watch on as the inmate walks out into the hall and looks through the window of the cell next to his; this was not going to be good.

“Sir what are we going to do?” Larry asks.

“Send the guards, we can’t afford any escapee’s no matter who it is. Make sure they’re armed and make sure they kill Inmate 157.” I order him.

“But he’s not done anything wrong, all he wants are answers.” Argues Larry, showing sympathy for the inmate.

“Do not forget who he is Larry. Just because he’s had his memory wiped it doesn’t make him any less of the man he used to be. He’s in there for a reason, he knew the risks way ahead of time. Send the guards. Now.”

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “Thirty Thousand”

Leave a Reply

