Music Monday – 30 Seconds To Mars

Music Monday once more, bit later than usual because I fell asleep pretty much as soon as I came home from work. I spent most of yesterday writing and then I stupidly decided to watch wrestling and so by the time that finished I managed to catch two hours sleep before I had to go to work.

But hey nay mind, I’m here now and you can stop pulling your hair out.Today I want to talk about hugely successful rock band, 30 Seconds to Mars headed by one of the sexiest men alive (I’m comfortable with my sexuality to say that) Jared Leto.

They were always a band I’d wanted to see live as I could imagine them being amazing and last year I finally got a chance to at Leeds Festival, they were probably the second best band that played all night (Muse being the first of course), I think the crowd was pretty much in a bad mood that night due to the weather but Jared to his credit eventually got us all in the correct mood.

30 Seconds to Mars is one of those bands that’s been around for awhile so they’ve made a lot of excellent music, so obviously I can only show you a few of my favourites. The first one is Hurricane which is from their most recent 2009 album, This Is War. Unfortunately for some reason or another they only release albums after long periods of time so they only currently have three albums out at the moment however a fourth is slated to be released next year.

If the name Jared Leto sounds familiar and you’ve not a fan of 30 Seconds to Mars it’s probably because he’s also an actor, I first saw him in the 2000 film Requiem for a Dream which is extremely weird but at the same time really funny and an excellent overall film. He seems to play a drug addict so well as further proved by his starring role with Nicolas Cage in Lord of War.

Their best album is definitely the second one they released, that’s not to say the first was bad it just wasn’t as good as the most second, the third album isn’t far behind either.

Another thing I enjoy about the band is that they sometimes release longer versions of songs to go with the long music videos they produce, I can never tell what they’re supposed to be about however this one seems to be about war… and stuff hah!

Hopefully when their fourth album comes out next year they’ll begin touring around the world and I’ll get to see them in concert over here. They are terrific showman, insanely talented and I can’t wait for more.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Music Monday – 30 Seconds To Mars”

  1. I love 30 Seconds To Mars! Jared is unbelievably sexy, and his voice is crazy delicious. Did you ever see the video for From Yesterday? They certainly do videos on an epic scale.

    1. Oh oh oh! And The Kill! Aaaaaah, many good nights have been spent in Mosh, grabbing a random stranger by the lapels and screaming, ‘THIS IS WHO I REALLY AM!’ into their face. Ah, good times.

      1. Haha I could so see you doing that. I’ll be stood near the sound stage not getting trampled on because I hate tight corners and people touching me haha 😀

    2. I have seen it, I’ve seen em all! 😀 The 20 minute Hurricane video is one of my favourites too though I’m not sure why as none of it made sense. But do any of their videos really make all that much sense?

  2. I had trouble reading this. I got lost in Jared Leto’s eyes….

    I wouldn’t consider them a huge band by any means but I guess they are as big as a rock band can get these days. No one will ever be hugely universe since rock is basically dead. The only newer band I ever got real into was Shinedown and I had to check-out when they had a song with the chorus “Boom Lay Boom Lay Boom” Please try harder.

    1. Yeah they only release albums every few years so that’s probably why they don’t get the attention most other bands do. I’ve heard Shinedown, I liked that song haha they used it for the Expendables soundtrack.

  3. I had no idea that Jared Leto was the lead singer in a REAL band/group. I only know him as an actor. This is crazy. What planet have I been living on? The music is good, too.

Leave a Reply

