Forty Thousand

I love this part of the competition, when you open a blank document at the beginning of the month it seems like such a daunting task. You’ve got to write 50,000 words and you’ve not even started.

Imagine how I felt when I was seven days late to start, I definitely thought about just dropping my name from the hat and not bothering but I’m glad I did.

You get a great feeling when you reach your first 10,000 words as you’ve barely begun to even start and you’ve got all these ideas, then when you reach half way you begin to wonder if you have enough material to last another 25,000 words. When you somehow manage to reach 40,000 you’re basically already a winner, it’s just a matter of finding ways of wrapping up the story although in my case it’s supposed to go quite a bit longer than 50,000 but I’m still running strong I think.

Just another 9,872 words, the light is finally at the end of the tunnel.

Not having much of a social life has definitely helped. I go to work for 8 hours, come home, have dinner, watch TV, write, go to bed. Doesn’t sound much of an exciting life at the moment but it’s cold outside and I have no money so what is a man to do?

Once I complete NaNo 2012 I’ll more than likely not take part in it again, I just wanted to win Camp NaNo and the actual NaNoWriMo in one year, not only have I proved I can write a 50,000 word novel in a month but I’ve done it twice in one year.

Yeah I’m pretty awesome.

Anyway look forward to the big Fifty Thousand post which I’m sure will be up in the next few days!

She could have benefited greatly had she met Lucius; she could have had a new leg and I wouldn’t have had to pick her up every time she had a bath. Always wetting my clothes…

Though it only seems like a few minutes I begin to regain consciousness; my head sure did feel funny and my arms ached quite a bit. To do the operation Lucius would have had to pretty much butcher my arms to get the implants in but thanks to modern technology I’d be left with no scars.

“Wakey wakey.” I hear Lucius whisper into my ear as my eyes try to regain focus of the real world. I try and reply but my throat is dry, Larry was soon at hand though with a glass of water; he places the straw in my mouth and I sip.

“I can’t move my arms.” I announce fearing the worst.

“Well no of course you can’t, we had to amputate.” Lucius replies.

My eyes shoot open but before I can yell anything at him he interjects.

“Hahaha! I’m just kidding, should have seen the look on your face! No your arms had to be restrained to ensure I didn’t fuck up you daft bastard.”

I had never felt so much relief in my life.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “Forty Thousand”

  1. Good for you! I got a late start too. I wasn’t going to do it…but then my sister started hers and I felt kind of guilted into it. 🙂 Here’s to 50,000.

    1. I think if you make a real go at it, it can be done in well under a month anyway haha. We’ve got it in the bag! 😀 How many words are you on at the moment?

  2. ::applause::
    That’s terrific!!
    CONGRATS!!!!!

    Tried NaNoWriMo once and tanked a couple of weeks in: my typos took over and what I wrote was indecipherable. You’re inspiring me to try again!!!!

    🙂

    1. Haha you should, all you need is an idea for a story and somehow stretch it out over 50,000 words. Sounds easier than it is though I know lol. You should give Camp NaNoWriMo a go in June or something 😀

  3. 9,000 is nothing! That’s maybe 10 pages? There were those who said Pete would never do it and here he is. Make this weekend count. You’re coming down the home stretch.

    A premature congratulations to you.

Leave a Reply

