FIFTY Thousand

As you can see by the above I’ve written over 8,000 words today. I hit 40,000 words three days ago, took Friday off and only managed to write 1,600 words yesterday due to laziness and whatnot. So I decided I’d make up for it today. I’ve spent a good six hours writing up to the point of what I consider to be the penultimate chapter of this book I’m writing.

The more I wrote today the closer I got to the 50,000 words target and the more drive I had to get closer to the mark. With every word I wrote I could sense victory and it got to the point where I was that much in the zone, I was so involved with the story I was writing that I’d carry on until I at least hit the big 50. That one last push if you will. The books not finished for me yet, there’s at least one more chapter to write until I consider the story finished and I have a plan in mind on how I’m going to accomplish that.

Once that’s done I’m going to go back to see where I can extend the shorter chapters and maybe even another couple chapters here and there. Unlike the first book I wrote earlier this year, I’m extremely proud of what I’ve written here and the length of time it’s taken me to write it. I had my doubts when I started seven days late and to think I was actually thinking of dropping out!

I’m so glad I didn’t and I thank everyone that’s been reading my updates that’s given me the drive to continue on.

In front of me is an open door; the guards drag me to the door and throw me inside. I hit the floor but it doesn’t hurt as the floor seems to be padded. They pin me to the ground, unstrap my legs and walk out of the cell shutting the door behind them.

I get straight to my feet and run at the door, kicking it as furiously as I could.

“Let me out of here! Oi! I said let me out! I haven’t done anything!” I scream.

Larry appears at the small window on the door. He mouths the words “I’m sorry” and holds up his hand, in it he holds a button. He pushes the button and the room begins to fill with gas.

“Larry please! Please! You’re better than this!” I plead but it’s no use, he walks away leaving me with just the blinding light beaming down upon me. I continue beating against the cell door but it just felt like kicking a pillow. I wasn’t getting anywhere. The room quickly fills with gas as I see them dragging Gabriel past and thrown into the cell next door it sounds like as the door slams.

The gas kind of makes me feel a little bit sick as I try to think why I was even in here in the first place. I could feel things slipping away from me little by little. I tried to keep a hold of one thing, one thing they could never take away from me. Alexandria.

“Alexandria, Alexandria, Alexandria…” I say over and over to myself. Everything else began to disappear. “Alexandria, Alexandria, Alexand…er? No, no! Alexandria!”

I begin to get light headed and collapse to the floor; “Alexandria… Alex… Al… Oh my God, everything is slipping away, come on Luke! Wait that’s not my name. Al…ex?” I sigh knowing that my memory was all but gone. “I love you, forever and always.” I say to the bright light above, My eyelids get increasingly heavy as I struggle to keep them open; I finally give it up and let them drop and soon after that… lose consciousness.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

22 thoughts on “FIFTY Thousand”

  1. You did it!!! I’m so impressed. Congratulations. It reads so well, Pete. Be proud, very proud. If it’s as great as that little bit I just read you may have a novel worth taking to the publisher. I’m serious. You have a tremendous talent.

    1. Thank you Lisa 🙂 Once I’ve finished it and made sure it flows correctly I’m definitely going to submit, who knows, my name may be in print one day!

    1. Haha ill need to finish it which ill be working hard on and see if anyone actually wants to print it! Don’t worry ill get a copy sent your way!

  2. Well done! If you’re anything like me, you’ll have to go back and edit what you’ve written so many times that you’ll feel like you’re writing it all over again. But that’s okay. Each pass makes it better. At least I think so! 🙂

  3. Congrats! It’s rare these days to find an author who can write fewer words than dicks he has sucked.

    I don’t know why I said that. I felt like being vulgar today.

    1. Haha cheers! No doubt there’s some unnecessary commas in there somewhere but I’ll give it a good going over once I’ve finished. (How many times have I said that to women?)

        1. The more you say it the more chance it has to becoming true and the next thing you’ll know I’ll be at your door holding a gimp mask and anal beads. =/

          1. What do you think I’m trying to get out of you?

            Like Lisa said you should try going to a publisher first. I didn’t bother because I’ve had so much rejection in my life I needed to be able to do something all on my own. Who knows, you might get it. Give it a shot though. We’re pulling for you.

            1. Haha you’ll get it alright. From what I’ve read of your novel so far (about the half way mark now, NaNo’s deffo slowed me down) I think you could have gone to a publisher with that. It’s pure comedy.

              I’ll send it off to a publisher, I’ll have to look into how about I do that but no doubt they’ll sign me up after all they signed up that Stephanie Meyer shit and that spawned four movies.

              Don’t even get me started on 50 Shades of Grey

              1. Why thank you Pete. I’ve emailed way too many film agents, managers, etc. to the point where I got nothing back and decided if I can do something on my own I would.

                I’m not too keen on how to get in touch with publishers much or how you can even get it to work. Your best bet is networking as it is with anything. Worst case scenario you put it online. I figure if I ever become successful at anything else then people will buy everything I’ve already written and I’ll have more control anyway. It’s nice to at least have something out there, ya know?

                1. I’ll just e-mail a bunch of people and see how that goes then if that doesn’t work I’ll just send them photo’s of me in my underwear until they agree to give me a book deal. No doubt when you become a hot shot director your back catalogue will become a hot topic.

Leave a Reply

