Music Monday – Sarah McLachlan

Welcome to another week closer to death as we hurdle towards our inevitable Armageddon in just 25 short days. (Providing the Mayan’s are correct and they’ll most probably won’t be)

After finally hitting 50k words in triumphant victory to claim yet another NaNoWriMo win I’m going to take a break from novel writing for a couple of days and concentrate on blogging!

No doubt you’ve missed me and don’t worry, I’ve missed you too. But hey, at least I’ve kept Music Mondays alive and well! Giving you an insight into what my warped and twisted mind considers good music.

I’ve noticed I haven’t featured any female artists yet and that’s mainly because I don’t listen to all that many, a lot of female artists that are in the charts these days are dismal, Katy Perry? Rihanna? Bitch please.

The photo above is what real talent is all about, she doesn’t need to flash her tits and prance around a lot of over muscular men to catch people’s attention; all she needs to do is sing. She’s possibly the greatest thing to come out of Canada ever. (Lily doesn’t count as she’s actually American.)

She’s currently sold over 40 million albums worldwide with seven albums released in total with an eighth coming out next year. Obviously her best selling album which has garnered her multiple Grammy awards is the 1997 offering, “Surfacing” which contains her most memorable song.

Just like songs such as “Iris” I could never get sick of hearing this song. Her beauty (even in her mid-40’s) matches her voice as she’s truly heart stopping and while it was her previous album that made her a national star, it was this album and this song that made her a worldwide star.

When this album was released back in 1997 McLachlan took some time away from creating new music and focussed mainly on her family and it wasn’t until 2003 when she came back with a new album.

She came back with a bang with this single and showed that she still had it after being 6 years away.

Soon after releasing “Fallen” she released the second song from her album which is probably one of my favourite songs she’s done named “Stupid”.

And of course you’d be stupid not to listen to the above song. See what I did there? Yeah writing a novel hasn’t totally burned me out!

I cannot wait for the new album to come out next year, there’s so much good music coming out in 2013 I almost wish the world didn’t end next month. There’s always going to be a place for McLachlan on my iTunes playlists and I’ll be there patiently waiting for album #8.

Her most recent album which came out in 2010 proves that she’s still creating brilliant music, some critics said they didn’t like it and it was obvious that she was hitting back at her relationship troubles with her now ex-husband (woohoo, come on book deal so I can be famous and get it on with her. That’s how it works right?) but I liked it and probably the best song off that album is titled “Forgiveness” which is a trait I often lack.

Until next time.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

12 thoughts on “Music Monday – Sarah McLachlan”

  1. I love, love, love Sarah!! Thank you, Canada!! I, too, await her new work, and, was fortunate to see her in concert once. When a singer is as good live as they are in the studio, you know they are talented, and, Sarah is just that–talented.

    1. :O So jealous. I’d love to go and see McLachlan live, you can tell from her live performances she’s just as good there as she is in the studio, I don’t know how often she comes over to England but I need to be making a point of seeing all these great bands before they go away forever. Perhaps when the new albums released?

  2. Like I said before, over 50,000 dicks have been in your mouth.

    Is it just me or is she really gorgeous? Like Christ, she’s beautiful.

    Do you guys have the terribly sad commercial about abused animals over in the UK with her singing Angel? Probably not because that’s what she’s most known for over here now. You can probably find it on YouTube.

      1. Yes that’s it! The best part is when the cow gets flipped over by a truck. I think that’s the same commercial. We have a lot of those over here.

    1. The best thing about her is she’s unique, I haven’t heard anyone else that sounds even remotely like her; that’s her big selling point I think. 🙂

Leave a Reply

