Rather Have Been At Work

Now that NaNoWriMo is over I can get back to moaning about my life because lets face it, I do it so well.

You know you’re having a really shit day when you actually wished you were still at work; today I had to do an early shift so I could go to the dentist for two fillings, who then told me I may need a root canal if my tooth got any worse which is no doubt a pleasant experience as they drill into my face and start yanking out nerves.

So with having a filling on each side of my side my mouth was pretty much totally numb, spent an hour while the new expensive private dentist (thanks overdraft) messed around in there and you’d think that’d be the end of the fun but oh no, I then had a doctors appointment to for lack of a better word, test to see if I’m diseased.

I’ll be honest because I’ve kept it pretty quiet recently and just plodded along writing my novel but I’ve not been a well man as of late.

If you’ve read for awhile you’ll know that about a year ago I had to have my anal passage abused because I had piles. I went into great detail about it and won’t go into it again; regardless it ended when I excreted blood twice in the space of half an hour.

A year on I began getting the same sort of symptoms again although I never feel any pain beforehand like I did the last time and it’s happening more often than it had been before. At least every other day I’ll be excreting just blood; I then started to get stomach cramps; I feel tired all of the time even when I have loads of sleep and found myself losing my appetite (omgwtfbbq), when I force myself to eat something I end up throwing it up the morning after. At the time of writing I haven’t eaten anything for about 30 hours.

I’ve had to put on a brave face for everyone I come in contact with on a daily basis because I can’t be bothered explaining what’s wrong with me every five minutes and for friends to just say, “I thought you’re ‘Ard.” Trust me, I don’t feel it at the moment.

So I go to the doctor with my numb mouth and he gives me a rectal exam which by this point, doesn’t even phase me any more and says he couldn’t find any evidence of piles which is the normal cause of rectal bleeding and then he turns my arm into a pin cushion by taking a load of blood to send off for tests to check for anemia and to make sure everything else is working as it should be. Then asks me about my medical history and family history, telling him my Grandfather died of colon cancer and my dad has diabetes and I don’t even know what my mothers side of the family died of. So I have to wait for that shit to come back before he decides what he’s going to do next.

Feeling pretty shit at the moment but luckily it’s nearly the weekend so I can just curl up and die in peace.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

20 thoughts on “Rather Have Been At Work”

  1. Oh, Pete!! For now, stay curled up and rest and all of us have our fingers crossed nothing is wrong aside from a bit of a dodgy tummy. Stick to clear broths (I know, it’s SO gross) and jelly. Maybe some chicken and rice soup (add a bit of tarragon for flavor!), because both are easy on the digestive tract.

    Keep us in the loop, my friend. Being ‘ard doesn’t mean you can’t rely on us to be there for you.

    1. Don’t worry this weekend is going to be mainly sleep based. I don’t know what a broth is but if it’s gross I’ll stick to soup I think. I’ll keep you apprised on whats happening don’t worry. 🙂

  2. Didn’t Jesus feel everyone else’s pain? I felt your pain reading this. I am like Jesus in that way.

    Rest up and do whatever you can to solve the problem. The worst thing you can ever do is let a problem get worse to the point it cannot be easily fixed.

    I’d also suggest eating more fiber. I don’t know if it would help but I suggest it to everyone because it sounds intelligent.

    1. Hah well fiber is good for the constitution, whatever that means. I’ve heard elderly black women say that on television more than once so I assume it’s a thing. If it ends up being leprosy, I’ll come to you for a healing hand.

  3. That’s it! I’m coming over to nurse you back to health. (I’ll stay clear of the back end area, don’t worry.) Seriously, my Pete, I think maybe you should have a colonoscopy? I’ve had one, they’re not so bad. Actually, they give you a nice sedative so you can check out for a while. I’m really worried about you. Please get some proper rest. I can tell from your tone that you’re really not well. 😦

    1. Hahaha, staying away from my back end area is always a good plan. I’ve had a proctoscope up there and that was bad enough I’ll hold off until it’s absolutely necessary before they start inspecting my whole colon. It’s not the being sick part I’m generally worried about, it’s what the doctors are going to do to me. 😦

  4. That sucks! Poor lil Petey! Throwing up in the morning,eh? Maybe you’re pregnant? But yeah being sick is the worst especially when you don’t want to be. It was great being sick when we were younger because we could miss school, but when you’re older it’s a pain. Also, I can’t believe you completed NaNoWriMo! That’s insane! Bravo!

    1. That’s what I was thinking, perhaps I’m so ‘Ard I’m able to give birth, I dunno. Managed to not throw up today, though all I had was cereal. Yeah now we’re older we still have to work otherwise we don’t get paid. And I need to get paid, ugh. Annoys me when people at work have a day off because they have the slightest sniffle.

      And thanks! It’s actually twice I’ve completed NaNoWriMo now 😀 I probably won’t do it again, I only did this one so I could brag about my awesomeness.

  5. Can’t click Like on this one 😦 Hope the doc can give you some sort of miracle drug to get yourself back to normal quickly.

      1. Pass on that. I have done some pretty crappy jobs but even having the nicest office in the world wouldn’t make me want to look up peoples butts all day.

  6. Aw, sorry to hear about the aches and pains. I would rather be healthy and at work than sick and miserable at home, too. I hope you’re feeling better. I know I’m a bit late on the well wishes–just catching up on my reading… 😐

    1. Thanks Lorna 🙂 I’m doing a little better, still feels like someones got a vice around my stomach, I was having a really bad day Thursday and Friday was no better. I’m catching up on my reading too, I’ll be spamming your blog with replies later I suspect 😀

Leave a Reply

