Music Monday – Mumford & Sons

mumfordProving that I am still current within the music scene and I don’t just sit around listening to songs that got me into rock music, I’ve been looking forward to talking about this band for awhile now mainly because it gives me a reason to listen to their music while I write this.

Mumford & Sons, lead by the amazingly talented Marcus Mumford came to be in 2007 and released their first album two years later entitled Sigh No More; they played Leeds and Reading Festival a year later in 2010, a festival I was at but missed out on seeing them because I hadn’t heard of them before and made the drastic mistake of watching Queens of the Stone Age instead; sure they were good but I now realize how much I missed out.

Their first single from the first album proved to be a massive hit and was only a sign of things to come from the band.

It made me realize how much of a fan of folk music I really was, they remind me of artists like Damien Rice and Band Of Horses.

The song that made me aware of Mumford and Sons however was a song called “The Cave”; to say they hadn’t been around for long before playing at Leeds and Reading they sure did amass a big group of fans who knew every word to the song, you could see the happiness on Mumford’s face as he played.

This probably remains one of my favourite performances and I’m still gutted to this day that I missed out on seeing them live. No doubt they’ll play again, probably next year as they’ve got a new album out and they’ll more than likely be on the main stage and I’ll be glad to push my way to the front.

The thing I like about Sigh No More is it’s one of those albums that doesn’t just have a few good songs and the rest is filler like most of the shit that’s forced down our ears these days, every song is gold and if they wanted to they could have probably released every song as a single.

A couple of my favourite songs from the band were never released as singles but still managed to chart; one of them is called “After The Storm”, the other which is my favourite off the whole album is called “White Blank Page”.

I’ll so as far to say that this is my favourite album in the last five years. And if you can’t believe how great this album is then you’ll be in for a nice surprise that they haven’t missed a beat in their most recent offering which was released back in September.

The album entitled Babel came out strong with their first single, “I Will Wait” which I’m hoping to hear live at some point in the next year. Once you’ve listened to the first single go and search for “Lover Of The Light” which is due to be their second single and the music video stars and was directed by actor Idris Elba.

I really don’t know how they can go any more awesome but I already can’t wait for the third album to come out, however that’s obviously going to be quite some years away.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

9 thoughts on “Music Monday – Mumford & Sons”

  1. The only thing I dislike about this band is both their first and second album sound too alike. Their sound is unique but it doesn’t feel like they’ve grown at all. Maybe that’s a good thing though.

    My older sister drove 16 hours to see them play at some festival. Then she said she didn’t have any money to pay for the dog’s visit to the vet. She so stupid.

    1. Aye it does sound the same but it’s a good thing that sound is good. They’re still a young band, who knows what they’ll bring out in the future. Dunno if I’d drive 16 hours to go and see them though, or risk my dogs health, she must be a mental.

Leave a Reply

