Music Monday – Glen Hansard

HansardAlmost forgot about doing tonight’s post; too busy sulking about my legs and feet. How selfish of me. But never fear I have remembered and I’ve found someone who definitely deserves showcasing.

I’ve previously featured people like Damien Rice whose only done two albums but is still pretty widely known and yeah he’s awesome but there are definitely people who have worked a lot harder and still don’t have the fame they deserve.

Glen Hansard hales from Dublin, Ireland and has been apart of the Irish rock band The Frames since 1990. It took 17 years for me to know who he was and that was only because of a chance viewing on the Academy Awards, something which I never watch but decided to that year in ’07. I saw him win an Academy Award for Best Original Song for a song he’d written for a film he stars in.

The film is called Once and is just about the life of a busker (and we all know how much I love buskers) on the streets of Dublin who meets a girl whose also interested in music; the two become friends and start making music together. The plot is really simple, it only cost $160,000 to make and it ended up earning over $20m.

Usually wouldn’t be my sort of film but this definitely was and you won’t regret watching it if you ever decide to.

The first song in the film is “Say It To Me Now”, it’s probably what got me so hooked. The film version is much more impressive, especially when he belts out the chorus. You can just sense he’s feeling every part of that song; his facial expressions convey the passion of what he’s singing and that’s something you don’t see a lot of these days.

The big hit from the film was of course the one above titled “Falling Slowly”. Usually you’d hear it with female backing vocals from his female lead of the film.

While she does sound good and her added piano is welcomed there’s nothing quite like the above performance.

But before he had big success with Once, I mentioned he’d been in a band for the last couple of decades; after being hooked on this film I searched for his back catalogue and I was pleasantly surprised with this belter of a song.

I suspect Hansard would be big in Ireland but he’s not all that known over in England, not sure about America but this man deserves to be played on the radio at least once every month.

Apparently he’s releasing a new album next year, it’s like everyone I review is bringing out new music in 2013. Probably because the worlds ending in a mere 11 days so people can just say things. 1st January 2013 I’ll quit smoking.

See how good it is to say things?

Anyway listen to the music, buy the albums and buy/download the film Once! You won’t regret it.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

4 thoughts on “Music Monday – Glen Hansard”

  1. I saw the movie, Once, and bought the CD because I loved that song, Falling Slowly. I’ll give these other songs a listen. I didn’t realize he was still performing, but the again, I don’t live in Dublin. Good post, Pete.

    1. I watched it again, first time for awhile shortly after posting this. Should a good film to watch right before bed haha. I think he made another album after the film with the girl who starred with him and called themselves The Swell Season, if you want to check out more recent stuff 🙂

  2. I, too, saw Once and bought the CD because of Falling Slowly (I should just let Grippy post for me *sigh*). I thought both singers brought a great deal to the film and the music, and, I’ll also agree Glen is brilliant. Did you see/hear him in The Committments? If not, find it and watch/listen!

    1. I’ve heard about The Commitments but I haven’t seen it yet, but it should be pretty easy to find in this day and age so maybe I’ll give it a bash at the weekend 🙂

Leave a Reply

