Man Of Steel

Why does it seem that Christopher Nolan is the new God of making films? Probably because he is.

This man gave us a decent Batman trilogy; something that hasn’t been done before. Christian Bale besides being a massive dick head actually managed to make me like him in this role with his voice sounding like he was gargling marbles. It suited him.

The antagonists of the films were all really strong, I’ve always said a film will never be good unless the bad guy is someone equally as well known as the good guy. The first film we had Liam Neeson, the second Heath Ledger (the hype was also helped due to his death) and the third Tom Hardy. Each film was incredibly well done (though I’m sure some would argue) and I wondered what’d be next for Nolan as he’s said he doesn’t want to make any more Batman films.

I shudder to think what the next Batman film will be like but at least we can go back and watch the ones that were great.

Nolan is now turning his head towards Superman, a reboot. Don’t you just love reboots? Our 2006 offering of Superman Returns really did fail to impress me; while I liked Kevin Spacey as Luthor I wasn’t after a film where he was some zany bad guy and Brandon Routh had as much charisma as a toothbrush.

Now it looks like we’re getting something that’s just… epic.

While he’s not directing it, he’s still written it and producing it as the directing duties are going to Zack Snyder the man who gave us 300. Henry Cavill who I know for a fact is a great actor is leading the cast as Superman. The antagonist played by the brilliant Michael Shannon as General Zod who I’ve seen in a plethora of films but never really took notice until I watched Boardwalk Empire. With other actors such as Russell Crowe (wtf?!), Kevin Costner and Laurence Fishburne involved as well as the new trailer I can tell we’re finally going to get the Superman film we all deserve.

2013 is going to be a great year for films with Iron Man 3, Star Trek Into Darkness, Hunger Games 2, Fast and Furious 6, The Hobbit, Wolverine and even a new Mad Max film I’m seriously hoping the world doesn’t end in 9 days.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

7 thoughts on “Man Of Steel”

  1. I’ve seen quite a few of the older Batman and superman movies but I can’t remember all so much but I like them, I knew that much. I thought the recent Superman movies didn’t cut it, though I might be biased because I’m a batgirl. Bale was fine to me. Batman Begins was my first glimpse of Neeson and I took to him immediately! I don’t know half of the people you mentioned (or I can’t remember them) but Russel Crowe and Kevin Costner? I am sold.

    I really want to read The Hobbit before I see the movie, it looks awesome from the trailer. Nah, I won’t worry ’bout the world ending. The world’s too smart to commit suicide.

    1. Half the people I mentioned haha, well Laurence Fishburne was the black dude in Matrix, Michael Shannon has been in loads of stuff you should check him out but yeah Russell Crowe and Kevin Costner sold it for me too 🙂

      I liked the old Batman stuff too but it just was as grand as Nolan’s trilogy neither were any of the other Superman films. This one will be a good one!

  2. Man I love superhero/marvel comics movies. They’re awesome. The thing is, I haven’t seen any of the last Batman movies. Sounds like I’m really missing out. I am really excited for the second Hunger Games and Wolverine. I’m not a fan of Robert Downey Jr though for some reason so I don’t really like Iron Man. But I didn’t mind him in the Avengers. The New Superman should be awesome!

    1. It pains me to say it but I too am looking forward to the next Hunger Games film; I didn’t expect to enjoy the first one but I absolutely loved it. If you haven’t seen any of the last Batman films you’re definitely missing out and you need to get on it Ay SAP! My liked the third one the most out of the three but that’s only because I’m a massive Tom Hardy fan.

  3. Hello there Pete! This post made me chuckle, especially the gargling marbles, among other things. Although I’ve not watched the last Batman movie, had this phobia after that ‘incident’ that was all over the news, I’m sort of looking forward to this new Superman reboot. Fingers crossed it’s going to be epic this time. I think I really need to look into Hunger Games since I’ve heard this everywhere, and now I’m just getting curious. Oh, I’m definitely staying tune for Wolverine as well.

    1. Such a bad thing to happen during the last Batman film. One prick can ruin someone’s experience of a life time. But you should definitely watch it, just watch it at home and lock your doors in case any mad gunmen do break in. I’ve watched it many times and I’m still alright. You need to get Hunger Games watched, it’s pretty damn good, it’s even got Woody Harrelson in it!

      Any Hugh Jackman as Wolverine film is bound to be good, though will it be as good as his previous film?

Leave a Reply

