Music Monday – James Arthur

jamesarthurI’m ill, I’ve got a cold. Or perhaps even man flu. But despite that I’m in a good mood. “Why’s that?” you may be asking yourselves. Well quite simply put I’ve finally completed the first draft of Ascensionem De Insania, the novel I wrote for NaNo. There’s so much more that I want to add and change but at least I finally have the outline planned out. I’m feeling good about this one. I won’t be letting this one sit on the shelf for six months like Twist of Hate.

Anyway enough about me. I was thinking about a few people to feature today but decided to settle on James Arthur, winner of this years X Factor UK. I know what you’re thinking, “reality shows are shit!” and you’re right they are but they do actually feature some pretty talented people.

The moment I saw this guy perform he was my pick to win the whole thing, no question. He just has the look and the voice plus he knows how to actually play an instrument so he has the whole package in my eyes. He was trying to make a better life for himself as he’s had a pretty crappy one so far. (But haven’t they all?) He came out and sang one of the judges; Tulisa’s songs which before now was nothing but some shit party dance anthem. James showed his real talent as he actually made this a song worth listening to.

Usually with X Factor winners, unless they’re female or a group they tend to do really badly, they do over here anyway. Simon Cowell seems to get bored of them quickly and while they try and go to a different record label it’s never the league as Syco Music/Sony and they fade out.

Matt Cardle who won a couple of years ago who was actually very good, where’s he? No where. Same with a bunch of other male artists that have won the show; that’s maybe the only reason I didn’t want James to win because I don’t want him to get an XMas number one single and then fade away into nothing.

I hope to myself that this time may be different. Once the auditions were over and he made it to the live shows he became the only reason why I watched the show; I didn’t care for any of the other acts and anyone but him winning it would be a farce. (Like those shows aren’t already!)

When he made it to the live shows there was no question that he was a talented guy, every week he put on a strong performance singing songs in his own style. He didn’t sound karaoke like everyone else.

Since Simon Cowell left the show to concentrate on the American counter part the quality of singers that have been put through seems to have dropped, the judges have become more annoying and it’s just become more and more frustratingly pathetic as the weeks went on and they wonder why they’re dropping in ratings!

In the seventh week the two favourites to win James and a girl named Ella both ended up having to sing for survival in the bottom two! Luckily James managed to edge out a win.

And finally as the weeks went on he was crowned the winner of X Factor 2012, just in time for the world to end at the end of this week!

I really do hope that he doesn’t just fall into the black hole of male X Factor winners, never to be heard from again.

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

8 thoughts on “Music Monday – James Arthur”

  1. Matt Cardle actually signed with an indie label earlier this year and just had a top 10 album. He doesn’t get the exposure he had with his 1st album, but is much happier having total control over his career. I think James as a singer/songwriter might not be a good fit for Simon’s label, he’s no puppet and now that Union J and Ella have deals too he might find he’s not exactly a priority. For Simon, money is far more important than talent. Escape when you can James!

    1. If they’re not a pop singer they won’t be a good fit for Syco so I totally agree, I assume James will go the same way as Cardle, release a first album then sign with someone else. I have no doubt Jahmene Douglas will get a deal too if he hasn’t got one already.

  2. Oo good choice Pete. He’s really talented! I have a guilty pleasure watching these shows too. I love Simon, he’s like the best judge ever. I don’t know why everyone hates him. He’s so fair!

    1. I know he’s pretty awesome, when he’s not on the show they end up losing ratings, doesn’t matter what anyone says, people watch it for him

Leave a Reply

