From There To Here

IMAG0567So I’ll tell you what sort of day I’ve had, it started off with me thinking I better set off early for work considering it took me an hour to get home due to bad weather and temporary traffic lights on a busy road. So I set off 45 minutes before I was due to start work. (It should take 10-15 minutes to get there)

Thanks to those same traffic lights and bad weather and the fact that when there’s a drop of rain people seem to lack the ability to drive it took me 50 minutes to get to work; five minutes late. Brilliant.

Rush about to get logged in and take my first call, oh goody it’s a complaint about something that’s completely unrelated to the helpdesk. Why is it when you tell someone that they’re speaking to the wrong people they take it as you trying to fob them off?

Man: You’re trying to fob me off. That’s all that happens when I phone this help desk.

Me: Well if you keep phoning about matters like these then you’re not likely to get much help are you? You wouldn’t go into KFC and ask for a Big Mac so don’t phone the IT Help desk about your television being broken.

Then he called me a prick and hung up the phone. Thanks for that dick head.

The pub I usually go to at lunch was rammed for some strange reason so I didn’t even bother to get a drink in there; because I messed around at the pub the sandwich shop had already closed so I couldn’t actually get any food either.

Then after lunch I spoke to a woman who didn’t know where the Enter key was on the keyboard or even what it’s used for. I mean come the fuck on. Your job role includes the use of computers, how can you not know what a damn Enter key is?! Then I was trying to explain to her what it looked like and where it was located on the keyboard, she told me she wanted to be put through to someone who isn’t going to be sarcastic, so I told her she’s not getting transferred, she’s going to learn how to use a computer while she’s on the phone with me.

End of the working day arrives and I head home; stuck in traffic. So all in all today has been a grade A awful day.

Then of course I get home and I find a box has arrived, from Chicago no less! Instantly a smile grew infectiously across my face as my gift from Lisa had arrived!

IMAG0567

Like a little kid I torn open the box and inside the well packaged box was a bag. “Oooooh” I thought. Even bags impress me.

Not wasting any time I open the above card then move on to the gifts.

IMAG0566

I’ve always been a massive fan of American food; that’s why I drove all the way to Manchester just to go to the American Sweet Shop that’s in the middle of nowhere just to blow £50 on overpriced American imports, chocolate covered marshmallows with peanut butter (I f’n love peanut butter) and caramel popcorn! Over here we have like toffee popcorn and other varieties but I’ve never seen caramel popcorn before so I can’t wait to shove my face into this bag.

That’s not all! Also in the bag was something wrapped up in blue tissue paper, as I begin to unwrap it the first thing I see is an NHL label and inside is a Chicago Blackhawks t-shirt!

IMAG0568

I’ve always been a fan of Ice Hockey, having attended many Sheffield Steelers games over here; first one I went to was when I was about 12 and went with school to see the Steelers against the Bracknall Bees; I’ve been a fan ever since. I could totally be an Ice Hockey player if I knew how to skate.

Lisa said she was going to send me a gift and I had no idea what to expect but it’s safe to say that all expectations were exceeded. Thank you so much Lisa; you have literally made my entire week and quite possibly my whole Christmas. You’re definitely getting a gift back though it may be after Christmas, but in a way, doesn’t that make it better?

This is why I love blogging because I get to meet awesome people I wouldn’t normally meet in real life. I’m definitely a grumpy person but not so much after talking to you guys.

IMAG0569

^^ My happy face, all thanks to Lisa 😀 xxx

Author: 'Ard Pete

Hey everyone, my names Pete, friends call me 'Ard Pete because... well, I'm well 'Ard. Currently in Chesterfield, England, currently working as an I.T. Technical Lead for BT Business and Public Sector; it sounds more glamourous than it is but I'm a dab hand with Microsoft products. I enjoy television, mainly any Star Trek, all of Stargate, Lost, anything Joss Whedon has produced, 24 and House. Favourite music includes; Mumford and Sons, Jason Mraz, Eminem, Chris Cornell, Ludovico Einaudi, Goo Goo Dolls, Muse, 30 Seconds To Mars basically a wide variety of anything that's real, I hate dance, trance and anything like that, I don't consider that to be music. Not much of a sports guy, I like Professional Wrestling, Mixed Martial Arts, Boxing, I can watch Football but only when I'm forced to watch it. Favourite author is Terry Pratchett, favourite film is Armageddon, favourite comedian is Lee Evans, favourite idiot is Karl Pilkington, favourite game is GTAIII, if there's anything else you wish to know, don't hesitate to ask. I'll more than likely not be busy.

11 thoughts on “From There To Here”

  1. You like hockey? Wait…you know what hockey is? I thought the English played soccer and darts. Byron Dafoe is the only English NHL’er I know of and I’m not sure if he’s even from England.

    Nothing like early X-Mas present to brighten a bad day.

  2. Lisa is the mom we all want to have, even me. And, we are the same generation–still, I want to be her when I grow up!!

  3. OMG! What Happened to you, Pete!? Get rid of the beard! You’re too handsome to grow a beard! Nice to see the love everyone shows around you! Happy Holidays!

Leave a Reply

